DELFTship hangs on start up

Questions about Wine on Linux
deadwood
Level 2
Level 2

DELFTship hangs on start up

Post by deadwood »

Hello,

I am new to Wine and currently only use it for a single software for which only exist binaries compiled for Windows but not for Linux.
Said software is the hull lofting program DELFTship (DS) in its Free version currently 6.22.253.
I already used DS before in some 5.X version under Wine with no problems at all.
But since I hadn't only shifted versions of DS but also the Linux distro from CentOS 6.2 to Fedora 19 I am not sure whether my problems originate from the distro, Wine, or the DS version.
But I tested the same DS version on a Windows XP PC at work and there it runs without any flaw.

My Linux distro is

Code: Select all

[root@pabell:/home/fiddle]
# uname -a
Linux pabell.slipway.org 3.10.9-200.fc19.x86_64 #1 SMP Wed Aug 21 19:27:58 UTC 2013 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

# cat /etc/redhat-release 
Fedora release 19 (Schrödinger’s Cat)
I installed Wine from the Fedora RPM repos

# wine --version
wine-1.7.0

# rpm -qa wine{,-core}
wine-core-1.7.0-1.fc19.x86_64
wine-core-1.7.0-1.fc19.i686
wine-1.7.0-1.fc19.x86_64

# rpm -q --qf "%{packager}\n" wine
Fedora Project
The strange thing is that this DS version in this Fedora/Wine setting used to start without any problem for the first 3 or 4 times.
In DS there is in the global preferences selection a check box where I made sure to let DS never search for any updates.
But somehow it seems as if DS now is trying to make an Internet connection (to make a call to home so to speak) on start up.
At least this is what the Wine output, which I submitted below, suggests with the line

fixme:wininet:InternetAttemptConnect Stub
when the start up of DS gets hung.

Is there a way how I can tell Wine to refrain from calling this InternetAttemptConnect Stub?