CPU Cores / Virtual Cores reported by Linux to WINE application

Questions about Wine on Linux
aidyw

CPU Cores / Virtual Cores reported by Linux to WINE application

Post by aidyw »

Hi,
I have been using WINE for many years to run an application called LTSpice. For those who are not aware it is a circuit simulator and schematic capture tool. It works quite well and I believe although it is a native Windows app, it does actually have some tweaks available (optional CLI switch) which helps it run under wine and specifically WINE. Therefore the author is well aware and supportive of WINE.

For many years I have been running a Quad core Intel Duo processor none hyper-threading CPU. This worked wonderfully and LTSpice was able to 100% max out all 4 cores with 4 separate threads during simulation.

I just upgraded after some 15 years to a new Ryzen R9 5950X 16 Core hyper-threading (32 virtual core) processor.

LTSpice has good controls available to make use of multi-threading and it is possible to define in LTSpice how many total threads to allow. The maximum is obtained somehow by interacting with the OS. Now in my case this is WINEs layer. In the past I would see a maximum of 4 threads. One for each core on the Quad Duo Intel. Now I see a maximum of 16 threads. It would seem again one thread for each CORE on the Ryzen. But NOT one thread per virtual core. ie. max 32 threads.

I do not know for sure if LTSpice has a maximum limit on the threads it will handle. I can not find this information, but nothing suggests that it does.

When I look in Linux I always see 32 processors available, all the tools (htop, glances, mpstat etc) report 32 processors. I know that it is virtual processors, but still I see 32. When I run LTSpice with 16 threads, I see a maximum of 50% CPU utilisation. I am fairly convinced that the actual CPU usage is much higher than this, but because LTSpice is limited to 1 thread per core, the system tools don't correctly report the actual CPU usage.