Steam won't launch

Questions about Wine on macOS.
tremyx
Level 1
Level 1

Steam won't launch

Post by tremyx »

I have gotten everything installed correctly up to launching steam. I can run other .exe's in wine fine but when i try to run steam it won't launch. after theI've run the installer .exe which has successfully launched and i've gone through all the user agreements and language selection, all that. then i try the actual steam .exe (and this goes the same for for ticking launch immediately at the end of the installer) the wine icon will briefly appear in my dock and then immediately disappear. I'm sure i'll have to do the font thing when that inevitably doesn't work but I can't start the application. Someone please help.

i have attempted this using windows xp and windows 7. my mac is on El Capitan 10.11.6 2.4 GHz Intel core i7, 16Gb MHz DDR3, Nvidia GeForce Gt 650M 512MB with 179 GB of free space. This is my first attempt at using wine.

p.s. this is also what happens when I attempt to install via winetricks and when I use winebottler to make steam its own app outside of my Winefiles folder.

any and all help would be greatly appreciated.
tremyx
Level 1
Level 1

Re: Steam won't launch *Edit*

Post by tremyx »

Once steam has installed, when i run steam.exe it will update immediately, once its finished updating, the steam folder get filled with drivers and friend folders and all sorts of files. then it closes. I'll have a file called steam.exe and steam.exe.old, neither of which run.
SetantaLP
Level 3
Level 3

Re: Steam won't launch

Post by SetantaLP »

Can you try starting steam via terminal? (That can help finding the error, based on the terminal output.) And which wine-version do you use? As far as i know you need at least wine devel 2.13 or stable 2.0.2 to run steam.
And and did you install the components mentioned on the AppDB page?
markwozere
Level 2
Level 2

Post by markwozere »

I'm having the same problem.