A question

Open forum for end-user questions about Wine. Before asking questions, check out the Wiki as a first step.
Forum Rules
Locked
maxmc087
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 10:59 pm

A question

Post by maxmc087 » Thu Dec 24, 2009 6:08 pm

Would it enable internet on Windows itself if I use Windows Internet through Wine?

DaVince
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 1099
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:53 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by DaVince » Thu Dec 24, 2009 9:33 pm

Wine and Windows are completely seperate, and Wine relies on Linux to make the connection. So no.

maxmc087
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 10:59 pm

so............

Post by maxmc087 » Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:35 pm

So, could I still use the internet through wine, for windows, without any trouble at all?

John Drescher

A question

Post by John Drescher » Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:39 pm

On Tue, Dec 29, 2009 at 5:35 PM, maxmc087 <wineforum-user@winehq.org> wrote:
So, could I still use the internet through wine, for windows, without any trouble at all?
Your questions do not make complete sense.

John

maxmc087
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 10:59 pm

What I mean is

Post by maxmc087 » Tue Dec 29, 2009 8:45 pm

Ok, Let me rephrase this, My original question was 'will it enable internet on windows itself through wine'. Since my answer was 'no' I'm wondering if 1) it'll be safe to use internet on windows through wine without any trouble, and 2) will wine even connect to the internet if I go on Halo Custom edition

User avatar
dimesio
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 12697
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm

Re: What I mean is

Post by dimesio » Tue Dec 29, 2009 9:28 pm

maxmc087 wrote:I'm wondering if 1) it'll be safe to use internet on windows through wine without any trouble,
This does not make sense. Wine does not run on Windows.

Now, if you're asking whether Windows apps running in Wine can connect to the internet, the answer is yes.
2) will wine even connect to the internet if I go on Halo Custom edition
Why don't you just try it and find out?

James McKenzie

A question

Post by James McKenzie » Tue Dec 29, 2009 9:39 pm

maxmc087 wrote:
Ok, Let me rephrase this, My original question was 'will it enable internet on windows itself through wine'. Since my answer was 'no' I'm wondering if 1) it'll be safe to use internet on windows through wine without any trouble,
Wine is NOT Windows. Thus this question should be asked:

Can you connect to the Internet through Wine? Yes and no. If you are
on Linux, functions like ping (echo response) may/may not work. You can
use gecko for some, but not all, HTML functionality. You can install
Firefox 3.5.5 for web browsing. If you need IE8, you are out of luck.
and 2) will wine even connect to the internet if I go on Halo Custom edition

Don't know. However, we do provide an Applications Database where you
can look for this. If it is not there, that means:

a. No one has tried,
b. Folks have tried but not entered any results.

You should not rely on the results of what others have found. If there
are no results posted, why not try and let us know what happened.

James McKenzie

DaVince
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 1099
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:53 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by DaVince » Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:49 pm

I answered 'no' because I assumed you were saying this:

"If I am able to make an internet connection in Wine, will I suddenly be able to make a connection in real Windows too?"

Since Wine's a program that's completely seperate from an OS like Windows in terms of access, it won't make any soft of difference.

If you meant something else, please, PLEASE rephrase. Most apps can connect to the internet fine under Wine if you meant that, though it depends on the completeness and compatibility of the networking libraries with Wine that seperate apps use.

doh123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 1227
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:21 pm

Post by doh123 » Wed Dec 30, 2009 9:22 pm

It sounds like the OP thinks Wine is something like VMware... that it runs Windows. It does not run Windows at all, it just runs software made for Windows without needing Windows at all.

Locked