wmp9 won't install (Wine 6.15)

Questions about Wine on Linux
Locked
Time4Tea
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:32 am

wmp9 won't install (Wine 6.15)

Post by Time4Tea »

Hi, I am trying to install wmp9 via winetricks; however, I get an error dialogue box saying that wmp9 can only be installed on certain older versions of Windows, including Win2000 and XP. I am using Wine 6.15 and I have Windows compatibility set to 'Windows XP'. Am I doing something wrong, or should I report this as a bug?

Note: to clarify, wmp 10/11 seem to install fine. It's just wmp9 that doesn't.
Time4Tea
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:32 am

Re: wmp9 won't install (Wine 6.15)

Post by Time4Tea »

If I report as a bug, can anybody advise which section this should go under?
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: wmp9 won't install (Wine 6.15)

Post by jkfloris »

Did you tried winetricks with the -q (quiet) option?

Code: Select all

winetricks -q wmp9
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: wmp9 won't install (Wine 6.15)

Post by jkfloris »

And keep in mind the warning given by winetricks:

Code: Select all

------------------------------------------------------
warning: wm9codecs is not supported in win64 prefixes. If you need those codecs, reinstall wmp9 in a 32-bit prefix.
------------------------------------------------------
Time4Tea
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:32 am

Re: wmp9 won't install (Wine 6.15)

Post by Time4Tea »

jkfloris wrote: Mon Sep 06, 2021 4:43 pm Did you tried winetricks with the -q (quiet) option?

Code: Select all

winetricks -q wmp9
Hi, thanks for your suggestion; however I tried it just now in a new (32-bit) prefix and still got the same error. It's clear wmp9 isn't installing, as the codecs won't install afterwards.
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: wmp9 won't install (Wine 6.15)

Post by jkfloris »

What version of winetricks do you use?
You can easily update winetricks with:

Code: Select all

sudo winetricks --self-update
Keep in mind that there is also an open bug report:
https://github.com/Winetricks/winetricks/issues/1562
Time4Tea
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:32 am

Re: wmp9 won't install (Wine 6.15)

Post by Time4Tea »

jkfloris wrote: Tue Sep 07, 2021 3:57 am What version of winetricks do you use?
You can easily update winetricks with:

Code: Select all

sudo winetricks --self-update
Keep in mind that there is also an open bug report:
https://github.com/Winetricks/winetricks/issues/1562
I ran winetricks --self-update yesterday and it didn't help. I am using a 32-bit prefix, so I don't think it is the same issue as the bug you linked. I also tried installing directly from the installer file that winetricks downloaded (outside of winetricks) and the same thing happened.

So, I don't think it is an issue with winetricks - it seems to be a bug with Wine. I should be able to install an application that requires Win XP, if my compatibility is set to Win XP.
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: wmp9 won't install (Wine 6.15)

Post by jkfloris »

You are correct that wmp9 is not installable in a 32-bit prefix.
If you want you can use the following solution.
Open winetricks in a text editor and change the load_wmp9() function after the else statement.

Code: Select all

    w_try_cd "${W_CACHE}"/"${W_PACKAGE}"
    if [ "${W_ARCH}" = "win64" ]; then
        w_try cabextract -d "${W_TMP}" ./MPSetup.exe
        w_try_cd "${W_TMP}"
        w_try sed -i 's/IsWow64Process/IsNow64Process/' setup_wm.exe
        w_try "${WINE}" setup_wm.exe ${W_OPT_UNATTENDED:+/Quiet}
        w_warn "wm9codecs is not supported in win64 prefixes. If you need those codecs, reinstall wmp9 in a 32-bit prefix."
    else
    	# w_try "${WINE}" MPSetup.exe ${W_OPT_UNATTENDED:+/q}
        w_try cabextract -d "${W_TMP}" ./MPSetup.exe
        w_try_cd "${W_TMP}"
        w_try "${WINE}" setup_wm.exe ${W_OPT_UNATTENDED:+/Quiet}
        load_wm9codecs
    fi
Time4Tea
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:32 am

Re: wmp9 won't install (Wine 6.15)

Post by Time4Tea »

jkfloris wrote: Tue Sep 07, 2021 10:50 am You are correct that wmp9 is not installable in a 32-bit prefix.
If you want you can use the following solution.
Thanks for the tip! That did work and allowed me to install wmp9 in the 32-bit prefix.

So, is that an issue in Wine or winetricks? Is Wine supposed to be able to run the MPSetup.exe directly? It would be nice to get it fixed so the installation 'just works' for others in future.
Time4Tea
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:32 am

Re: wmp9 won't install (Wine 6.15)

Post by Time4Tea »

Also, might there be other applications that use a similar type of installer file, that don't go through winetricks, which could also be affected?
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: wmp9 won't install (Wine 6.15)

Post by jkfloris »

This is a bug in Wine. With Wine 6.0.1 the installation does work just fine.
Time4Tea
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:32 am

Re: wmp9 won't install (Wine 6.15)

Post by Time4Tea »

jkfloris wrote: Thu Sep 09, 2021 3:43 pm This is a bug in Wine. With Wine 6.0.1 the installation does work just fine.
Ok, thanks for confirming. I'll file a bug report. Do you know what section it should go under?
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3136
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: wmp9 won't install (Wine 6.15)

Post by jkfloris »

Do you know what section it should go under?
Sorry, no I don't know. Probably one of the developers knows which section this bug belongs in.
Use Wine -unknown for now.
Locked