Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Questions about Wine on Linux
Locked
MisterLayne
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 2:02 pm

Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Post by MisterLayne »

I'm trying to run this TyranoBuilder-based game, but everytime I load it with wine, it gets stuck!

Here is a picture of the game (files):
https://prnt.sc/nx5ft6
https://prnt.sc/nx5gn8

Here's the command and what outputs:
https://pastebin.com/mPzaNMUw
qwertymnb
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 236
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 4:36 pm

Re: Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Post by qwertymnb »

Hi, that`s probably bug https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=44985

Things you might try:

WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 WINEDLLOVERRIDES=libglesv2.dll=d wine TeachingFeeling.exe

WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 wine TeachingFeeling.exe --disable-gpu

WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 wine TeachingFeeling.exe --no-sandbox

WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 wine TeachingFeeling.exe --single-process

Or any combination of the above, use trial and error! Could you let us know if it works?
MisterLayne
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 2:02 pm

Re: Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Post by MisterLayne »

qwertymnb wrote:Hi, that`s probably bug https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=44985

Things you might try:

WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 WINEDLLOVERRIDES=libglesv2.dll=d wine TeachingFeeling.exe

WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 wine TeachingFeeling.exe --disable-gpu

WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 wine TeachingFeeling.exe --no-sandbox

WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 wine TeachingFeeling.exe --single-process

Or any combination of the above, use trial and error! Could you let us know if it works?
Here's what I got:

Doesn't Work:
WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 WINEDLLOVERRIDES=libglesv2.dll=d wine TeachingFeeling.exe
WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 wine TeachingFeeling.exe --disable-gpu
WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 wine TeachingFeeling.exe --no-sandbox
WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 wine TeachingFeeling.exe --single-process
WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 wine TeachingFeeling.exe // default command
WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 WINEDLLOVERRIDES=libglesv2.dll=d wine TeachingFeeling.exe --disable-gpu
WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 WINEDLLOVERRIDES=libglesv2.dll=d wine TeachingFeeling.exe --disable-gpu --no-sandbox
WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine WINEARCH=win32 WINEDLLOVERRIDES=libglesv2.dll=d wine TeachingFeeling.exe --disable-gpu --no-sandbox --single-process

Does Work:

Nothing so far.

I'm assuming that running it on 32bit shouldn't affect anything- but none of those solutions work right now :/
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Post by jkfloris »

Could you copy the "Life With A Slave - Teaching Feeling" directory inside the _prefix32_wine Wineprefix and try the dll override option again?
MisterLayne
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 2:02 pm

Re: Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Post by MisterLayne »

jkfloris wrote:Could you copy the "Life With A Slave - Teaching Feeling" directory inside the _prefix32_wine Wineprefix and try the dll override option again?
https://prnt.sc/ny11pk
Just tried that, and with no luck. Assuming I did it right, but I'm not sure.
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Post by jkfloris »

One part of your screenshot shows a directory inside the wineprefix

Code: Select all

~/_prefix32_wine/drive_c/Program Files/Life With A Slave - Teaching Feeling
But in the terminal you are outside the prefix

Code: Select all

~/Desktop/Games/Life With A Slave - Teaching Feeling
Could you try:

Code: Select all

cd "~/_prefix32_wine/drive_c/Program Files/Life With A Slave - Teaching Feeling"
WINEDLLOVERRIDES=libglesv2.dll=d WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine wine TeachingFeeling.exe
MisterLayne
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 2:02 pm

Re: Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Post by MisterLayne »

jkfloris wrote:One part of your screenshot shows a directory inside the wineprefix

Code: Select all

~/_prefix32_wine/drive_c/Program Files/Life With A Slave - Teaching Feeling
But in the terminal you are outside the prefix

Code: Select all

~/Desktop/Games/Life With A Slave - Teaching Feeling
Could you try:

Code: Select all

cd "~/_prefix32_wine/drive_c/Program Files/Life With A Slave - Teaching Feeling"
WINEDLLOVERRIDES=libglesv2.dll=d WINEPREFIX=~/_prefix32_wine wine TeachingFeeling.exe
Ah, I see. Well, I just tried that, and no luck there, either.
Here is the URL for the output from that in case it helps at all.
qwertymnb
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 236
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 4:36 pm

Re: Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Post by qwertymnb »

If nothing works then might not be related to bug https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=44985

Last thing I to try/question: did you already do something like ``winetricks arial`` or ``winetricks corefonts``?
MisterLayne
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 2:02 pm

Re: Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Post by MisterLayne »

Problem fixed! Here's what I did:

$ WINEPREFIX=~/prefix_name WINEARCH=win32 winetricks
> select the default wineprefix
> install a font
> select every font you can find
$ cp -r "/location/to/game/" "/prefix_name/drive_c/Program Files/"
$ cd "/prefix_name/drive_c/Program Files/game"
$ WINEPREFIX=~/prefix_name WINEARCH=win32 wine game.exe
Profit.

Thank you all so much for the help- it turns out all you need is the fonts. haha.
User avatar
Bob Wya
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3068
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm

Re: Can't Use TyranoBuilder Game

Post by Bob Wya »

ohcmonrest wrote: Thu Jan 14, 2021 6:04 am ...
What do You mean by this? I've got the wine configuration panel open but I don't know where to go from there? How do I select the default wineprefix?
@ohcmonrest

The default WINEPREFIX is:

Code: Select all

${HOME}/.wine
- by definition you do not need to select it!
See: WineHQ FAQ: 6.5 Wineprefixes.

You typically only need to add the core MS fonts package, using:

Code: Select all

winetricks corefonts
- if these are installed globally on your system (i.e. as a native Linux package).

It's probably overkill to install all the fonts winetricks supports, e.g. with:

Code: Select all

winetricks allfonts
Bob
Locked