Steam fails to install after first "next" click

Questions about Wine on macOS.
evyoung

Steam fails to install after first "next" click

Post by evyoung »

Hi all,

I am a total newbie to both Terminal and Wine, so I may be missing something obvious, but here is my problem:

I have successfully installed Wine 1.6 and winetricks using homebrew on OSX 10.8.4, and have followed the directions on the Steam Official Release page. When running the SteamInstaller.msi file, the first window in the install wizard pops up fine, and when I hit "next," the wizard goes away and nothing else happens.

I have also tried other installation methods, such as using the winefile GUI and the winetricks full install for steam as shown in the Steam Official Release page.

Has anyone run into this problem and figured out a fix? What can I do?

Thanks so much!
Maexel
Level 3
Level 3

Re: Steam fails to install after first "next" click

Post by Maexel »

Hi evyoung,

So the Setup-Window of Steam disappears when you hit the 'Next'-Button, is this right?
It might be of help, if you can find out, if another exe-File runs fine with wine. So we might get an idea, if the cause tends to an error in the Steam-Setup-File or to an error in wine. Although, my guess is the first one, since the 1.6 version is the latest stable version and was tested heavily on errors before its official release :wink: .
I can tell you how i've got Steam installed, this might be of help. First, I've got the installer form the official Steam site (http://store.steampowered.com/about/) where I've picked the windows version. After the download, I've run the installer with msi-exec. So the command line in Terminal would look like this:
wine msiexec /i PATH_TO_INSTALLER

(drag n drop the installer file into Terimal, so you'll get the right path without any spelling mistakes :wink:)