TurboActivate.exe Network Adapters disabled

Questions about Wine on Linux
Post Reply
toadic6
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 3:51 pm

TurboActivate.exe Network Adapters disabled

Post by toadic6 » Fri May 17, 2019 4:06 pm

Dear all,

I recently moved towards Linux in my working computer. This is my first post and I hope to be as clear as possible

Distro: Ubuntu 18.04.2 LTS
Wine version: wine-4.0.1

I am trying to run a commercial software that requires a license. The installation .exe runs fine.
However, when running the application .exe, the TurboActivate gives some issues.

Code output:

Code: Select all

$ wine64 TurboActivate.exe 
002a:fixme:ver:GetCurrentPackageId (0x33e518 (nil)): stub
002a:fixme:wbemprox:wbem_locator_ConnectServer unsupported flags
002a:fixme:wbemprox:client_security_SetBlanket 0x7c3ff938, 0x15c9c0, 10, 0, (null), 3, 3, (nil), 0x00000000
002a:fixme:wbemprox:client_security_Release 0x7c3ff938
The following window pops-up:
Image

I check my Network Adapters in the console:

Code: Select all

$ ifconfig -a
anbox0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.250.1  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 0.0.0.0
        inet6 fe80::4022:60ff:feef:bf76  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 42:22:60:ef:bf:76  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 99  bytes 11606 (11.6 KB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

enp0s31f6: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 84:7b:eb:40:5e:07  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
        device interrupt 16  memory 0xe1200000-e1220000  

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1000  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 4198  bytes 399642 (399.6 KB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 4198  bytes 399642 (399.6 KB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

virbr0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.122.1  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.122.255
        ether 52:54:00:7b:70:23  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

virbr0-nic: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 52:54:00:7b:70:23  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

wlp1s0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.1.102  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.1.255
        inet6 fe80::d0c6:7378:e4de:25f0  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether f0:d5:bf:83:2b:56  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 173371  bytes 241358687 (241.3 MB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 29902  bytes 4552908 (4.5 MB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
They all seem to be up...
It is not very clear to me the cause of the problem

Any hints?

Thank you in advance

User avatar
DarkShadow44
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 941
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 5:39 pm

Re: TurboActivate.exe Network Adapters disabled

Post by DarkShadow44 » Sat May 18, 2019 7:24 am

Can you link the software? What does it do? There's probably not a free demo?

toadic6
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 3:51 pm

Re: TurboActivate.exe Network Adapters disabled

Post by toadic6 » Mon May 20, 2019 1:25 am

The software is called EED and it is used for engineering design, but unfortunately I am not aware of a free demo version.
It also does not work on virtual machine.

User avatar
DarkShadow44
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 941
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 5:39 pm

Re: TurboActivate.exe Network Adapters disabled

Post by DarkShadow44 » Mon May 20, 2019 11:43 am

It doesn't work on a Win7 / Win10 VM either? But on a real Windows install it works?

jkfloris
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 695
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: TurboActivate.exe Network Adapters disabled

Post by jkfloris » Tue May 21, 2019 2:57 am

It doesn't work on a Win7 / Win10 VM either?
TurboActivate makes a fingerprint of the hardware and use this as a key to activate the software. It has some protection to detect a VM.

@toadic6
Is it possible to use a Linux version of TurboActivate to activate the TurboActivate.dat file?

toadic6
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 3:51 pm

Re: TurboActivate.exe Network Adapters disabled

Post by toadic6 » Tue May 21, 2019 3:38 am

jkfloris wrote:
It doesn't work on a Win7 / Win10 VM either?
TurboActivate makes a fingerprint of the hardware and use this as a key to activate the software. It has some protection to detect a VM.

@toadic6
Is it possible to use a Linux version of TurboActivate to activate the TurboActivate.dat file?
@jkfloris Sounds like something to try, but I have no idea how to do that... I will have a look at https://wyday.com/limelm/help/using-tur ... -on-linux/

Post Reply