VB6 app running using wine

Open forum for end-user questions about Wine. Before asking questions, check out the Wiki as a first step.
Forum Rules
Locked
Nightmare
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 3:17 am

VB6 app running using wine

Post by Nightmare »

Hello.

So my problem is that I'm trying to run a vb6 application using wine on my vps and I always have this error :
https://i.imgur.com/wr85vLv.png

(The CreateWindow one).

I first tried to install it on Debian 9(with no graphical interface) some linux users told me that the reason for this error could be that I didn't have any graphical interface then I installed xfce and thightvnc and it didn't work, due to the fact I'm totally a newbie with linux in general I tought I installed xfce badly so I installed Kubuntu 14 instead of Debian 9 (because Kubuntu provides a graphical interface) neither it worked...

It has been a month and I'm trying to run it, but it's not working, I'm getting so mad :( .
I didn't found anything useful about my problem, I mean I had read tons of topics on it, but I didn't get any valuable informations to solve my problem (I'm pretty sure it's because I don't understand it).


So I'm asking for something big, but could anyone provide me a step by step(I mean command by command) guide on how to install wine and how to run my vb6 app using wine ?

Basically what I want (please) :
Imagine the situation : I'm on a fresh install, I just installed my linux distro let say for exemple I installed Debian 9(I'm planning to re-install Debian 9).
I have no graphical interface, I only have a root user, I'm running on a amd64 and my visual basic 6 software uses windows.
What would you do to run the vb6 app on a fresh debian install ? What are the commands you enter to set it up ?


I know that I'm asking a lot, but I'm totally a newbie with linux and I'm pretty sure that for an experienced user it's just a couple of command, and I would be so grateful for this.
What I would do as a newbie :

Code: Select all

apt-get update 
apt-get upgrade
// then you'll make a new user 
adduser nightmare
// then you'll make it a sudoer ?(I'm not sure about this one):
usermod -aG sudo nightmare
// then you'll login as nightmare
su - nightmare

// you would change your ssh port and make some basic security setup

// now we need to install wine
// then you'll add the architecture i386 :
sudo dpkg --add-architecture i386 && sudo apt update
// then you'll install wine and winehq stable releases
sudo apt install wine-stable winehq-stable
// then I need to change the wineprefix to use wine32 bits, right ?
WINEARCH=win32 winecfg // Should I enter this in the command line or should I search for a file and edit the config file with nano
// I could install winetricks to install vb6 runtimes with "ease" :
sudo apt install winetricks
// I now run winetricks to install vb6 runtimes : 
./winetricks vb6run

// Now I upload my application file to my vps in /home/nightmare/ directory.
// And I use wine to start my vb6 application 
cd /home/nightmare/
wine "myapp.exe"
It's exactly what I'll type to run my vb6 app on debian 9, what am I doing wrong ?
Thanks in advance for your reply.
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: VB6 app running using wine

Post by jkfloris »

// now we need to install wine
// then you'll add the architecture i386 :
sudo dpkg --add-architecture i386 && sudo apt update
// then you'll install wine and winehq stable releases
sudo apt install wine-stable winehq-stable
If you want to install the winehq packages you also need to add the winehq repo.
Read: https://wiki.winehq.org/Debian for more information.

Wine does need an Xserver. If you don't want a graphical interface you can use a fake Xserver:
https://superuser.com/questions/902175/ ... y-headless
Nightmare
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 3:17 am

Re: VB6 app running using wine

Post by Nightmare »

Hi.
It didn't work.
I installed xserver, xfce and lightdm, but the problem was still there.
The software told me that it can't create a window.
Any idea ?
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: VB6 app running using wine

Post by jkfloris »

Any idea ?
Not without a terminal output
https://wiki.winehq.org/Wine_User's_Gui ... mmand_line
Nightmare
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 3:17 am

Re: VB6 app running using wine

Post by Nightmare »

I installed kubuntu back(instead of debian), and I tried again, it worked this time.
Don't ask me why, I don't understand a thing but it worked.

@jkfloris
Anyway thanks for your help.
User avatar
Warnertrorn
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 7:40 pm

VB6 app running using wine

Post by Warnertrorn »

Everything worked fine until i tried to use the input fader...it didnt fade the newly recorded track...what could i be doing wrong?
Im going to keep trying...
User avatar
Bob Wya
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3068
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm

Re: VB6 app running using wine

Post by Bob Wya »

Warnertrorn wrote:Everything worked fine until i tried to use the input fader...it didnt fade the newly recorded track...what could i be doing wrong?
Im going to keep trying...
@Warnertrorn

We'd still need the Wine terminal output to troubleshoot any further issues...
Of course you're welcome to continue troubleshooting the problem, on your own... :lol:

See: WineHQ FAQ: 10.1.1 How can I get a debugging log (a.k.a. terminal output)?
Although, especially for new users, it's highly recommended to read the whole of this FAQ.

Bob
Locked