Questions about Wine on macOS.
James Mckenzie

[Fwd: Trouble with libgsm on Mac OS X 10.6.2]

Post by James Mckenzie »

doh123 <[email protected]> wrote:
Sent: Sep 6, 2010 8:33 PM
To: [email protected]
Subject: [Wine] [Fwd: Trouble with libgsm on Mac OS X 10.6.2]

I'm far from an expert on the subject matter. Maybe some app that was written for Linux/BSD or whatever is looking at a
LD_LIBRARY_PATH on its own and its nothing to do with the OS? I've never tried messing with LD_LIBRARY_PATH on OSX, but
its not *supposed* to do anything normally.
I agree with both Ryan and you, LD_LIBRARY_PATH is supposed to do absolutely NOTHING under MacOSX. However, Wine needs it for some strange reason. If I leave it out, the built dependency libraries are not found for freetype and fontconfig (and I know that fontconfig is included with MacOSX 10.6 now.) Otherwise, I get a series of freetype cannot be found, install freetype 2.0.5 or higher. I'll look at the Fink setup script to see how they did this.
The OS Relies on DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH. If you change it, you have to make sure it encompasses every single location for
every library accessed... or there are major issues. This is what makes DYLD_FALLBACK_LIBRARY_PATH very useful. If the
library isn't found, it'll check the fallback locations. Usually its best to not mess with DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH.... but
being a fallback, if a user actually has the file on their machine in a normal location, it can cause problems making
anything portable, because it goes with the one it finds first.
That statement is correct. That is why most .app files don't use it. Again, it is most interesting that adding the DYLB_LIBRARY_PATH causes calls to Wine's 'fake' dll files to fail.
You might want to use otool on your binaries and dylibs and see what exact location they are looking for things in. You
can also use install_name_tool to modify them to look in other places. Very useful tools to change things around after
they are built.