help setting up windows version of steam on a mac with wine

Questions about Wine on macOS.
nskaran

help setting up windows version of steam on a mac with wine

Post by nskaran »

hi, i'm pretty new (to steam, gaming and computer programming-type stuff) and i have a mac, which i know isn't that great for games usually, but i'd still like to play what i can. i've been looking into playing some windows-only games recently (like the sims or guild wars) and i did some googling around and found this guide, but i spent almost six hours yesterday trying to figure this out, and i'm having some problems.

i'm not very experienced with programming or command line, so i just followed the instructions i found blindly, which might have overcomplicated things. i'm gonna explain what i did in possibly too much detail in case something's important:

1. launch xcode (which i had already) and install the command line tools.
2. go into terminal and accept the end-user license agreement for xcode (sudo xcodebuild -license).
3. update macports, which i already had (sudo port -v selfupdate).
4. go to terminal, enter "echo export PATH=/opt/local/bin:/opt/local/sbin:\$PATH$'\n'export MANPATH=/opt/local/man:\$MANPATH | sudo tee -a /etc/profile" (no response) and then "if [ `sysctl -n hw.cpu64bit_capable` -eq 1 ] ; then echo "+universal" | sudo tee -a /opt/local/etc/macports/variants.conf; else echo "not 64bit capable"; fi" (got +universal).
5. close terminal, reopen, enter "sudo port install wine." wait ages for it to finish.
6. try to install windows version of steam. at first i tried the instructions here, but i didn't know what to do about the wineprefix; then i think i just typed in "wine msiexec /i SteamInstall.msi" and it created ~/.wine (and gave me an error because i hadn't downloaded SteamInstall.msi, like a dumbass).
7. download windows steam.