Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Questions about Wine on Linux
Post Reply
MisterLayne
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 2:02 pm

Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Post by MisterLayne » Mon Jun 03, 2019 2:09 pm

I'm trying to run this TyranoBuilder-based game, but everytime I load it with wine, it gets stuck!

Here is a picture of the game (files):
https://prnt.sc/nx5ft6
https://prnt.sc/nx5gn8

Here's the command and what outputs:
https://pastebin.com/mPzaNMUw

qwertymnb
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 4:36 pm
Location: Eindhoven de gekste!

Re: Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Post by qwertymnb » Tue Jun 04, 2019 1:43 am

Hi, that`s probably bug https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=44985

Things you might try:

WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 WINEDLLOVERRIDES=libglesv2.dll=d wine TeachingFeeling.exe

WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 wine TeachingFeeling.exe --disable-gpu

WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 wine TeachingFeeling.exe --no-sandbox

WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 wine TeachingFeeling.exe --single-process

Or any combination of the above, use trial and error! Could you let us know if it works?

MisterLayne
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 2:02 pm

Re: Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Post by MisterLayne » Tue Jun 04, 2019 10:49 pm

qwertymnb wrote:Hi, that`s probably bug https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=44985

Things you might try:

WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 WINEDLLOVERRIDES=libglesv2.dll=d wine TeachingFeeling.exe

WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 wine TeachingFeeling.exe --disable-gpu

WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 wine TeachingFeeling.exe --no-sandbox

WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 wine TeachingFeeling.exe --single-process

Or any combination of the above, use trial and error! Could you let us know if it works?
Here's what I got:

Doesn't Work:
WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 WINEDLLOVERRIDES=libglesv2.dll=d wine TeachingFeeling.exe
WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 wine TeachingFeeling.exe --disable-gpu
WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 wine TeachingFeeling.exe --no-sandbox
WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 wine TeachingFeeling.exe --single-process
WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 wine TeachingFeeling.exe // default command
WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 WINEDLLOVERRIDES=libglesv2.dll=d wine TeachingFeeling.exe --disable-gpu
WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 WINEDLLOVERRIDES=libglesv2.dll=d wine TeachingFeeling.exe --disable-gpu --no-sandbox
WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 WINEDLLOVERRIDES=libglesv2.dll=d wine TeachingFeeling.exe --disable-gpu --no-sandbox --single-process

Does Work:

Nothing so far.

I'm assuming that running it on 32bit shouldn't affect anything- but none of those solutions work right now :/

jkfloris
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 1344
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Post by jkfloris » Wed Jun 05, 2019 9:48 am

Could you copy the "Life With A Slave - Teaching Feeling" directory inside the _prefix32_wine Wineprefix and try the dll override option again?

MisterLayne
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 2:02 pm

Re: Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Post by MisterLayne » Wed Jun 05, 2019 11:52 am

jkfloris wrote:Could you copy the "Life With A Slave - Teaching Feeling" directory inside the _prefix32_wine Wineprefix and try the dll override option again?
https://prnt.sc/ny11pk
Just tried that, and with no luck. Assuming I did it right, but I'm not sure.

jkfloris
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 1344
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Post by jkfloris » Wed Jun 05, 2019 3:40 pm

One part of your screenshot shows a directory inside the wineprefix

Code: Select all

~/_prefix32_wine/drive_c/Program Files/Life With A Slave - Teaching Feeling
But in the terminal you are outside the prefix

Code: Select all

~/Desktop/Games/Life With A Slave - Teaching Feeling
Could you try:

Code: Select all

cd "~/_prefix32_wine/drive_c/Program Files/Life With A Slave - Teaching Feeling"
WINEDLLOVERRIDES=libglesv2.dll=d WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine wine TeachingFeeling.exe

MisterLayne
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 2:02 pm

Re: Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Post by MisterLayne » Wed Jun 05, 2019 6:44 pm

jkfloris wrote:One part of your screenshot shows a directory inside the wineprefix

Code: Select all

~/_prefix32_wine/drive_c/Program Files/Life With A Slave - Teaching Feeling
But in the terminal you are outside the prefix

Code: Select all

~/Desktop/Games/Life With A Slave - Teaching Feeling
Could you try:

Code: Select all

cd "~/_prefix32_wine/drive_c/Program Files/Life With A Slave - Teaching Feeling"
WINEDLLOVERRIDES=libglesv2.dll=d WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine wine TeachingFeeling.exe
Ah, I see. Well, I just tried that, and no luck there, either.
Here is the URL for the output from that in case it helps at all.

qwertymnb
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 4:36 pm
Location: Eindhoven de gekste!

Re: Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Post by qwertymnb » Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:27 am

If nothing works then might not be related to bug https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=44985

Last thing I to try/question: did you already do something like ``winetricks arial`` or ``winetricks corefonts``?

MisterLayne
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 2:02 pm

Re: Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Post by MisterLayne » Thu Jun 06, 2019 12:23 pm

Problem fixed! Here's what I did:

$ WINEPREFIX=~/prefix_name WINEARCH=win32 winetricks
> select the default wineprefix
> install a font
> select every font you can find
$ cp -r "/location/to/game/" "/prefix_name/drive_c/Program Files/"
$ cd "/prefix_name/drive_c/Program Files/game"
$ WINEPREFIX=~/prefix_name WINEARCH=win32 wine game.exe
Profit.

Thank you all so much for the help- it turns out all you need is the fonts. haha.

ohcmonrest
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2021 5:59 am

Re: Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Post by ohcmonrest » Thu Jan 14, 2021 6:04 am

MisterLayne wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 12:23 pm
> select the default wineprefix
> install a font
> select every font you can find
What do You mean by this? I've got the wine configuration panel open but I don't know where to go from there? How do I select the default wineprefix?

User avatar
Bob Wya
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 2961
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Post by Bob Wya » Thu Jan 14, 2021 7:51 am

ohcmonrest wrote:
Thu Jan 14, 2021 6:04 am
...
What do You mean by this? I've got the wine configuration panel open but I don't know where to go from there? How do I select the default wineprefix?
@ohcmonrest

The default WINEPREFIX is:

Code: Select all

${HOME}/.wine
- by definition you do not need to select it!
See: WineHQ FAQ: 6.5 Wineprefixes.

You typically only need to add the core MS fonts package, using:

Code: Select all

winetricks corefonts
- if these are installed globally on your system (i.e. as a native Linux package).

It's probably overkill to install all the fonts winetricks supports, e.g. with:

Code: Select all

winetricks allfonts
Bob

Post Reply