How do I remove or ignore PlayOnLinux virtual drives?

Questions about Wine on Linux
MarloweC
Level 2
Level 2

How do I remove or ignore PlayOnLinux virtual drives?

Post by MarloweC »

So I'm pretty new to Wine, PlayOnLinux, and just Linux in general. I attempted to install League of Legends using Wine, and I thought it wasn't working but actually I just had no idea how to do it (and probably still don't). So I installed using PlayOnLinux, which worked, but it doesn't work with the new Wine version. I wanted to try just installing using Wine without PlayOnLinux (which I know is possible), but apparently my only virtual drive is WITHIN PlayOnLinux and I can't seem to figure out how to get it anywhere else. Wine keeps looking for the virtual drive but it's simply not finding it because it's inside the PlayOnLinux folder...
dimesio

Re: How do I remove or ignore PlayOnLinux virtual drives?

Post by dimesio »

You can delete the POL folders the same way you would delete any other folder.

If you run Wine directly rather than through POL, it should by default use ~/.wine as the wineprefix. You can also specify other wineprefixes on the command line. http://wiki.winehq.org/FAQ#wineprefix
MarloweC
Level 2
Level 2

Post by MarloweC »

I actually figured out most of that in the time it took to get the post approved, but thank you anyway. Part of the problem was that my .wine directory was hidden.

However, I do have an additional question. It appears that whenever I run wine commands in the terminal, it's using the 32 bit installation. I am using amd64 and AFAIK I have both 32 bit and 64 bit wine installed. I don't know how I can run wine commands using 64 bit. Everything I've read suggests it should do this automatically if I am using amd64, but it doesn't seem to be. Could this be a problem with multiarch settings? How do I detect settings and/or configure multiarch?
dimesio

Post by dimesio »