WineHQ
Wine Forums

Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help




 Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 



 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Fri May 20, 2011 4:50 pm 
Offline
Level 12
Level 12
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm
Posts: 2351
Location: Cambridge
Just a quickie question...

Could someone remind me how I attach my console output to a game being run through the Steam client? Otherwise I think I am just seeing the output from the Steam client itself - right?

I am trying to troubleshoot launching Bioshock 1 and I don't have a retail copy of the game to try out...

Thanks 8)
Bob


Top 
 Post Posted: Sun May 22, 2011 11:47 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:29 pm
Posts: 6605
Bob Wya wrote:
Could someone remind me how I attach my console output to a game being run through the Steam client?

Run game normally via steam and using 'ps x| less' get it's complete command line. Each game might have different options. Ex Portal 2:
Code:
portal2 -steam

Then start steam in one terminal (or put it into background). And while it's running start your game. Ex:
Code:
wine steam &
sleep 15
cd steamapps/common/portal\ 2
WINEDEBUG=+relay wine portal2 -steam &> portal2.log


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun May 22, 2011 1:08 pm 
Offline
Level 12
Level 12
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm
Posts: 2351
Location: Cambridge
Hi vitamin

Sorry I've been really dumb. Of course! You start the Steam client before starting the game executable... Should of thought of that! :lol:

I feel like a bit of Bioshock regression testing coming on soon! :lol:

Thanks
Bob


Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
 Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 




Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: