Is this compatible?

Questions about Wine on macOS.
Post Reply
tayloare
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2019 6:02 pm

Is this compatible?

Post by tayloare » Tue Aug 13, 2019 6:09 pm

I am not sure how to tell if a program is compatible with Wine or not. I was hoping that someone could help me out?
I need to get this to run on a Mac.


http://aarongardony.com/GMDA_Software/G ... p_v1.3.msi

jkfloris
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 704
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: Is this compatible?

Post by jkfloris » Wed Aug 14, 2019 2:02 am

This program will run with Mono, so I expect it will run on Mac.

tayloare
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2019 6:02 pm

Re: Is this compatible?

Post by tayloare » Fri Aug 16, 2019 11:22 am

It currently does not run on Mac. I have had someone try to open it and it says they are missing certain applications and can not open the download.

Here is the executable, if that makes a difference.

http://aarongardony.com/GMDA_Software/

Gcenx
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 12:11 pm

Re: Is this compatible?

Post by Gcenx » Sat Aug 17, 2019 4:53 pm

jkfloris wrote:This program will run with Mono, so I expect it will run on Mac.
Are you sure this can run with mono? Winemone is different then regular mono.
also the applications come packaged within an msi installer and the softwares github says .Net 4.0 is required to run along with having "Visual Studio installed"
tayloare wrote:It currently does not run on Mac. I have had someone try to open it and it says they are missing certain applications and can not open the download.

Here is the executable, if that makes a difference.

http://aarongardony.com/GMDA_Software/
Did this person actually try to run the software and what wine version were they attempting to use?

I ask as I tested it and I got the application to work, Using Wine-Staging-4.13 and using winetricks installed dotnet48 and the software launched. Some of the buttons text was stretched off both sides but the application seemed to be functional.

jkfloris
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 704
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: Is this compatible?

Post by jkfloris » Sun Aug 18, 2019 4:42 am

At the moment I can't test the application on a Mac, but on Debian the program will run with:

Code: Select all

# use Wine to install the application.
WINEPREFIX=$HOME/GMDA WINEARCH=win32 wine start GMDA_setup_v1.3.msi
cd "$HOME/GMDA/drive_c/Gardony Map Drawing Analyzer (GMDA)/"
mono GMDA.exe

jkfloris
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 704
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: Is this compatible?

Post by jkfloris » Tue Aug 20, 2019 2:03 pm

I have no idea what the program should do, but I get the program running with:
(Make sure you have Mono)

Code: Select all

WINEPREFIX=$HOME/GMDA WINEARCH=win32 wine msiexec /i GMDA_setup_v1.3.msi
cd "$HOME/GMDA/drive_c/Gardony Map Drawing Analyzer (GMDA)/"
mono --arch=32 GMDA.exe

Gcenx
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 12:11 pm

Re: Is this compatible?

Post by Gcenx » Tue Aug 20, 2019 9:33 pm

Using mono on macOS won’t work.
The mono packages on macOS are 64Bit only.

It would be better using wine and installing dotnet, that will at least work for Mojave and below

jkfloris
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 704
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: Is this compatible?

Post by jkfloris » Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:34 am

According to the Mono website the packages have 32 and 64 bit support.
32 and 64 bit support
The Mono packages published on this web site provide both a 32-bit and a 64-bit Mono VM.
Starting from Mono 5.2 the mono command defaults to 64-bit, you can use the --arch=32/64 switch to control the bitness.
The 64 bit support has a few limitations today:
- Our Windows.Forms implementation uses Carbon, and as such, it would not work with a 64-bit Mono.

Gcenx
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 12:11 pm

Re: Is this compatible?

Post by Gcenx » Wed Aug 21, 2019 8:48 am

jkfloris wrote:According to the Mono website the packages have 32 and 64 bit support.
32 and 64 bit support
The Mono packages published on this web site provide both a 32-bit and a 64-bit Mono VM.
Starting from Mono 5.2 the mono command defaults to 64-bit, you can use the --arch=32/64 switch to control the bitness.
The 64 bit support has a few limitations today:
- Our Windows.Forms implementation uses Carbon, and as such, it would not work with a 64-bit Mono.
Maybe the others are mixed but the macOS package didn’t allow —arch=32 it complained about missing mono32, while I did install with homebrew, the formulae just downloads the package directly from https://download.mono-project.com/sourc ... 319.tar.xz

All I can think is previously that statement was true but with Mojave (XCode10) and now Catalina, 32Bit support was already removed.

But I can tell you I did try to launch using the mono package linked above that was installed via homebrew and it failed to launch even using the —arch=32 command.

Post Reply