WineHQ
Wine Forums

Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help




 Page 1 of 2 [ 49 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next



 
Author Message
 Post subject: Help with Fluenz on wine
 Post Posted: Mon Dec 31, 2018 12:26 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:03 am
Posts: 34
I switched to linux and there is no native linux app for Fluenz language program.

I installed my dvd to wine and it loads fine but I have to login to connect first before the lessons are available.

It says "No Internet? It appears you are not connected to internet. You need to be online to continue. Come back when you are up and running."

Image

All my other Internet programs are working in wine, so I'm not sure how to get it working.

Is there any way to check a log or debug information to see what it needs? I am fairly new to wine so sorry about my lack of knowledge.

I do see a lot of libraries in the installation directory.

Image

Does wine automatically use these or do I need to move them to another directory? Most of them are QT5 libraries. Is there a way to install QT5 support?

Thanks for any help you can offer.


Top 
 Post Posted: Mon Dec 31, 2018 12:55 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:03 am
Posts: 34
Found out how to activate logging in Fluenz itself and here is a section of the log which may explain why the network connection is not working.

Can any gurus interpret this logging output for me?

Code:
31-12-2018 12:51:01.560] [Debug] {default} initialize()
[31-12-2018 12:51:01.589] [Debug] {default} "Recording with: Pulseaudio"
[31-12-2018 12:51:01.590] [Debug] {default} "Playing with: Pulseaudio"
[31-12-2018 12:51:01.590] [Debug] {default} Recording config:  "1"  channel,  "16"  bit,  "44100"  Hz
[31-12-2018 12:51:01.591] [Debug] {default} FileManager created for: [ "C:/Program Files (x86)/Fluenz/bin/Resources/fluUserData/0" ]
[31-12-2018 12:51:01.592] [Debug] {default} QObject::connect: No such signal QNetworkAccessManager::sslErrors(QNetworkReply, const QList<QSslError> & )
[31-12-2018 12:51:01.630] [Debug] {default} QSslSocket::supportsSsl(): [ true ]
[31-12-2018 12:51:01.630] [Debug] {default} Starting with [ "C:/Program Files (x86)/Fluenz/bin/Resources/core/indexDesk.html" ]
[31-12-2018 12:51:01.631] [Debug] {default} pageLoadFinished false
[31-12-2018 12:51:01.632] [Debug] {default} [ false ]  QUrl( "qrc:/resources/page.html" )
[31-12-2018 12:51:01.634] [Debug] {default}  QUrl( "file:///C:/Program Files (x86)/Fluenz/bin/Resources/core/indexDesk.html" )


Top 
 Post Posted: Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:23 am 
Offline
Level 6
Level 6
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 5:39 pm
Posts: 723
What wine version are you running?
A wine log would be more useful, I guess.
Is there a free trial?

Quote:
Does wine automatically use these or do I need to move them to another directory? Most of them are QT5 libraries. Is there a way to install QT5 support?

There is nothing you need to do here.


Top 
 Post Posted: Tue Jan 01, 2019 9:44 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:03 am
Posts: 34
Hello and thanks for the reply. I am using wine-stable 3.0.1ubuntu1 from the Linux Lite 4.2 distro.

There is no trial that I am aware of but here is the install iso. It installs fine, but cannot connect to the Internet to validate login credentials. Without credentials it can't be used any further so it's not a problem to post it and anyway the problem is before that anyway.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ns22cbt104jec2v/Fluenz.iso?dl=1

Also, here is the log and debug trace for the Fluenz program. Thanks for the help!

https://www.dropbox.com/s/3t0zlz44s8r3sbw/wine_fluenz_log.zip?dl=1
https://www.dropbox.com/s/m6vifc9sf1ayw4k/wine_fluenz_debug_trace.zip?dl=1


Top 
 Post Posted: Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:55 pm 
Offline
Level 6
Level 6
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 5:39 pm
Posts: 723
I get the exact same issue on my windows machine. I'm afraid I can't help here, since there is no visible wine error.


Top 
 Post Posted: Tue Jan 01, 2019 11:55 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:03 am
Posts: 34
Do you mean a native Windows machine? It does require Windows 10. It works perfectly on my Windows 10 drive. It is only under Wine on my new Linux installation that it doesn't connect. I have wine configured to run this app as Windows 10, but no luck.


Top 
 Post Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 1:40 pm 
Offline
Level 6
Level 6
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 5:39 pm
Posts: 723
Ok, it works on my Win10 machine. It never said it requires Win10, so I used by Win7 machine - where it does not work. It appears to use some Win10 functions, please open a bugreport for this issue if there is none yet.


Top 
 Post Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 3:07 pm 
Offline
Level 6
Level 6
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 5:39 pm
Posts: 723
Created a bugreport here: https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=46402

Also mentioned a workaround, in dns_do_query you can force res_query to always use T_A as DNS type.


Top 
 Post Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:39 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:03 am
Posts: 34
DarkShadow44 wrote:
Created a bugreport here: https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=46402

Also mentioned a workaround, in dns_do_query you can force res_query to always use T_A as DNS type.


Oh thanks for the workaround. How do I set the dns_do_query to force res_query to always use T_A? Could you give me the steps to do that?


Top 
 Post Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:47 pm 
Offline
Level 6
Level 6
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 5:39 pm
Posts: 723
Do you know how to build Wine from source? You need to for the workaround, I attached a patch at the bugreport.


Top 
 Post Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:49 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:03 am
Posts: 34
DarkShadow44 wrote:
Do you know how to build Wine from source? You need to for the workaround, I attached a patch at the bugreport.


No, I've never built it.


Top 
 Post Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:53 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:03 am
Posts: 34
Does it matter which source version I compile to patch? I don't see a source download in my package manager so I assume must download from somewhere. My distro Linux Lite has 3.0.1ubuntu1.


Top 
 Post Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 11:12 pm 
Offline
Level 6
Level 6
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 5:39 pm
Posts: 723
For info on how to build wine, see https://wiki.winehq.org/Building_Wine. A simple 32bit build is fine.


Top 
 Post Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 11:16 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:03 am
Posts: 34
Could you send me a binary with the changes? I am not too good with compiling programs. I can send you a paypal donation for your work.


Top 
 Post Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 11:28 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:03 am
Posts: 34
Following the wiki I downloaded the source from git, but when I run the dependency check
Code:
./configure --options


I get
Code:
./configure --options
configure: error: unrecognized option: `--options'
Try `./configure --help' for more information


So I ran ./configure by itself and get:
Code:
./configure
checking build system type... x86_64-pc-linux-gnu
checking host system type... x86_64-pc-linux-gnu
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking for gcc... gcc
checking whether the C compiler works... yes
checking for C compiler default output file name... a.out
checking for suffix of executables...
checking whether we are cross compiling... no
checking for suffix of object files... o
checking whether we are using the GNU C compiler... yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
checking for gcc option to accept ISO C89... none needed
checking for g++... g++
checking whether we are using the GNU C++ compiler... yes
checking whether g++ accepts -g... yes
checking for cpp... cpp
checking for ld... ld
checking whether gcc -m32 works... no
configure: error: Cannot build a 32-bit program, you need to install 32-bit development libraries.


What are the libraries I need to install. Searching for 32-bit in the package manager lists dozens of selections. Thanks for your help!


Top 
 Post Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 11:32 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:03 am
Posts: 34
installed libc6-dev-i386 and it moved configure past the error.

But then I get:
Quote:
configure: error: X 32-bit development files not found. Wine will be built
without X support, which probably isn't what you want. You will need
to install 32-bit development packages of Xlib at the very least.
Use the --without-x option if you really want this.


Can find a package for 32-bit Xlib in my distro. Any suggestions?


Top 
 Post Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 11:45 pm 
Offline
Level 6
Level 6
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 5:39 pm
Posts: 723
Attaching a binary to work around the issue.
Just drop the dll inside the zip into ".wine/drive_c/Program Files (x86)/Fluenz/bin/", or wherever you installed it. Should fix the issue just like that.
Let me know if it works.


Attachments:
dnsapi.zip [4.65 KiB]
Downloaded 11 times
Top 
 Post Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 11:56 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:03 am
Posts: 34
Thanks, but it still says not connected to internet.


Top 
 Post Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 12:02 am 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:03 am
Posts: 34
I copied to drive_c\windows\system32 also but no luck. I went to winecfg to add an override for the dll for Fluenz and tried all options but no luck.


Top 
 Post Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 12:05 am 
Offline
Level 6
Level 6
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 5:39 pm
Posts: 723
You put the dnsapi.dll right next to Fluenz.exe ?
Can you try to update to wine-3.21 and check again? Because 3.0.1 doesn't work for me either.


Top 
 Post Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 1:08 am 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:03 am
Posts: 34
Yes, I will try that. Thanks again.


Top 
 Post Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 12:39 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:03 am
Posts: 34
Ok I followed the instructions here: https://wiki.winehq.org/Ubuntu for Ubuntu 18.04 and set it up with
Code:
sudo apt install --install-recommends winehq-staging
which installed wine-4.0-rc4 (Staging). Is that ok? I couldn't find a way to make it install wine-3.21.

I set my wine prefix and arch with:
Code:
WINEPREFIX=~/.wine WINEARCH="win64" winecfg
and installed wine-mono when it asked.

I used
Code:
wine control
and it listed wine-gecko (32-bit) 2.47 under programs so I manually installed the 64-bit version with
Code:
wine msiexec -i ./wine_gecko-2.47-x86_64.msi
.

Then I mounted the Fluenz.iso and installed it. Before running I copied over your dnsapi.dll to the Fluenz install directory. Now I could login!

However 2 problems. When the program is run and I log in, it prompts for an update to the program. It starts to download and the progress bar gets about 90% done and then the program closes. Here is the debug log for this problem.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/iuuqr1j5b3qu0lc/fluenz_update.log?dl=1

Image

Next, if I skip the update, I can choose a lesson. It downloads the lesson fine, but when I select it to view the media it says:
Quote:
The video could not be loaded, either because the server or network failed or because the format is not supported


Here is the debug log for this problem.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/xz4jncihm2a1ef8/fluenz_video_could_not_be_loaded.log?dl=1

Image

I also tried all the steps above with a clean win32 prefix and had the same results. Thanks for you help with this.


Top 
 Post Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 12:53 pm 
Offline
Level 6
Level 6
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 5:39 pm
Posts: 723
timbuck2 wrote:
wine-4.0-rc4 (Staging). Is that ok? I couldn't find a way to make it install wine-3.21.

Sure, good enough.

For the update, you could try making a win32 WINEPREFIX and running "winetricks -q ie8".
For the video, this is probably due to mfplat.dll. You could try a native dll from a win7 machine, but not sure how that would work out... I can't test since I don't have an account.


Top 
 Post Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 1:41 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:03 am
Posts: 34
Ok, I will try that about ie8.

It does require windows10. Should I get the mfplat.dll from there or windows7? I have both native operating systems on my machine alongside linux.


Top 
 Post Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 1:50 pm 
Offline
Level 6
Level 6
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 5:39 pm
Posts: 723
You can try, but not sure if that just works.


Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
 Page 1 of 2 [ 49 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next




Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 15 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: