Using wine 32bit on 64bit emulator "wine: could not exec the wine loader"

Questions about Wine on Linux
Locked
amera_09
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2019 6:47 pm

Using wine 32bit on 64bit emulator "wine: could not exec the wine loader"

Post by amera_09 »

I installed latest winehq-stable on ubuntu 21
And i want to use 32bit version of wine to install programs because most of the exe installers are 32bit
How do i do that it says couldnot exec wineloader

Code: Select all

root@localhost:~# qemu-i386-static  -L /opt/wine-stable/ /opt/wine-stable/bin/wine
Usage: wine PROGRAM [ARGUMENTS...]   Run the specified program
       wine --help                   Display this help and exit
       wine --version                Output version information and exit
root@localhost:~# qemu-i386-static  -L /opt/wine-stable/ /opt/wine-stable/bin/wine winecfg
wine: could not exec the wine loader
invisible kid
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 353
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 3:23 pm

Re: Using wine 32bit on 64bit emulator "wine: could not exec the wine loader"

Post by invisible kid »

Not a full-time debian/ubuntu user, so feel free to wait until someone more knowledgable replies, but could it be that you don't have multiarch enabled(don't do commands unless you are sure first):

Code: Select all

dpkg --add-architecture i386
apt-get update
I don't know if you would have to reinstall things after that.
For more info:
https://wiki.debian.org/Multiarch/HOWTO
amera_09
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2019 6:47 pm

Re: Using wine 32bit on 64bit emulator "wine: could not exec the wine loader"

Post by amera_09 »

invisible kid wrote: Thu Nov 11, 2021 2:07 pm Not a full-time debian/ubuntu user, so feel free to wait until someone more knowledgable replies, but could it be that you don't have multiarch enabled(don't do commands unless you are sure first):

Code: Select all

dpkg --add-architecture i386
apt-get update
I don't know if you would have to reinstall things after that.
For more info:
https://wiki.debian.org/Multiarch/HOWTO
I already have wine installed i just need a way to run the i386 wine with qemu
invisible kid
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 353
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 3:23 pm

Re: Using wine 32bit on 64bit emulator "wine: could not exec the wine loader"

Post by invisible kid »

Do you have multiarch enabled?
amera_09
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2019 6:47 pm

Re: Using wine 32bit on 64bit emulator "wine: could not exec the wine loader"

Post by amera_09 »

invisible kid wrote: Thu Nov 11, 2021 2:41 pm Do you have multiarch enabled?
Yes
amera_09
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2019 6:47 pm

Re: Using wine 32bit on 64bit emulator "wine: could not exec the wine loader"

Post by amera_09 »

invisible kid wrote: Thu Nov 11, 2021 2:41 pm Do you have multiarch enabled?
The wineserver was 64bit i replace it with 32bit wineserver but still getting same error , is it possible to get wine32 and wine64 installed in seperated location so i can execute one when need because i only need 32bit wine to install programs , programs setups are 32bit exe
madewokherd
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 5:03 pm

Re: Using wine 32bit on 64bit emulator "wine: could not exec the wine loader"

Post by madewokherd »

If you create the prefix with WINEARCH=win32 set, it will only run 32-bit executables.
Locked