running 16 bit real mode executables on mac

Questions about Wine on macOS.
Locked
spectrum
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 12:57 pm

running 16 bit real mode executables on mac

Post by spectrum »

Hello all,

first of all congratulation to all the wine stuff for the great job.

I was trying to run some old 16 bit executables using wine (darwine) for mac, but from what i understand darwine is still not able to execute those exe.

On Linux, doing

wine TASM.EXE

works fine,

under mac, typing the same command (but using darwine) i get
fixme:module:wine_load_dos_exe DOS executables not supported on this platform
winevdm: can't exec 'Z:\Users\spectrum\bcc\tasm.exe': invalid program file

i was wandering if this feature would be implemented in the future, and if exist some alternative. I think i cannot use dosbox, since i need to invoke "wine tasm.exe" from some gnu makefiles.

Many thanks

spectrum
John Drescher

running 16 bit real mode executables on mac

Post by John Drescher »

On Mon, May 26, 2008 at 2:05 PM, spectrum <[email protected]> wrote:
Hello all,

first of all congratulation to all the wine stuff for the great job.

I was trying to run some old 16 bit executables using wine (darwine) for mac, but from what i understand darwine is still not able to execute those exe.

On Linux, doing

wine TASM.EXE

works fine,

under mac, typing the same command (but using darwine) i get
fixme:module:wine_load_dos_exe DOS executables not supported on this platform
winevdm: can't exec 'Z:\Users\spectrum\bcc\rtm.exe': invalid program file
tasm should work on any platform under dosbox

John
James McKenzie

running 16 bit real mode executables on mac

Post by James McKenzie »

spectrum wrote:
Hello all,

first of all congratulation to all the wine stuff for the great job.

I was trying to run some old 16 bit executables using wine (darwine) for mac, but from what i understand darwine is still not able to execute those exe.

On Linux, doing

wine TASM.EXE

works fine,

under mac, typing the same command (but using darwine) i get
fixme:module:wine_load_dos_exe DOS executables not supported on this platform
winevdm: can't exec 'Z:\Users\spectrum\bcc\rtm.exe': invalid program file

i was wandering if this feature would be implemented in the future, and if exist some alternative.
I don't know if there is an effort to implement DOS support under the
Mac. I know that the Darwine folks are not working on this and the
people (including myself) who do Darwine builds are not.
I think i cannot use dosbox, since i need to invoke "wine tasm.exe" from some gnu makefiles.
What are you building? If you are building a DOS executable, then
dosbox should serve the purpose.


James McKenzie
spectrum
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 12:57 pm

Post by spectrum »

thanks for the kind replies,

the actual wine version for Linux works fine, can execute both 16 bit real mode (call it DOS programs if you prefer), as well as the 32 bit flat protected mode.

So i was wandering for what reason the mac port don't support this.

I need to build some 80186 firmware code, i have many makefiles ready using WINE.
Anyway, dosbox is good for it, but i would need to call it in the same fashion as wine:

on makefiles i was doing

wine TASM.EXE build_parameters

for now, using dosbox, this syntax is not accepted, it takes a single parameter, and discard everything after the TASM.EXE.



many thanks for now,
spectrum
spectrum
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 12:57 pm

Post by spectrum »

stupid me !

i remember now that exist TASM32.EXE, it works great with wine/darwine

PROBLEM SOLVED

thanks all,

spectrum
trusktr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 12:17 pm

Post by trusktr »

Hey guys, i know this post is old, but i'm also having the same problem.

I'm trying to compile MASM 6.1.5 programs in wine, and using ml.exe compiles and links everything perfectly and outputs a .exe file with no complaints.

Then, when i try and run the program it give me an error like

Code: Select all

fixme:module:__wine_load_dos_exe DOS executables not supported on this platform
winevdm: can't exec 'Z:\home\trusktr\projects\school\fall2010\cisp310_assembly\random2\main.exe': invalid program file
If i run the .EXE file in DosBox, then it works just fine. How can i get these 16bit apps that I'm making working in Wine?
doh123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 1227
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:21 pm

Post by doh123 »

trusktr wrote:Hey guys, i know this post is old, but i'm also having the same problem.

I'm trying to compile MASM 6.1.5 programs in wine, and using ml.exe compiles and links everything perfectly and outputs a .exe file with no complaints.

Then, when i try and run the program it give me an error like

Code: Select all

fixme:module:__wine_load_dos_exe DOS executables not supported on this platform
winevdm: can't exec 'Z:\home\trusktr\projects\school\fall2010\cisp310_assembly\random2\main.exe': invalid program file
If i run the .EXE file in DosBox, then it works just fine. How can i get these 16bit apps that I'm making working in Wine?
getting 16 bit Windows programs working is one thing... but if your 16bit is a DOS program, you are much better off using DOSBox.
DaVince
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 1099
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:53 pm

Post by DaVince »

spectrum wrote:thanks for the kind replies,

the actual wine version for Linux works fine, can execute both 16 bit real mode (call it DOS programs if you prefer), as well as the 32 bit flat protected mode.

So i was wandering for what reason the mac port don't support this.

I need to build some 80186 firmware code, i have many makefiles ready using WINE.
Anyway, dosbox is good for it, but i would need to call it in the same fashion as wine:

on makefiles i was doing

wine TASM.EXE build_parameters

for now, using dosbox, this syntax is not accepted, it takes a single parameter, and discard everything after the TASM.EXE.



many thanks for now,
spectrum
dosbox -c "TASM.EXE build_parameters" won't work?
trusktr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 12:17 pm

Post by trusktr »

@doh123 thanks, yeah i settled with DosBox.
Locked