force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Questions about Wine on Linux
Locked
ovisergiu
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 3:18 am

force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Post by ovisergiu »

Hello!
Linux Mint 20 x64 Cinnamon
wine-5.13 (Staging)

I successfully installed Hobbyware Pattern Maker for Cross Stitch.
Inside this program, there is this setting that appears in inches.
I know this software for years and it does not have any setting to choose from metric or imperial.
In Windows, this software borrows Windows' settings as you can see here:
Image
Or:
Image
I set my Mint this way:
Language: English (Canada) (someone on another forum told me Canada uses metric system)
Region: Romania
Time format: Romania

Could you please help me to have this software using metric and not inches?
This one below shows inches under Wine:
Image
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Post by jkfloris »

Does Pattern Maker get it when you change the registry?

Code: Select all

wine regedit
Go to: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\International
Change the iMeasure value (0 = Metric, 1 = U.S)
ovisergiu
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 3:18 am

Re: force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Post by ovisergiu »

jkfloris wrote: Sun Jul 26, 2020 5:52 am Does Pattern Maker get it when you change the registry?

Code: Select all

wine regedit
Go to: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\International
Change the iMeasure value (0 = Metric, 1 = U.S)
Hi, thank you replying, but there was already 0 value... I even changed it to 1 and then changed it back to 0 but that did not changed the metric display in my software.
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Post by jkfloris »

Inside this program, there is this setting that appears in inches.
Where in the program can I find this option? Or does it happen throughout the program?
As in for example: File → Preferences → Advanced
ovisergiu
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 3:18 am

Re: force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Post by ovisergiu »

Where in the program can I find this option? Or does it happen throughout the program?
As in for example: File → Preferences → Advanced
In Pattern Maker for Cross Stitch having an project open, you click Palette - Usage Summary - Skein information - and there you see the „inches”.
I repeat, there is NO WHERE in the program you can set inches or metric. In Windows it borrows the Windows settings as shown in my previous posts.
ovisergiu
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 3:18 am

Re: force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Post by ovisergiu »

Does anyone have another suggestion?
I could not solve this...
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Post by jkfloris »

The free Pattern Maker Viewer has the same issue. (Open a pattern → View → Information)
You can file a bug here: https://bugs.winehq.org/
ovisergiu
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 3:18 am

Re: force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Post by ovisergiu »

jkfloris wrote: Sun Aug 02, 2020 7:30 am The free Pattern Maker Viewer has the same issue. (Open a pattern → View → Information)
You can file a bug here: https://bugs.winehq.org/
Thank you for confirming this.
I files a bug. :shock:
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Post by jkfloris »

Please share the bug number here. If someone has the same problem in the future, all information is easy to find.
ovisergiu
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 3:18 am

Re: force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Post by ovisergiu »

Of course, here it is:
https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=49653

Someone asked me there for a console log but I do not what how to find that...
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Post by jkfloris »

To get the console log run:

Code: Select all

cd /path/to/Pattern Maker for cross stitch/program_v4
WINEDEBUG=+nls wine pmaker.exe >> pmaker_nls.log 2>&1
If the log is to big you could compress it.
ovisergiu
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 3:18 am

Re: force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Post by ovisergiu »

Where do I do wrong?

Code: Select all

cd /home/oks/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/HobbyWare/Pattern Maker for cross stitch/program_v4
bash: cd: too many arguments
spoon0042
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 570
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 11:00 am

Re: force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Post by spoon0042 »

If that's the actual path you can put it in quotes: cd "blah blah"

Alternatively your shell most likely has tab completion, type the first few characters and hit tab. Magic. ;)
ovisergiu
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 3:18 am

Re: force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Post by ovisergiu »

So, after putting the magic quotes (the simple ones, not the double ones):

Code: Select all

oks@oks:~$ cd '/home/oks/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/HobbyWare/Pattern Maker for cross stitch/program_v4'
After hitting Enter, I got this colored in blue:
oks@oks:~/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/HobbyWare/Pattern Maker for cross stitch/program_v4$[/code]
So I pasted the:

Code: Select all

WINEDEBUG=+nls wine pmaker.exe >> pmaker_nls.log 2>&1
And now in that folder I could find the `pamker_nls.log` file.
I will attach it here and in the bug forum. (can't seem to attach it, it says wrong extension name even after I pasted in a txt file)
Is it ok what I did?
spoon0042
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 570
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 11:00 am

Re: force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Post by spoon0042 »

Looks good, the attachment posted to the bug report. Hopefully someone will be able to help you with that. You should get an email if anyone comments, and they may ask for further info or, hopefully again, something to try. Good luck. :)
User avatar
DarkShadow44
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 1207
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 5:39 pm

Re: force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Post by DarkShadow44 »

Bug is fixed in wine git.
ovisergiu
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 3:18 am

Re: force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Post by ovisergiu »

Thank you so very much!
I admire your dedication and your work.
ovisergiu
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 3:18 am

Re: force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Post by ovisergiu »

Hello, me again, with the same issue.
- I reinstalled Linux Mint 20 x64 Cinnamon after erasing all my hard disk.
- I installed Wine Stable this time (wine --version under Terminal lists wine-5.0.3)

The inch displaying in my cross stitch software is back, and in the bug I files, they said it was fixed, and I could confirm they fixed that but back then I was using wine-stagging.
What should I do to have the metric measurements displayed in the software instead of imperial?
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Post by jkfloris »

- I installed Wine Stable this time (wine --version under Terminal lists wine-5.0.3)
The bug is fixed since version 5.15 and isn't in Wine stable.
Can you retry the program in (the almost new stable) Wine 6.0-rc5?
ovisergiu
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 3:18 am

Re: force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Post by ovisergiu »

Hi, jkfloris, and thank you for replying.
You mean I have to install Wine 6.0-rc5? If yes, I really do not know how to do that.
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Post by jkfloris »

If you've added the WineHQ repository, you can install the winehq-devel package.
This will remove the older Wine package and install version 6.0-rc5

Code: Select all

sudo apt install --install-recommends winehq-devel
sudo apt autoremove --purge
If you want to keep Wine 5.0 you can install version 6.0-rc5 alongside
It is recommended that applications being run with different Wine versions be installed into separate wineprefixes.

Code: Select all

sudo apt install --install-recommends wine-devel wine-devel-amd64 wine-devel-i386:i386
--- Example ---
 WINEPREFIX=/path/to/pmaker/prefix /opt/wine-devel/bin/wine pmaker-installer.exe
 WINEPREFIX=/path/to/pmaker/prefix /opt/wine-devel/bin/wine pmaker.exe
ovisergiu
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 3:18 am

Re: force a software to use METRIC and not INCHES

Post by ovisergiu »

I am afraid to do that, since I used the „stagging” package until 2 months ago, and after an update, the new stagging version ruined all my Wine software.
The installing alongside seems interesting but I will wait for the new stable release of Wine to see if they solved that.
Meanwhile I will use the program in inches.
jkfloris, thank you very much again for helping me. I really appreciate it!
Locked