An application don't launch

Open forum for end-user questions about Wine. Before asking questions, check out the Wiki as a first step.
Forum Rules
Locked
Thierry72
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2022 4:21 am

An application don't launch

Post by Thierry72 »

Hi,
I have installed Wine and installed "FCNX" : a Windows application you can find here https://cncfab.renaudiltis.com/telechargements.html.
The installation reached it's end without any problem : installed at the right place, link on the desktop, it can be uninstalled without any problem.
But when I try to launch it a spinning wheel appears and after 5 seconds disappears.
Long time ago I have installed this application on an old laptop with Wine 5, but I can't remember how I did.
I'm running Linux Mint 21.1 Vera
Regards
Thierry
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: An application don't launch

Post by jkfloris »

Install the Visual Basic 6 runtime with winetricks

Code: Select all

winetricks -q vb6run
Should you get a message that VB6FR.DLL cannot be found, copy the file from
~/.wine/drive_c/Program Files (x86)/FilChaudNX/ to ~/.wine/drive_c/windows/syswow64/
Thierry72
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2022 4:21 am

Re: An application don't launch

Post by Thierry72 »

It works.
Many thanks !
How did you arrive to the conclusion that I needed to install vb6run ?
Regards
Thierry
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: An application don't launch

Post by jkfloris »

When the program is started from a terminal the following message is displayed:

Code: Select all

00d8:err:module:import_dll Library MSVBVM60.DLL (which is needed by L"C:\\Program Files (x86)\\FilChaudNX\\FilChaudNX.exe") not found
00d8:err:module:LdrInitializeThunk Importing dlls for L"C:\\Program Files (x86)\\FilChaudNX\\FilChaudNX.exe" failed, status c0000135
Search the internet for msvbvm60.dll and you will find it is part of the Visual Basic 6 runtime.

(Why vb6fr.dll cannot be found is also a mystery to me.)
Thierry72
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2022 4:21 am

Re: An application don't launch

Post by Thierry72 »

Thank you for this helpful answer.
I tried to install another application GRBL Hotwire which can be downloaded here : https://rckeith.co.uk/download/grbl-hot ... tion-v5-1/
I unzipped it and tried to install it.
The installation stops after installing Microsoft Network.
The install.log shows : "bad exe file 1%".
I did "dpkg --add-architecture i386", but with no success.
Regards
Thierry
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: An application don't launch

Post by jkfloris »

Two options:
1. Don't run the installer, but the "Grbl HotWire Mega 5X 5.13.exe" file from
the "Application Files/Grbl HotWire Mega 5X 5.13_5_1_3_0 " directory.

2. The installer tries to install the .Net Framework. Install it manually with winetricks.

Code: Select all

# Make sure your winetricks is up to date
sudo winetricks --self-update
# Install .Net 4.8
winetricks -q dotnet48
Thierry72
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2022 4:21 am

Re: An application don't launch

Post by Thierry72 »

It works !
Thank you so much for your help.
Regards
Thierry

Is it possible to edit the first post in order to mark it as "Solved" ?
Thierry72
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2022 4:21 am

Re: An application don't launch

Post by Thierry72 »

Well, in fact I have not finished with this application.
I created a folder with a GRBL folder inside. I will launch the application directly from this folder.
I launched the application and tried to add it to the panel : no option.
I tried to create a link : impossible, or not found.
I tried to create a new menu element but whatever command I tried it can't be validated.
Any idea ?
Thierry
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: An application don't launch

Post by jkfloris »

You can create a .desktop file and put it in ~/.local/share/applications
For example, create the file grbl.desktop with the following content:

Code: Select all

[Desktop Entry]
Type=Application
Name=Grbl HotWire Mega
Comment=GRBL HotWire Mega 5X Windows Application v5.13
Exec=env wine start /unix "/full path to/the program/Grbl HotWire Mega 5X 5.13.exe"
Icon=/full path to/the icon/Grbl HotWire Mega 5X 5.13_5_1_3_0/5x_1_a2Y_icon.ico
Terminal=false
Thierry72
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2022 4:21 am

Re: An application don't launch

Post by Thierry72 »

Sorry to bother you again, but I'm doing something wrong but I can't understand what.
This is where I placed the application :
"/home/thierry/Applications_Windows/Grbl-HotWire-Mega-5X-Application-V5.13/Application Files/Grbl HotWire Mega 5X 5.13_5_1_3_0"
This is the .desktop file I created and placed at the right place :
Desktop Entry]
Type=Application
Name=Grbl HotWire Mega
Comment=GRBL HotWire Mega 5X Windows Application v5.13
Exec=env wine start /unix //home/thierry/Applications_Windows/Grbl-HotWire-Mega-5X-Application-V5.13/Application Files/Grbl HotWire Mega 5X 5.13_5_1_3_0/Grbl HotWire Mega 5X 5.13.exe
Icon=//home/thierry/Applications_Windows/Grbl-HotWire-Mega-5X-Application-V5.13/Application Files/Grbl HotWire Mega 5X 5.13_5_1_3_0/5x_1_a2Y_icon.ico
Terminal=false
A link appears in the menu with the right icon.
But when I try to launch the program, a window pops up saying the file can't be found.
I'm doing something wrong, but what ?
Thierry
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: An application don't launch

Post by jkfloris »

Because there are spaces in the name, the path after wine start /unix should be in quotes.

Code: Select all

[Desktop Entry]
Type=Application
Name=Grbl HotWire Mega
Comment=GRBL HotWire Mega 5X Windows Application v5.13
Exec=env wine start /unix "/home/thierry/Applications_Windows/Grbl-HotWire-Mega-5X-Application-V5.13/Application Files/Grbl HotWire Mega 5X 5.13_5_1_3_0/Grbl HotWire Mega 5X 5.13.exe"
Icon=/home/thierry/Applications_Windows/Grbl-HotWire-Mega-5X-Application-V5.13/Application Files/Grbl HotWire Mega 5X 5.13_5_1_3_0/5x_1_a2Y_icon.ico
Terminal=false
Thierry72
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2022 4:21 am

Re: An application don't launch

Post by Thierry72 »

Thank you so much for your kind help !
Now it works !
Regards
Thierry
Thierry72
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2022 4:21 am

Re: An application don't launch

Post by Thierry72 »

Well, the application is running....
However I need to connect an Arduino Mega to it.
The application only shows COM ports, and does not detect the Arduino.
What can I do ?
Regards
Thierry
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: An application don't launch

Post by jkfloris »

You can attach a USB device to a COM port.
For example to connect /dev/ttyUSB0 to COM1

Code: Select all

wine reg add 'HKLM\Software\Wine\Ports' /v COM1 /d /dev/ttyUSB0
Also, don't forget to check that you have the correct permissions.
Often the user must be a member of the dialout or plugdev group.

The Wiki has some more information.
Thierry72
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2022 4:21 am

Re: An application don't launch

Post by Thierry72 »

It works !
Many Thanks
Thierry
Locked