Wine 5.7 fails to work on High Sierra 10.13.6

Questions about Wine on macOS.
Post Reply
cpljeebus
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 31, 2020 4:50 pm

Wine 5.7 fails to work on High Sierra 10.13.6

Post by cpljeebus » Sun May 31, 2020 5:17 pm

Hi

I have installed wine on my mac running High Sierra 10.13.6. I have tried the following methods
  • brew cask install wine-stable
    brew cask install wine-staging
    brew cask install wine-devel
    from all of the above pkgs
regardless of how I have installed running any wine command gives me the following (or very similar) output.

Code: Select all

$ winecfg 
preloader: Warning: failed to reserve range 0000000000010000-0000000000110000
preloader: Warning: failed to reserve range 0000000000110000-0000000068000000
000b:err:module:__wine_process_init failed to load L"C:\\windows\\system32\\wineboot.exe", error c0000018
0009:err:environ:run_wineboot failed to start wineboot c0000018
0009:fixme:actctx:parse_depend_manifests Could not find dependent assembly L"Microsoft.Windows.Common-Controls" (6.0.0.0)
preloader: Warning: failed to reserve range 0000000000010000-0000000000110000
preloader: Warning: failed to reserve range 0000000000110000-0000000068000000
000d:err:module:__wine_process_init failed to load L"C:\\windows\\system32\\explorer.exe", error c0000018
preloader: Warning: failed to reserve range 0000000000010000-0000000000110000
preloader: Warning: failed to reserve range 0000000000110000-0000000068000000
000f:fixme:actctx:parse_depend_manifests Could not find dependent assembly L"Microsoft.Windows.Common-Controls" (6.0.0.0)
000f:err:winediag:nodrv_CreateWindow Application tried to create a window, but no driver could be loaded.
000f:err:winediag:nodrv_CreateWindow The explorer process failed to start.
I have installed wine previously on ubuntu machines before and have never needed to do anything special. So I'm at a miss as to what to do.

I have searched on this forum and elsewhere and even though I have found similar errors no solutions seemed apparent.

James

Gcenx
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 468
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 12:11 pm

Re: Wine 5.7 fails to work on High Sierra 10.13.6

Post by Gcenx » Mon Jun 01, 2020 9:00 am

Something is definitely wrong on your end as those versions all function.

Do you have an anti-virus/anti-malware installed?
Did you create a clean wineprefix?

Wine-5.6 was broken and Wine-5.8 was broken however Winehqs builder was depreciated so no official package was created anyway, wine-5.9 works but still no official packages

I started to provide wine-devel and wine-staging packages (.tar.gz) for macOS until Winehq gets a new builder up and running get them from macOS Wine builds

cpljeebus
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 31, 2020 4:50 pm

Re: Wine 5.7 fails to work on High Sierra 10.13.6

Post by cpljeebus » Mon Jun 01, 2020 10:21 am

Hey Gcenx

Thanks for getting back to me.
Do you have an anti-virus/anti-malware installed?
]
I have SentinelOne installed, it is a work laptop.
Did you create a clean wineprefix?
I'm not sure what that is? So I'm guessing no.

I'm beginning to think SentinelOne is the problem as I decided to build Wine from source and am seeing the same thing. However SentinelOne normally tells you if it has blocked stuff!

On think I did notice is that under my

Code: Select all

~/.wine/drive_c./
directory there are very few files? Again working from memory I would have expected that there would be a dir structure somewhere that mimics a widows dir structure but I can't find anything.

Is there anything else obvious I could be missing?

James

Gcenx
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 468
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 12:11 pm

Re: Wine 5.7 fails to work on High Sierra 10.13.6

Post by Gcenx » Fri Jun 05, 2020 8:46 am

The default wineprefix is stored within your home directly called .wine

The ~/.wine/drive_c is wines Windows environment on first launch or wine or launch of a different version the prefix is update to use the current versions of wines provided files.

If you remove .wine and run wine again it will create a clean wineprefix.

The antivirus might not prompt you for this it depends on the configuration that was set by the IT department.

Post Reply