wine command line arguments

Open forum for end-user questions about Wine. Before asking questions, check out the Wiki as a first step.
Forum Rules
Locked
jserink
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 2:02 am

wine command line arguments

Post by jserink »

Hi All;

I have just successfully installed Microsoft:
Age of Empires II,
Age of Empires II-Conquerors expansion,
Age of Empires III
on Wine 1.3.7.

No dll overides, no pissing about nothing, just dropped in the CD, mapped it to using winecfg and installed.

Empires II installed directly from disk and would not run after the install until I applied the no_Cd_patch and not are fine.

AoEIII has 3 CDs so copied all files to a directory and installed.

Now, to get wine to behave itself, I have set the graphics up to be in a 1280x1024 window and works fine from my calling script:

#!/bin/bash
cd "/home/jserink/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Microsoft Games/Age of Empires III/"
wine age3.exe

Now, I don't want all of wine to be in a 1280x1024 window, only the games so, I set winecfg to turn off the virtual desktop and changed my script to this:
#!/bin/bash
cd "/home/jserink/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Microsoft Games/Age of Empires III/"
wine -desktop 1280x1024 age3.exe

But it didn't work, the virtual desktop appeared then disappeared and I get this on the command line:
jserink@jserinki7 ~/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Microsoft Games/Age of Empires III $ wine -desktop=1280x1024 age3.exe
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
wine: cannot find L"C:\\windows\\system32\\-desktop=1280x1024.exe"

its pretty obvious that it things "-desktop" is a windows app.
I have tried 2 dashes, an equals sing between the desktop and the resolution but its always the same.


Any ideas on how I could do this?

Cheers,
john
Das Letzte Einhorn
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 12:40 pm

Post by Das Letzte Einhorn »

You should use the latest development version : 1.4-rc1
snejjj
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:25 am

Post by snejjj »

just try it with two "-" in front of desktop, as usually verbose options are preceeded with "--"

your command line should thus be

Code: Select all

wine --desktop 1280x1024 age3.exe 
Rico
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:10 pm

Post by Rico »

jserink
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 2:02 am

Ok, solved

Post by jserink »

Hi All;

Ok, updated to:
jserink@jserinki7 ~/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Microsoft Games/Age of Empires III $ wine --version
wine-1.4-rc1

Now, this worked, but:
http://wiki.winehq.org/FAQ#head-dba86ae ... af45e8119c

I first tried this:
wincfg and turn off virtual desktop,
wine explorer /desktop="Age of Empires III",1280x1024 age3.exe

This ran a virtual desktop at 800x600 that was blue inside, no app running and the name in the boarder was "Age".

Changed the command line to:
wine explorer /desktop=Age_of_Empires_III,1280x1024 age3.exe

And it all works perfect.

Here is my startup batch file for AoE III:
#!/bin/bash
cd "/home/jserink/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Microsoft Games/Age of Empires III/"
#wine age3.exe
wine explorer /desktop=Age_of_Empires_III,1280x1024 age3.exe

Here is my startup batch file for AoE II:
#!/bin/bash
cd "/home/jserink/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Microsoft Games/Age of Empires II/"
#wine empires2.exe
wine explorer /desktop=Age_of_Empires_II,1280x1024 empires2.exe

Here is my startup batch file for AoE II Conquerers:
#!/bin/bash
cd "/home/jserink/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Microsoft Games/Age of Empires II/"
#wine age2_x1/age2_x1.exe
wine explorer /desktop=Age_of_Empires_II_Conquerers,1280x1024 age2_x1/age2_x1.exe


Thanx for pointing me to the FAQ.

Cheers,
John
Locked