blitz3d app not working properly, how to get console debug output?

Questions about Wine on Linux
Locked
runechaos
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2022 11:33 am

blitz3d app not working properly, how to get console debug output?

Post by runechaos »

the app is not updating rendering calls or something, i dont know what it could be. if you look at the screenshot it will show that.

Could you help me to get this app running correctly?
Attachments
Screenshot from 2023-03-05 20-12-03.jpg
runechaos
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2022 11:33 am

Re: blitz3d app not working properly, how to get console debug output?

Post by runechaos »

im running ubuntu 18 wine version 8.0 and one of the blitz3d apps in fullscreen mode it works correctly however window mode its a black screen. the screen isn't resizable as you can see in the photo.
runechaos
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2022 11:33 am

Re: blitz3d app not working properly, how to get console debug output?

Post by runechaos »

yo, i would like to get this app working properly on my system. how do i get debug output from the console running the app so i can google fixes.

?
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: blitz3d app not working properly, how to get console debug output?

Post by jkfloris »

Open a terminal and start the program from the command line.

Code: Select all

# Go to the directory where the program is installed:
cd "${HOME}/.wine/drive_c/path/to/the/program/"
# Run the program:
wine program.exe
The WINEDEBUG variable allows you to adjust the output.

Code: Select all

# For example:
WINEDEBUG=warn+all wine program.exe
runechaos
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2022 11:33 am

Re: blitz3d app not working properly, how to get console debug output?

Post by runechaos »

jkfloris wrote: Tue Mar 14, 2023 10:56 am Open a terminal and start the program from the command line.

Code: Select all

# Go to the directory where the program is installed:
cd "${HOME}/.wine/drive_c/path/to/the/program/"
# Run the program:
wine program.exe
The WINEDEBUG variable allows you to adjust the output.

Code: Select all

# For example:
WINEDEBUG=warn+all wine program.exe
okay thank you i appreciate it.
runechaos
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2022 11:33 am

Re: blitz3d app not working properly, how to get console debug output?

Post by runechaos »

jkfloris wrote: Tue Mar 14, 2023 10:56 am Open a terminal and start the program from the command line.

Code: Select all

# Go to the directory where the program is installed:
cd "${HOME}/.wine/drive_c/path/to/the/program/"
# Run the program:
wine program.exe
The WINEDEBUG variable allows you to adjust the output.

Code: Select all

# For example
WINEDEBUG=warn+all wine program.exe
is there a way to save output to a text file? the terminal doesnt save all of the output when i scroll back to see it it is behind and does not scroll back that far. EDIT: nevermind that is an ubuntu issue i were able to find a way to do that.
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: blitz3d app not working properly, how to get console debug output?

Post by jkfloris »

is there a way to save output to a text file?
For other people who also want to know the answer:

Code: Select all

WINEDEBUG=warn+all wine program.exe >> log.txt 2>&1
runechaos
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2022 11:33 am

Re: blitz3d app not working properly, how to get console debug output?

Post by runechaos »

thank you. the output is 26 megabytes. I've added an attachment what the window looks like after opening. it uses directx7 and was made for windows xp.

it runs successfully on windows 10.

i think maybe one of the frameworks isnt compatible.
Attachments
Screenshot from 2023-05-05 15-35-12.jpg
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: blitz3d app not working properly, how to get console debug output?

Post by jkfloris »

the output is 26 megabytes
You can compress a log file:

Code: Select all

tar -czf log.tar.gz log.txt
Probably it will be small enough to upload the file here.

Often it is not necessary to turn on additional WINEDEBUG channels to see what is going wrong.
It is likely that the log file already contains enough information:

Code: Select all

wine program.exe >> log.txt 2>&1
# If necessary, compress the file
tar -czf log.tar.gz log.txt
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: blitz3d app not working properly, how to get console debug output?

Post by jkfloris »

Should the output only contain something like:

Code: Select all

00e0:fixme:ntdll:NtQuerySystemInformation info_class SYSTEM_PERFORMANCE_INFORMATION
00e0:fixme:imm:ImeSetActiveContext (00010054, 1): stub
00e0:fixme:imm:ImmReleaseContext (00010052, 00010054): stub
00e8:fixme:imm:ImeSetActiveContext (0000000000010026, 0): stub
00e8:fixme:imm:ImmReleaseContext (0000000000010020, 0000000000010026): stub
00e0:fixme:ddraw:ddraw7_WaitForVerticalBlank iface 00476AE8, flags 0x1, event 00000000 stub!
00e0:fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (062773FC) stub
Try disabling "Allow the window manager to decorate the windows" in winecfg, Graphics
runechaos
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2022 11:33 am

Re: blitz3d app not working properly, how to get console debug output?

Post by runechaos »

007c:fixme:hid:handle_IRP_MN_QUERY_ID Unhandled type 00000005
007c:fixme:hid:handle_IRP_MN_QUERY_ID Unhandled type 00000005
007c:fixme:hid:handle_IRP_MN_QUERY_ID Unhandled type 00000005
007c:fixme:hid:handle_IRP_MN_QUERY_ID Unhandled type 00000005
0024:err:vulkan:wine_vk_init Failed to load libvulkan.so.1.
0024:fixme:ntdll:NtQuerySystemInformation info_class SYSTEM_PERFORMANCE_INFORMATION
0084:fixme:imm:ImeSetActiveContext (0000000000010026, 0): stub
0084:fixme:imm:ImmReleaseContext (0000000000010020, 0000000000010026): stub
0024:fixme:imm:ImeSetActiveContext (00020046, 1): stub
0024:fixme:imm:ImmReleaseContext (0002004A, 00020046): stub
0024:fixme:ddraw:ddraw7_WaitForVerticalBlank iface 00464FB8, flags 0x1, event 00000000 stub!
012c:fixme:d3d:state_linepattern_w Setting line patterns is not supported in OpenGL core contexts.
0024:fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (062C73FC) stub

this is the output.
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: blitz3d app not working properly, how to get console debug output?

Post by jkfloris »

Does it make any difference if you disable "Allow the window manager to decorate the windows" in winecfg, Graphics ?
runechaos
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2022 11:33 am

Re: blitz3d app not working properly, how to get console debug output?

Post by runechaos »

jkfloris wrote: Sat May 06, 2023 1:48 pm Does it make any difference if you disable "Allow the window manager to decorate the windows" in winecfg, Graphics ?
yes, the application is working now thank you. the app compiled by blitz3d isnt fully functional but its working.
runechaos
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2022 11:33 am

Re: blitz3d app not working properly, how to get console debug output?

Post by runechaos »

so it is functioning now when i opened it with the terminal however the bloom effects is bugged, essentially its a game app im running.

also
wine Client.exe
03cc:err:vulkan:wine_vk_init Failed to load libvulkan.so.1.
03cc:fixme:ntdll:NtQuerySystemInformation info_class SYSTEM_PERFORMANCE_INFORMATION
03cc:fixme:imm:ImeSetActiveContext (000500E6, 1): stub
03cc:fixme:imm:ImmReleaseContext (000500EC, 000500E6): stub
0400:fixme:d3d:state_linepattern_w Setting line patterns is not supported in OpenGL core contexts.
03cc:fixme:ddraw:ddraw7_WaitForVerticalBlank iface 00464FD0, flags 0x1, event 00000000 stub!
03cc:fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (06C973FC) stub
Attachments
Screenshot from 2023-05-06 19-22-17.jpg
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: blitz3d app not working properly, how to get console debug output?

Post by jkfloris »

Maybe it is the same program, but I can reproduce the problems with this program.

Unfortunately, I don't know a solution for the wrong bloom effect.
You can file a bug here.
Locked