Creat a shotcut for app launcher

Questions about Wine on macOS.
Fisker

Creat a shotcut for app launcher

Post by Fisker »

Hello ppl

I'm new to wine, only used wineskin before and try some of the others to get a windows program to work without any luck. So i tried to install it my self in wine where i create a prefix and actually got all of the programs i need to run :D :D So now i can uninstall my bootcamp partition, wuuhu :D

But i'll only got one problem now, and that is how do i create a shortcut in my app launcher so i don't have to use wine file manager to find the .exe and execute it? i've tried what the MacOSX FAQ said "How to create an icon on the desktop to start a given .exe" but couldn't get it working.
So now i am asking for some help to get this to work.

i appreciate your help and time!

- Fisker
doh123
Level 8
Level 8

Re: Creat a shotcut for app launcher

Post by doh123 »

It looks like that word-wrap changed since i wrote that entry... and its all jumbled up... here is what you can do.

You can make an AppleScript app launcher using the code on that page... here it is easier to read

Code: Select all

on run

--edit this to be the correct location and file to run (typically only edit after the "drive_c")
	set toRun to "$WINEPREFIX/drive_c/Program Files/MyProgram/MyProgramName.exe"

--edit winePrefix if you are not using the default prefix
	set winePrefix to "$HOME/.wine"

--edit wineLocation if your wine install is not the default location
	set wineLocation to "/usr/local/bin"

--edit dyldFallbackLibraryPath to your X11 lib folder, this one is set for XQuartz on 10.6+
	set dyldFallbackLibraryPath to "/opt/X11/lib"
	-------------------------------------------------------
	--DO NOT EDIT ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE
	set toRunPath to do shell script "WINEPREFIX=\"" & winePrefix & "\"; TEMPVAR=\"" & toRun & "\"; echo \"${TEMPVAR%/*}\""