Runes of Magic ClientUpdate.exe crash???

Open forum for end-user questions about Wine. Before asking questions, check out the Wiki as a first step.
Forum Rules
Astrauk
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:27 am

Post by Astrauk » Mon Jan 24, 2011 5:54 pm

finished install rwoodsmalls wine thing and it seems to have fixed the other.exe crashing issue, I'm gonna finish manually installing the patches then I'll start the game and post back.

vitamin
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6605
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:29 pm

Re: Runes of Magic ClientUpdate.exe crash???

Post by vitamin » Tue Jan 25, 2011 8:45 pm

Don't post huge logs. Use pastebin(s). All long posts will be removed.

Astrauk
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:27 am

Post by Astrauk » Tue Jan 25, 2011 8:49 pm

Oh sorry I'll make sure to do that from now on.

Astrauk
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:27 am

Post by Astrauk » Tue Jan 25, 2011 9:05 pm

Ok I reinstalled wine (latest version) and configured it with the CFLAGS thing and stuff, then reinstalled RoM and started a manual patch and got the other.exe error, here's what was in the Terminal. Does anyone know how to fix it? I really want to get this game working! Thanks.

PasteBin link.
http://pastebins.com/index.php?show=511

ryan woodsmall

Runes of Magic ClientUpdate.exe crash???

Post by ryan woodsmall » Tue Jan 25, 2011 10:24 pm

Ok I reinstalled wine (latest version) and configured it with the CFLAGS thing and stuff, then reinstalled RoM and started a manual patch and got the other.exe error, here's what was in the Terminal. Does anyone know how to fix it? I really want to get this game working! Thanks.
http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.p ... &iId=16051

Have you done the necessary winetricks installs? AFAIK patching should work, but I'm not a MMORPGer. -r

Astrauk
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:27 am

Post by Astrauk » Tue Jan 25, 2011 10:39 pm

Yeah I installed all the necessary winetricks. I just don't understand why the heck it won't work.

Astrauk
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:27 am

Post by Astrauk » Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:31 pm

Ok so I was looking around and it seems other people have had the same problem but on windows, the solution they had was to disable there firewall, so I looked at how to disable my computers firewall and found out that I didn't even have one activated, would wine somehow have put on a firewall itself that can be turned off?

Astrauk
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:27 am

Post by Astrauk » Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:47 pm

Also what if I installed the game on a pc and then just moved the files over? Would that work? Well I guess I'll try it anyway since nothing else is working and I'll report back to here when I'm finished.

Astrauk
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:27 am

Post by Astrauk » Fri Jan 28, 2011 12:57 pm

Ok so it worked almost perfectly, I got past the "version is different from server" message but I ran into a different one, it said "Lost connection please turn off your firewall" something like that, but I don't have a firewall running, and on the pc I installed it on it worked perfectly. I would post everything from the terminal but most of it seems irrelevant, the only thing that seems relevant was this one line, does anyone know what it means and how to fix it?

Code: Select all

fixme:ras:RasEnumConnectionsA RAS support is not implemented! Configure program to use LAN connection/winsock instead!

Astrauk
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:27 am

Post by Astrauk » Fri Jan 28, 2011 1:25 pm

Come on, anyone??? (I know I'm being impatient it just that for the life of me I can't figure this out, and I am so close!)

James Mckenzie

Runes of Magic ClientUpdate.exe crash???

Post by James Mckenzie » Fri Jan 28, 2011 2:10 pm

Astrauk <wineforum-user@winehq.org> wrote:
(Reply-to broken by Earthlink's web mail. Complain to Earthlink, not me, I have.)
Ok so it worked almost perfectly, I got past the "version is different from server" message but I ran into a different
one, it said "Lost connection please turn off your firewall" something like that, but I don't have a firewall running, and
on the pc I installed it on it worked perfectly. I would post everything from the terminal but most of it seems
irrelevant, the only thing that seems relevant was this one line, does anyone know what it means and how to fix it?
Don't EVER assume that something in the log file is not needed. Please post the ENTIRE output to a site like pastebin.com (Ubuntu has its own pastebin site as well) and then post the URL here so others can look at the output file.

Code:
fixme:ras:RasEnumConnectionsA RAS support is not implemented! Configure program to use LAN connection/winsock instead!
This should not be causing any problems with communications.

James McKenzie

Martin Gregorie

Runes of Magic ClientUpdate.exe crash???

Post by Martin Gregorie » Fri Jan 28, 2011 2:28 pm

On Fri, 2011-01-28 at 11:57 -0600, Astrauk wrote:
I would post everything from the terminal but most of it seems
irrelevant, the only thing that seems relevant was this one line, does
anyone know what it means and how to fix it?


Code:
fixme:ras:RasEnumConnectionsA RAS support is not implemented! Configure program to use LAN connection/winsock instead!
Do what it says configure the program to use a standard TCP/IP
connection. You must already know how to do that: you did it when
setting up the Linux mail client.

Martin

Astrauk
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:27 am

Post by Astrauk » Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:07 pm

Ok here's the link to the pastebin of the entire Terminal Log.

http://pastebin.com/bGs1MMqH

danielestevez
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 11:46 am

Client Update Fixed here

Post by danielestevez » Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:36 pm

These are the steps i followed, at least the ones i remember. i was struggling with the whole problem for a while:
1) Patch manually as recommended in RoM forums: https://forum.runesofmagic.com/showthread.php?t=79267
2) After that, client is updated but clientupdate.exe still crashes so i upgraded wine to 1.3, and winetricks to last update so i could install winetricks ie7.

Game works again now!! Good luck!

Astrauk
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:27 am

Post by Astrauk » Sun Jan 30, 2011 2:45 pm

This is exactly what I have just done and I keep running into the "can't connect to servers" message.

1. Deleted wine and Runes of Magic
2. Recompiled and Reinstalled Wine (1.3.12) with CFLAGS
3. Brought fully patched Runes of Magic game files over a pc
4. Moved the Runes of Magic folder (with all the game files in it) to where the old one had been.
5. Installed vcrun2005, ie7, wininet (in that order) with winetricks.
6. Ran export DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib, export DYLD_FALLBACK_LIBRARY_PATH="/opt/X11/lib:/usr/lib", export FONTCONFIG_FILE=/usr/X11/lib/X11/fontconfig/fonts.conf, in Terminal.
7. Ran the launcher.exe with the "wine (filename).exe" command
8. Everything ran fine until I tried logging in, then it gave me the error that I mentioned in the beginning.

Here's a link to a pastebin with what was in the terminal
http://pastebin.com/UEGDsCKf

Astrauk
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:27 am

Post by Astrauk » Sun Jan 30, 2011 2:47 pm

Oh yeah, the error message also said something about a firewall possible blocking it, but I don't have a firewall up at all.

Martin Gregorie

Runes of Magic ClientUpdate.exe crash???

Post by Martin Gregorie » Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:48 pm

On Sun, 2011-01-30 at 13:47 -0600, Astrauk wrote:
Oh yeah, the error message also said something about a firewall possible blocking it, but I don't have a firewall up at all.
It may be worthwhile running ping and/or traceroute to see if those can
contact the server you're trying to log in to. both are command line
tools and have manpages. If ping doesn't get answer from the server, try
traceroute, which wilkl show where the blockage is.

NOTE that while the 'ping hostname' command is the same for Windows and
Linux, by default the Windows ping issues 3 pings and stops while the
Linux one will go on pinging until you kill it with Ctrl-C unless you
use the -c option to tell it how many pings to send.


Martin



Astrauk
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:27 am

Post by Astrauk » Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:38 pm

Ok it said there was 100% data loss when I used ping, and when I used traceroute I got this.

Code: Select all

Astrauks-MacBook-Pro:~ Astrauk$ traceroute rom-enus-srv.runewaker.com
traceroute to rom-enus-srv.runewaker.com (64.127.104.210), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
 1  192.168.224.31 (192.168.224.31)  1.442 ms  0.758 ms  0.670 ms
 2  76.33.0.1 (76.33.0.1)  6.956 ms  9.469 ms  43.974 ms
 3  gig6-1.brfdwijana-rtr3.wi.rr.com (24.160.228.12)  9.801 ms  104.909 ms  52.515 ms
 4  tge1-0-0.milwwirtco-rtr1.wi.rr.com (24.160.229.96)  8.717 ms  15.032 ms  16.324 ms
 5  tge3-0-0.chcgil3-rtr0.mwrtn.rr.com (24.160.229.77)  131.071 ms  132.033 ms  137.528 ms
 6  ae-6-0.cr0.chi30.tbone.rr.com (66.109.6.206)  126.918 ms  150.093 ms  128.617 ms
 7  ae-1-0.pr0.chi10.tbone.rr.com (66.109.6.155)  154.172 ms  125.661 ms  127.906 ms
 8  xe-10-3-0.edge2.chicago2.level3.net (4.59.28.113)  147.887 ms
    xe-10-1-0.edge2.chicago2.level3.net (4.59.28.105)  142.363 ms  147.769 ms
 9  vlan51.ebr1.chicago2.level3.net (4.69.138.158)  166.357 ms  163.056 ms  173.648 ms
10  ae-3-3.ebr2.denver1.level3.net (4.69.132.61)  73.036 ms  50.494 ms  106.316 ms
11  ae-1-100.ebr1.denver1.level3.net (4.69.132.37)  180.026 ms  174.283 ms  185.668 ms
12  ae-3-3.ebr2.sanjose1.level3.net (4.69.132.57)  412.023 ms  191.120 ms  185.051 ms
13  ae-1-6.bar2.sanfrancisco1.level3.net (4.69.140.153)  185.332 ms  181.529 ms  182.166 ms
14  ae-0-11.bar1.sanfrancisco1.level3.net (4.69.140.145)  77.351 ms  88.206 ms  60.153 ms
15  ae-4-4.car1.sanfrancisco1.level3.net (4.69.133.149)  194.303 ms  193.426 ms  192.172 ms
16  global-neto.car1.sanfrancisco1.level3.net (4.53.128.54)  188.662 ms  183.659 ms  183.854 ms
17  dvb-01.te-2-1.sfo1.gni.com (64.127.96.18)  195.123 ms  178.956 ms  183.238 ms
18  * * *
19  * * *
20  * * *
21  * * *
22  * * *
23  * * *
^C

Martin Gregorie

Runes of Magic ClientUpdate.exe crash???

Post by Martin Gregorie » Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:51 am

On Sun, 2011-01-30 at 21:38 -0600, Astrauk wrote:
Ok it said there was 100% data loss when I used ping, and when I used traceroute I got this.


Code:
Astrauks-MacBook-Pro:~ Astrauk$ traceroute rom-enus-srv.runewaker.com
traceroute to rom-enus-srv.runewaker.com (64.127.104.210), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
1 192.168.224.31 (192.168.224.31) 1.442 ms 0.758 ms 0.670 ms
2 76.33.0.1 (76.33.0.1) 6.956 ms 9.469 ms 43.974 ms
3 gig6-1.brfdwijana-rtr3.wi.rr.com (24.160.228.12) 9.801 ms 104.909 ms 52.515 ms
4 tge1-0-0.milwwirtco-rtr1.wi.rr.com (24.160.229.96) 8.717 ms 15.032 ms 16.324 ms
5 tge3-0-0.chcgil3-rtr0.mwrtn.rr.com (24.160.229.77) 131.071 ms 132.033 ms 137.528 ms
6 ae-6-0.cr0.chi30.tbone.rr.com (66.109.6.206) 126.918 ms 150.093 ms 128.617 ms
7 ae-1-0.pr0.chi10.tbone.rr.com (66.109.6.155) 154.172 ms 125.661 ms 127.906 ms
8 xe-10-3-0.edge2.chicago2.level3.net (4.59.28.113) 147.887 ms
xe-10-1-0.edge2.chicago2.level3.net (4.59.28.105) 142.363 ms 147.769 ms
9 vlan51.ebr1.chicago2.level3.net (4.69.138.158) 166.357 ms 163.056 ms 173.648 ms
10 ae-3-3.ebr2.denver1.level3.net (4.69.132.61) 73.036 ms 50.494 ms 106.316 ms
11 ae-1-100.ebr1.denver1.level3.net (4.69.132.37) 180.026 ms 174.283 ms 185.668 ms
12 ae-3-3.ebr2.sanjose1.level3.net (4.69.132.57) 412.023 ms 191.120 ms 185.051 ms
13 ae-1-6.bar2.sanfrancisco1.level3.net (4.69.140.153) 185.332 ms 181.529 ms 182.166 ms
14 ae-0-11.bar1.sanfrancisco1.level3.net (4.69.140.145) 77.351 ms 88.206 ms 60.153 ms
15 ae-4-4.car1.sanfrancisco1.level3.net (4.69.133.149) 194.303 ms 193.426 ms 192.172 ms
16 global-neto.car1.sanfrancisco1.level3.net (4.53.128.54) 188.662 ms 183.659 ms 183.854 ms
17 dvb-01.te-2-1.sfo1.gni.com (64.127.96.18) 195.123 ms 178.956 ms 183.238 ms
18 * * *
19 * * *
20 * * *
21 * * *
22 * * *
23 * * *
^C
That looks like a network problem in San Francisco to me: as you can
see, the route was OK through Chicago and Denver to San Francisco.

I'd say there's some sort of network problem at runewaker.com. Running
traceroute here gets the same result as you saw. Nmap thinks
rom-enus-srv.runewaker.com is down. It could be something flaky at
NetworkSolutions, their domain host, because another NetworkSolutions
customer (Bob Cringely, the tech. blogger) is spitting tacks at their
(lack of) competence and technical support and is in the process of
moving himself elsewhere ASAP.

The runewaker ddmin and technical contact is

Tang, John john@CHAOSFORGE.COM
3240 Woodbine Road
Orange, CA 92867
US
714-637-3932 fax: 714-637-2803

should you want to talk to them.


Martin

Astrauk
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:27 am

Post by Astrauk » Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:30 pm

Its really weird because it works perfect on the pc I used to patch it, but it doesn't want to work through wine.

Astrauk
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:27 am

Post by Astrauk » Mon Jan 31, 2011 1:49 pm

Oh yeah and thanks a lot for the help and info Martin. Also thanks everyone for all the work you did to help me try and get this working, I think I'll just leave it as is and just play on my pc when I can.

Locked