“paint” to refresh a part of the screen

Questions about Wine on macOS.
Post Reply
ipozow
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 1:34 pm

“paint” to refresh a part of the screen

Post by ipozow » Tue Nov 06, 2018 1:48 pm

Hello

Yesterday I installed a game called Capitalism Lab and everything runs well, except that there is a problem with refreshing the screen.
The screen keeps with the old image until the cursor cross the affected area… This video explains everything: https://youtu.be/vU1xHM20dp0

May be this is related with drivers?
Anyone knows how to fix it?

User avatar
Bob Wya
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 2772
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm
Location: Cambridge
Contact:

Re: “paint” to refresh a part of the screen

Post by Bob Wya » Wed Nov 07, 2018 7:46 am

@ipozow

Make sure your Wine version isn't years out-of-date... (Yes this can happen... Really!!)
See: WineHQ Download.

Please can you post a terminal log, with something like:

Code: Select all

export WINEDEBUG=+timestamp,+tid,+wgl
wine start ... &>~/wine_log.txt
(fixing the path for your game executable obviously!)

If posting terminal logs, inline, in a forum post...
Then please use the forum Code tags:

Code: Select all

...
to delimit blocks of terminal commands and output.

Please also post the terminal command you used to launch the game and indicate what directory you are running this command from:

Code: Select all

pwd
See: Wine User's Guide: 3 Using Wine.

The output from:

Code: Select all

glxinfo | egrep '^[[:alpha:]]'
- would also be quite useful.

Also the Capitalism Lab Support FAQ indicates that Capitalism Lab has a Windows XP mode.

So you might want to setup a custom 32-bit WINEPREFIX (if you are using a 64-bit Linux OS) for your game, e.g. something like:

Code: Select all

export WINEPREFIX="${HOME}/.wine32"
WINEARCH=win32 wineboot -u
winetricks winxp
Then install your game to this new 32-bit WINEPREFIX.

Thanks
Bob

ipozow
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 1:34 pm

Re: “paint” to refresh a part of the screen

Post by ipozow » Wed Nov 07, 2018 9:17 am

I am using Wine Devel, so I think that is updated.
Also I tried first with CrossOver and it's the same issue.
Also tried with Wine 3.19 but using PlayOnMac, and it's the same. With this and CrossOver one I selected to simulate Windows XP and nothing. I installed it in as 32 bit and nothing changed.

To open the game I just right clicked the executable -> open with -> wine Devel

The output from:

Code: Select all

glxinfo | egrep '^[[:alpha:]]'

Code: Select all

name of display: /private/tmp/com.apple.launchd.JY4yhA2Lx3/org.macosforge.xquartz:0
display: /private/tmp/com.apple.launchd.JY4yhA2Lx3/org.macosforge.xquartz:0  screen: 0
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
server glx extensions:
client glx vendor string: Mesa Project and SGI
client glx version string: 1.4
client glx extensions:
GLX version: 1.4
GLX extensions:
OpenGL vendor string: Intel Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: Intel(R) Iris(TM) Plus Graphics 640
OpenGL version string: 2.1 INTEL-12.2.17
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.20
OpenGL extensions:
This didn't work for me:
Bob Wya wrote: Please can you post a terminal log, with something like:

Code: Select all

export WINEDEBUG=+timestamp,+tid,+wgl
wine start ... &>~/wine_log.txt
(fixing the path for your game executable obviously!)

Gcenx
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 306
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 12:11 pm

Re: “paint” to refresh a part of the screen

Post by Gcenx » Wed Nov 07, 2018 4:51 pm

ipozow wrote:I am using Wine Devel, so I think that is updated.
Also I tried first with CrossOver and it's the same issue.
Also tried with Wine 3.19 but using PlayOnMac, and it's the same. With this and CrossOver one I selected to simulate Windows XP and nothing. I installed it in as 32 bit and nothing changed.

To open the game I just right clicked the executable -> open with -> wine Devel

The output from:

Code: Select all

glxinfo | egrep '^[[:alpha:]]'

Code: Select all

name of display: /private/tmp/com.apple.launchd.JY4yhA2Lx3/org.macosforge.xquartz:0
display: /private/tmp/com.apple.launchd.JY4yhA2Lx3/org.macosforge.xquartz:0  screen: 0
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
server glx extensions:
client glx vendor string: Mesa Project and SGI
client glx version string: 1.4
client glx extensions:
GLX version: 1.4
GLX extensions:
OpenGL vendor string: Intel Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: Intel(R) Iris(TM) Plus Graphics 640
OpenGL version string: 2.1 INTEL-12.2.17
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.20
OpenGL extensions:
This didn't work for me:
Bob Wya wrote: Please can you post a terminal log, with something like:

Code: Select all

export WINEDEBUG=+timestamp,+tid,+wgl
wine start ... &>~/wine_log.txt
(fixing the path for your game executable obviously!)
You tried that command from the terminal that’s launched when you run Wine-Devel.app?

ipozow
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 1:34 pm

Re: “paint” to refresh a part of the screen

Post by ipozow » Wed Nov 07, 2018 5:07 pm

Thanks

Code: Select all

48360.420:006f:fixme:ntdll:find_reg_tz_info Can't find matching timezone information in the registry for -03, bias 240, std (d/m/y): 13/05/2018, dlt (d/m/y): 12/08/2018
48360.557:006f:fixme:exec:SHELL_execute flags ignored: 0x00000100
48360.642:0071:fixme:ntdll:find_reg_tz_info Can't find matching timezone information in the registry for -03, bias 240, std (d/m/y): 13/05/2018, dlt (d/m/y): 12/08/2018
48360.929:0071:fixme:nstc:NSTC2_fnSetControlStyle2 mask & style (0x00000004) contains unsupported style(s): 0x00000004
48360.954:0071:fixme:shell:IShellBrowser_fnSendControlMsg stub, 0x14b918 (2, 1026, a003, 0, 0x33f52c)
48360.954:0071:fixme:shell:IShellBrowser_fnSendControlMsg stub, 0x14b918 (2, 1026, a004, 1, 0x33f52c)
48360.954:0071:fixme:shell:IShellBrowser_fnSendControlMsg stub, 0x14b918 (2, 1025, a003, 1, 0x33f52c)
48360.954:0071:fixme:shell:IShellBrowser_fnSendControlMsg stub, 0x14b918 (2, 1025, a004, 1, 0x33f52c)
48364.800:0071:fixme:shell:IShellBrowser_fnOnViewWindowActive stub, 0x14b918 (0x605570)
48366.652:0071:fixme:exec:SHELL_execute flags ignored: 0x0000000c
48366.773:0074:fixme:ntdll:find_reg_tz_info Can't find matching timezone information in the registry for -03, bias 240, std (d/m/y): 13/05/2018, dlt (d/m/y): 12/08/2018
48454.919:0071:fixme:shell:IShellBrowser_fnOnViewWindowActive stub, 0x14b918 (0x605570)
48465.749:0071:fixme:shell:IShellBrowser_fnOnViewWindowActive stub, 0x14b918 (0x605570)
48465.935:0071:fixme:exec:SHELL_execute flags ignored: 0x0000000c
48466.225:00a8:fixme:ntdll:find_reg_tz_info Can't find matching timezone information in the registry for -03, bias 240, std (d/m/y): 13/05/2018, dlt (d/m/y): 12/08/2018
48485.801:0071:fixme:shell:IShellBrowser_fnSendControlMsg stub, 0x14b918 (2, 1026, a003, 0, 0x33d4ec)
48485.801:0071:fixme:shell:IShellBrowser_fnSendControlMsg stub, 0x14b918 (2, 1026, a004, 1, 0x33d4ec)
48485.801:0071:fixme:shell:IShellBrowser_fnSendControlMsg stub, 0x14b918 (2, 1025, a003, 1, 0x33d4ec)
48485.801:0071:fixme:shell:IShellBrowser_fnSendControlMsg stub, 0x14b918 (2, 1025, a004, 1, 0x33d4ec)
48486.893:0071:fixme:shell:IShellBrowser_fnOnViewWindowActive stub, 0x14b918 (0x60e470)
48487.967:0071:fixme:shell:IShellBrowser_fnSendControlMsg stub, 0x14b918 (2, 1026, a003, 0, 0x33e09c)
48487.967:0071:fixme:shell:IShellBrowser_fnSendControlMsg stub, 0x14b918 (2, 1026, a004, 1, 0x33e09c)
48487.967:0071:fixme:shell:IShellBrowser_fnSendControlMsg stub, 0x14b918 (2, 1025, a003, 1, 0x33e09c)
48487.967:0071:fixme:shell:IShellBrowser_fnSendControlMsg stub, 0x14b918 (2, 1025, a004, 1, 0x33e09c)
48489.245:0071:fixme:shell:IShellBrowser_fnOnViewWindowActive stub, 0x14b918 (0x60dd98)
48490.246:0071:fixme:exec:SHELL_execute flags ignored: 0x0000000c
48490.550:00aa:fixme:ntdll:find_reg_tz_info Can't find matching timezone information in the registry for -03, bias 240, std (d/m/y): 13/05/2018, dlt (d/m/y): 12/08/2018
48493.962:0071:fixme:shell:IShellBrowser_fnOnViewWindowActive stub, 0x14b918 (0x60dd98)
48495.684:0071:err:shell:ICommDlgBrowser3_fnOnDefaultCommand Failed to get IDataObject.
48496.379:0071:err:shell:ICommDlgBrowser3_fnOnDefaultCommand Failed to get IDataObject.
48499.713:0071:fixme:exec:SHELL_execute flags ignored: 0x0000000c
48500.131:00ac:fixme:ntdll:find_reg_tz_info Can't find matching timezone information in the registry for -03, bias 240, std (d/m/y): 13/05/2018, dlt (d/m/y): 12/08/2018
48561.827:00a8:fixme:bidi:resolveImplicit assert failed: pcls[i] < 5
48561.827:00a8:fixme:bidi:resolveImplicit assert failed: pcls[i] < 5
(48561.828:00a8:fixme:bidi:resolveImplicit assert failed: pcls[i] < 5) this millions of times until making the file 150MB

ipozow
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 1:34 pm

Re: “paint” to refresh a part of the screen

Post by ipozow » Sun Nov 11, 2018 7:36 am


Gorillatore
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2019 11:19 am

Re: “paint” to refresh a part of the screen

Post by Gorillatore » Tue Apr 30, 2019 11:22 am

Hi, anybody figured out how to solve this problem? Thanks

ipozow
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 1:34 pm

Re: “paint” to refresh a part of the screen

Post by ipozow » Tue Apr 30, 2019 3:16 pm

you should follow up the bug in this link: https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=42148

Gorillatore
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2019 11:19 am

Re: “paint” to refresh a part of the screen

Post by Gorillatore » Wed May 01, 2019 4:32 am

Thanks. Went there and if I'm not mistaken, seems like no solution yet? Just posted on that link for help.

ipozow
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 1:34 pm

Re: “paint” to refresh a part of the screen

Post by ipozow » Wed May 01, 2019 7:55 am

Someone is asking for this: Please attach the result of
WINEDEBUG=+wgl,+d3d,+opengl,+ddraw wine Cap2.exe >> debug.log 2>&1

I don't have wine anymore so I won't be able to help. If you can I think that will be great for the progress of the bug

Gorillatore
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2019 11:19 am

Re: “paint” to refresh a part of the screen

Post by Gorillatore » Wed May 01, 2019 8:17 am

I see. I'm a non-dev so I don't know how to provide that. Do you think you could point me in the right direction and tell me how to get that?

By the way, I'm using Cap Lab not Cap 2.
Thanks

ipozow
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 1:34 pm

Re: “paint” to refresh a part of the screen

Post by ipozow » Wed May 01, 2019 1:04 pm

open Wine-devel.app and then run that command, and instead of Cap2.exe you may use CapMain.exe I think it is, or change it to whatever the name it's

Gorillatore
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2019 11:19 am

Re: “paint” to refresh a part of the screen

Post by Gorillatore » Thu May 02, 2019 3:34 am

I installed WineDevel and ran CapMain.exe. It asked for permission to install gecko etc., when I denied it just closed an nothing happened.

I tried the query again and nothing happened. I tried CapStart.exe and nothing. I restarted computer and tried both again and nothing.

Any ideas how to proceed?

User avatar
Bob Wya
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 2772
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm
Location: Cambridge
Contact:

Re: “paint” to refresh a part of the screen

Post by Bob Wya » Thu May 02, 2019 3:56 am

Gorillatore wrote:...
Any ideas how to proceed?
You'll probably want to install wine-gecko - otherwise Wine will not have any rendering engine base...
wine-gecko takes the place of the base/ integrated Internet Explorer version, that MS Windows uses.

Anyway, just run:

Code: Select all

wineboot -u
to re-enable the wine-mono and wine-gecko download checks.

Restarting your computer is a pointless waste of time. Wine only runs as a standard User process, after all.
You can just kill any active Wine processes (for the currently active WINEPREFIX) with:

Code: Select all

wineserver -k
(Usually this works!)

Bob

Post Reply