Modern high resolution with macOS

Questions about Wine on macOS.
Locked
michele
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 8:04 am

Modern high resolution with macOS

Post by michele »

Hello folks,

I have a question similar to topic #29519 -- "Wine in high resolution / 4K display ?"; I make a new topic as that one hasn't been answered since 2017 and has actually been locked.

I run macOS High Sierra 10.136, with XQuartz and Wine 3.0.4 stable. Enterprise Architect runs fine on it, but with terrible resolution, like a video game from the '80s. See image attached.

What is the expected resolution I should expect? Can I workaround this problem?

Thanks!
michele
Attachments
Wine 3.0.4 on macOS 4K with awful display resolution
Wine 3.0.4 on macOS 4K with awful display resolution
Gcenx
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 709
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 12:11 pm

Re: Modern high resolution with macOS

Post by Gcenx »

Yes that feature was added in wine2.0

Code: Select all

- The macOS graphics driver supports a high-resolution ("Retina")
  rendering mode. It can be enabled by setting "RetinaMode" to "Y"
  under HKCU\Software\Wine\Mac Driver.
But once thats enabled your gonna want to change the DPI :lol:
michele
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 8:04 am

Re: Modern high resolution with macOS -- 4K display

Post by michele »

How does that work exactly? Here's what I did:
  • launched Wine Stable
  • from wine terminal, launched

    Code: Select all

    regedit
    , reached

    Code: Select all

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ Software \ Wine \ Mac Driver
  • in there I found extra directory

    Code: Select all

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Wine\Mac Driver\Initial Display Mode\Display 0x00000002
    containing the settings in the image1 below
  • I added a new Key named "RetinaMode" with value "Y" both in that directory, as well as in "Mac Driver". I notice that when I restart wine, key RetinaMode is lost from "Mac Driver \ Initial Display Mode \ Display 0x0..2". It stays under "Mac Driver" instead.
  • I restarted Enterprise Architect; resolution is unchanged
  • I opened

    Code: Select all

    winecfg
    , reached

    Code: Select all

    Graphics
    and set dpi to 196; restarted Enterprise Architect, and resolution is unchanged, except text is now huge (image3).
Any help is appreciated :)
Attachments
settings under "Mac Driver"
settings under "Mac Driver"
settings in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Wine\Mac Driver\Initial Display Mode\Display 0x00000002
settings in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Wine\Mac Driver\Initial Display Mode\Display 0x00000002
Gcenx
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 709
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 12:11 pm

Re: Modern high resolution with macOS -- 4K display

Post by Gcenx »

michele wrote:How does that work exactly? Here's what I did:
  • launched Wine Stable
  • from wine terminal, launched

    Code: Select all

    regedit
    , reached

    Code: Select all

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ Software \ Wine \ Mac Driver
  • in there I found extra directory

    Code: Select all

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Wine\Mac Driver\Initial Display Mode\Display 0x00000002
    containing the settings in the image1 below
  • I added a new Key named "RetinaMode" with value "Y" both in that directory, as well as in "Mac Driver". I notice that when I restart wine, key RetinaMode is lost from "Mac Driver \ Initial Display Mode \ Display 0x0..2". It stays under "Mac Driver" instead.
  • I restarted Enterprise Architect; resolution is unchanged
  • I opened

    Code: Select all

    winecfg
    , reached

    Code: Select all

    Graphics
    and set dpi to 196; restarted Enterprise Architect, and resolution is unchanged, except text is now huge (image3).
Any help is appreciated :)

Code: Select all

HKCU\Software\Wine\Mac Driver
Does not mean Local Machine, its HKEY_CURRENT_USER
Locked