More than 50% performance decrease.

Open forum for end-user questions about Wine. Before asking questions, check out the Wiki as a first step.
Forum Rules
sample

Post by sample »

I just installed Xubuntu 8.04, Wine 0.9.60 and Warcraft 3.

Ive set it so it uses OpenGL and in game i get less than 30fps with everything on low and a low resolution. On Windows i can run it on medium with 1280x800 at 60fps.

Im new to Xubuntu/linux so i dont know what could be causing it.

Is this expected from Wine?

Specs are 1GB RAM, Intel C2D 1.66GHZ, Intel 945GM onboard graphics.
vitamin

Re: More than 50% performance decrease.

Post by vitamin »

sample wrote:I just installed Xubuntu 8.04, Wine 0.9.60 and Warcraft 3.

Ive set it so it uses OpenGL and in game i get less than 30fps with everything on low and a low resolution. On Windows i can run it on medium with 1280x800 at 60fps.

Im new to Xubuntu/linux so i dont know what could be causing it.

Is this expected from Wine?

Specs are 1GB RAM, Intel C2D 1.66GHZ, Intel 945GM onboard graphics.
Make sure that you have disabled compiz. Also note that Linux Intel graphics drivers not as good as ones for windows. Also at best you can get 1/2 the performance on Wine comparing to windows.

So what you are seeing is pretty much correct.
sample

Post by sample »

OK thanks, a bit dissapointing.
billstei
Level 2
Level 2

Post by billstei »

Lots of funny video stuff going on with Ubuntu 8.04, check their forums. Gutsy's my story and I'm stickin to it.

Bill
ulberon
Level 2
Level 2

Post by ulberon »

I would go here:

http://wiki.winehq.org/UsefulRegistryKeys

Set VideoMemorySize.
And try different RenderTargetLockMode.

As a side note, the games always goto 100% cpu, and I have no idea why. All of them do this. I think removing the cause might achieve a speedup.
[email protected]

Post by [email protected] »

Hello,

I haven't played WC3 for some time on my laptop with Intel Graphics but IIRC the OpenGL-stuff in wine was not that slow...