WineHQ
Wine Forums

Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help » macOS




 Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 



 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 9:38 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 8:04 am
Posts: 2
Hello folks,

I have a question similar to topic #29519 -- "Wine in high resolution / 4K display ?"; I make a new topic as that one hasn't been answered since 2017 and has actually been locked.

I run macOS High Sierra 10.136, with XQuartz and Wine 3.0.4 stable. Enterprise Architect runs fine on it, but with terrible resolution, like a video game from the '80s. See image attached.

What is the expected resolution I should expect? Can I workaround this problem?

Thanks!
michele


Attachments:
File comment: Wine 3.0.4 on macOS 4K with awful display resolution
Screen Shot 2019-01-04 at 15.35.46.png
Screen Shot 2019-01-04 at 15.35.46.png [ 139.25 KiB | Viewed 381 times ]
Top 
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:43 pm 
Offline
Level 4
Level 4

Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 12:11 pm
Posts: 107
Yes that feature was added in wine2.0

Code:
- The macOS graphics driver supports a high-resolution ("Retina")
  rendering mode. It can be enabled by setting "RetinaMode" to "Y"
  under HKCU\Software\Wine\Mac Driver.


But once thats enabled your gonna want to change the DPI :lol:


Top 
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 18, 2019 4:31 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 8:04 am
Posts: 2
How does that work exactly? Here's what I did:

  • launched Wine Stable
  • from wine terminal, launched
    Code:
    regedit
    , reached
    Code:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ Software \ Wine \ Mac Driver
  • in there I found extra directory
    Code:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Wine\Mac Driver\Initial Display Mode\Display 0x00000002
    containing the settings in the image1 below
  • I added a new Key named "RetinaMode" with value "Y" both in that directory, as well as in "Mac Driver". I notice that when I restart wine, key RetinaMode is lost from "Mac Driver \ Initial Display Mode \ Display 0x0..2". It stays under "Mac Driver" instead.
  • I restarted Enterprise Architect; resolution is unchanged
  • I opened
    Code:
    winecfg
    , reached
    Code:
    Graphics
    and set dpi to 196; restarted Enterprise Architect, and resolution is unchanged, except text is now huge (image3).

Any help is appreciated :)


Attachments:
File comment: settings under "Mac Driver"
image2.png
image2.png [ 51.9 KiB | Viewed 180 times ]
File comment: settings in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Wine\Mac Driver\Initial Display Mode\Display 0x00000002
image1.png
image1.png [ 28.83 KiB | Viewed 180 times ]
Top 
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 18, 2019 7:38 am 
Offline
Level 4
Level 4

Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 12:11 pm
Posts: 107
michele wrote:
How does that work exactly? Here's what I did:

  • launched Wine Stable
  • from wine terminal, launched
    Code:
    regedit
    , reached
    Code:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ Software \ Wine \ Mac Driver
  • in there I found extra directory
    Code:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Wine\Mac Driver\Initial Display Mode\Display 0x00000002
    containing the settings in the image1 below
  • I added a new Key named "RetinaMode" with value "Y" both in that directory, as well as in "Mac Driver". I notice that when I restart wine, key RetinaMode is lost from "Mac Driver \ Initial Display Mode \ Display 0x0..2". It stays under "Mac Driver" instead.
  • I restarted Enterprise Architect; resolution is unchanged
  • I opened
    Code:
    winecfg
    , reached
    Code:
    Graphics
    and set dpi to 196; restarted Enterprise Architect, and resolution is unchanged, except text is now huge (image3).

Any help is appreciated :)



Code:
HKCU\Software\Wine\Mac Driver

Does not mean Local Machine, its HKEY_CURRENT_USER


Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
 Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 




Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help » macOS


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: