WineHQ
Wine Forums

Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help » macOS




 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 



 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2019 3:13 pm 
Offline
Level 1
Level 1

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2019 2:16 pm
Posts: 5
So i solved the MTG: Arena Apple+Tab bug which caused the game to freeze.

What you do is inside the game switch OUT of full screen mode and you get a windowed version of the game.

Then when you Apple+Tab out to another application and want to come back, just CLICK on the title bar of Arena and it pulls focus back into the game and you can keep playing.

So here's my question to the group: Why does this fix it? Why does clicking on the Title bar reactivate the game? And can this be done via a key binding? If so i could go back to fullscreen mode and activate the key binding to make the window active.


Top 
 Post Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2019 12:27 pm 
Offline
Level 4
Level 4

Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 12:11 pm
Posts: 200
I have this installed and I don’t get a freeze when using CMD+Tab.

It’s possible it’s a problem with the wine version your currently using to run the game.


Top 
 Post Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2019 4:14 pm 
Offline
Level 4
Level 4

Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 12:11 pm
Posts: 200
jackal242 wrote:
So i solved the MTG: Arena Apple+Tab bug which caused the game to freeze.

What you do is inside the game switch OUT of full screen mode and you get a windowed version of the game.

Then when you Apple+Tab out to another application and want to come back, just CLICK on the title bar of Arena and it pulls focus back into the game and you can keep playing.

So here's my question to the group: Why does this fix it? Why does clicking on the Title bar reactivate the game? And can this be done via a key binding? If so i could go back to fullscreen mode and activate the key binding to make the window active.


This could be due to using Wineskin-2.6.2 along with Wine-3.0


Top 
 Post Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2019 11:36 pm 
Offline
Level 1
Level 1

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2019 2:16 pm
Posts: 5
I'm new to using Wineskin. I've always used Crossover Games in the past.

How do I test the version of Wineskin I'm using versus the version of wine that's running?

I just download the Wineskin from the reddit post and used it per the video's instructions.

VIDEO => https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ndENVl1_n7o
REDDIT POST => https://www.reddit.com/r/MagicArena/comments/95rgko/a_guide_to_run_mtg_arena_with_wine_on_osx/


Top 
 Post Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 6:08 am 
Offline
Level 1
Level 1

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2019 2:16 pm
Posts: 5
Is there no easy way to check the versions?

$ ps -aef|grep wine
505 79023 1 0 6:06AM ?? 0:00.00 /bin/bash /Applications/MTGArena.app/Contents/Frameworks/wswine.bundle/bin/wine MTGA.exe
505 79031 1 0 6:06AM ?? 0:14.40 /Applications/MTGArena.app/Contents/Frameworks/wswine.bundle/lib/../bin/MTGArena289047192Wineserver
505 79044 1 0 6:06AM ?? 0:00.04 C:\windows\system32\winedevice.exe
505 79048 1 0 6:06AM ?? 0:00.56 C:\windows\system32\winedevice.exe
505 79368 79341 0 6:07AM ttys000 0:00.00 grep wine


Top 
 Post Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 1:56 pm 
Offline
Level 4
Level 4

Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 12:11 pm
Posts: 200
Did you read my last post?

I know exactly what wine version it includes and what version of Wineskin it’s also using.


The point was you shouldn’t be using a pre-made solution but do it yourself, Official Wineskin development may have stopped but “Unoffical Wineskin” can take it’s place and give your access to all current Winehq releases.

I posted to that thread months ago trying to have it updated to use the active project but I was ignored.


Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 




Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help » macOS


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: