WoW Classic installs but doesn't do anything on Play

Questions about Wine on Linux
Post Reply
Qushy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 9:30 am

WoW Classic installs but doesn't do anything on Play

Post by Qushy » Tue Aug 27, 2019 9:35 am

Hello, I just installed WoW on the default Wine prefix as the Lutris version didn't work. I've also installed core fonts, D9VK, DXVK and vcrun2017 in the prefix. When I press play the game window seems to pop up but then the system just hangs until I press Alt-Tab to move to another window. I'm on Clear Linux. Any ideas how I can make this work?

Cybermax
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:26 pm

Re: WoW Classic installs but doesn't do anything on Play

Post by Cybermax » Sat Aug 31, 2019 4:11 pm

Somewhat vague troubleshooting i think? What does the logs say?

You also does not need D9VK with WoW classic, as it only run D3D11 afaik (There is no option to select anything). It does definitively NOT run the same as WoW did back in the day.. Ie. no -opengl and such. The difference between WoW classic and WoW 8.2.x i would say is the lack of D3D12, and the "new" D3D11 engine utilizing multithreading.

Other than that, the least problematic thing is to run in via the battle.net launcher.

WolleTD
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 4:00 pm

Re: WoW Classic installs but doesn't do anything on Play

Post by WolleTD » Fri Sep 06, 2019 4:03 pm

From the vague explaination, I probably encounter the same issue. A transparent fullscreen window spawns, then the game crashes with an err:seh:setup_exception stack overflow.

Arch Linux, Kernel 5.2.11, nvidia 435.21, Wine 4.15, dxvk 1.3.2 – but the same error occurs without dxvk.

I stripped the DKVK info lines from the log. A similar stack overflow occured with Wine 4.14 with only 30-something bytes.

Code: Select all

002c:fixme:kernelbase:AppPolicyGetThreadInitializationType FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFA, 000000000341FD80
002d:fixme:kernelbase:AppPolicyGetThreadInitializationType FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFA, 000000000352FD80
002b:err:listview:LISTVIEW_WindowProc unknown msg 109d wp=00000001 lp=00000000
002b:err:listview:LISTVIEW_WindowProc unknown msg 1091 wp=ffffffff lp=0024ca20
002b:err:listview:LISTVIEW_WindowProc unknown msg 1091 wp=ffffffff lp=0024ca20
002b:err:listview:LISTVIEW_WindowProc unknown msg 1091 wp=ffffffff lp=0024ca20
002b:err:listview:LISTVIEW_WindowProc unknown msg 1091 wp=ffffffff lp=0024ca20
002b:err:listview:LISTVIEW_WindowProc unknown msg 1091 wp=ffffffff lp=0024ca20
002b:fixme:mpr:WNetGetUniversalNameW (L"C:\\Program Files (x86)\\World of Warcraft\\Data\\data", 0x00000001, 000000000024C674, 000000000024C670): stub
0030:fixme:winhttp:get_system_proxy_autoconfig_url no support on this platform
0030:fixme:winhttp:WinHttpDetectAutoProxyConfigUrl discovery via DHCP not supported
[.. uninteresting DXVK stuff ..]
002b:fixme:d3d9:D3DPERF_SetOptions (0x1) : stub
[.. DXVK stuff ..]
002b:fixme:msctf:ThreadMgr_ActivateEx Unimplemented flags 0x4
[.. DXVK stuff ..]
002b:err:seh:setup_exception stack overflow 1552 bytes in thread 002b eip 000000007bc70549 esp 0000000000151000 stack 0x150000-0x151000-0x250000

retkid
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 6:29 am

Re: WoW Classic installs but doesn't do anything on Play

Post by retkid » Sat Sep 07, 2019 11:21 am

I dont have much to Add but I have a similar problem launching overwatch, which a similar stack overflow and error. Seems to be a Blizzard thing.

Cybermax
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:26 pm

Re: WoW Classic installs but doesn't do anything on Play

Post by Cybermax » Sat Sep 07, 2019 3:22 pm

Well, WoW classic uses the same Battle.net launcher as retail, so there should be no reason this should not work. Atleast it works fine for me...

Maybe some little tidbit is missing? Have you checked the AppDB for any particular install stuff? When you are logged into your account with the Battle.net launcher, you select "Classic" from the dropdown at the bottom and press play (after installing ofc).

The Battle.net launcher uses d3d11, so you should atleast have a working setup of DXVK in the wineprefix, although it will work with WineD3D aswell (if you dont mind a slideshow when gaming).

WolleTD
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 4:00 pm

Re: WoW Classic installs but doesn't do anything on Play

Post by WolleTD » Tue Sep 10, 2019 3:34 pm

I created a clean 64-bit Wine prefix, installed dxvk, Battle.net and WoW the usual way and in that order and reproduced the exact same error.

Battle.net client works pretty much with some glitchy graphics.

I used to play retail about two years ago on the exact same machine in wine. I haven't tested that again because I'd need to download 60 GB only to see if it launches at all and my connection isn't that fast.

Post Reply