How to get /.wine running as default,AGAIN?

Questions about Wine on Linux
Locked
Mriganka
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:22 am

How to get /.wine running as default,AGAIN?

Post by Mriganka »

So I created a 32 bit prefix- "prefix32" using

Code: Select all

WINEPREFIX="$HOME/prefix32" WINEARCH=win32 wine wineboot
Then I deleted it after sometime.
Now whenever I open any game it starts to create the "prefix32" and then use that prefix to run the games. I don't want that. My default prefix is .wine, It has every components needed to run my games. I want this prefix to be used when launching the game from the desktop. I know we can run games via terminal using a definite prefix,but I need to run from desktop not from terminal.
I tried

Code: Select all

WINEPREFIX=$HOME/.wine wine wineboot
It didn't work. What is the exact line of codes to do this?
User avatar
dimesio
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 13202
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm

Re: How to get /.wine running as default,AGAIN?

Post by dimesio »

If you want to run your games from that wineprefix, you have to install them to it. As far as Windows apps know, the wineprefix is the computer and trying to run an app in one wineprefix from another one is like trying to run apps installed on a different computer. https://wiki.winehq.org/FAQ#How_can_I_r ... mputers.3F
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: How to get /.wine running as default,AGAIN?

Post by jkfloris »

~/.wine is the default WINEPREFIX directory but you can override this.
Some common places to set the override are:

Code: Select all

~/.bashrc
~/.bash_aliases
Check your system environment variables with:

Code: Select all

env
set
Look for a line with "WINEPREFIX"

Also make sure the WINEPREFIX isn't set in your game .desktop shortcut.
Mriganka
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:22 am

Re: How to get /.wine running as default,AGAIN?

Post by Mriganka »

dimesio wrote:If you want to run your games from that wineprefix, you have to install them to it. As far as Windows apps know, the wineprefix is the computer and trying to run an app in one wineprefix from another one is like trying to run apps installed on a different computer. https://wiki.winehq.org/FAQ#How_can_I_r ... mputers.3F
The games are installed in that wineprefix(.wine) only,I dont know why it is happening.
User avatar
dimesio
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 13202
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm

Re: How to get /.wine running as default,AGAIN?

Post by dimesio »

As jkfloris says, check that you haven't set a new default wineprefix somewhere, or that any desktop links don't point to it. If that's not the case, post terminal output from running a game that exhibits this problem.
Locked