WoW Classic installs but doesn't do anything on Play

Questions about Wine on Linux
Post Reply
Qushy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 9:30 am

WoW Classic installs but doesn't do anything on Play

Post by Qushy » Tue Aug 27, 2019 9:35 am

Hello, I just installed WoW on the default Wine prefix as the Lutris version didn't work. I've also installed core fonts, D9VK, DXVK and vcrun2017 in the prefix. When I press play the game window seems to pop up but then the system just hangs until I press Alt-Tab to move to another window. I'm on Clear Linux. Any ideas how I can make this work?

Cybermax
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 206
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:26 pm

Re: WoW Classic installs but doesn't do anything on Play

Post by Cybermax » Sat Aug 31, 2019 4:11 pm

Somewhat vague troubleshooting i think? What does the logs say?

You also does not need D9VK with WoW classic, as it only run D3D11 afaik (There is no option to select anything). It does definitively NOT run the same as WoW did back in the day.. Ie. no -opengl and such. The difference between WoW classic and WoW 8.2.x i would say is the lack of D3D12, and the "new" D3D11 engine utilizing multithreading.

Other than that, the least problematic thing is to run in via the battle.net launcher.

WolleTD
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 4:00 pm

Re: WoW Classic installs but doesn't do anything on Play

Post by WolleTD » Fri Sep 06, 2019 4:03 pm

From the vague explaination, I probably encounter the same issue. A transparent fullscreen window spawns, then the game crashes with an err:seh:setup_exception stack overflow.

Arch Linux, Kernel 5.2.11, nvidia 435.21, Wine 4.15, dxvk 1.3.2 – but the same error occurs without dxvk.

I stripped the DKVK info lines from the log. A similar stack overflow occured with Wine 4.14 with only 30-something bytes.

Code: Select all

002c:fixme:kernelbase:AppPolicyGetThreadInitializationType FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFA, 000000000341FD80
002d:fixme:kernelbase:AppPolicyGetThreadInitializationType FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFA, 000000000352FD80
002b:err:listview:LISTVIEW_WindowProc unknown msg 109d wp=00000001 lp=00000000
002b:err:listview:LISTVIEW_WindowProc unknown msg 1091 wp=ffffffff lp=0024ca20
002b:err:listview:LISTVIEW_WindowProc unknown msg 1091 wp=ffffffff lp=0024ca20
002b:err:listview:LISTVIEW_WindowProc unknown msg 1091 wp=ffffffff lp=0024ca20
002b:err:listview:LISTVIEW_WindowProc unknown msg 1091 wp=ffffffff lp=0024ca20
002b:err:listview:LISTVIEW_WindowProc unknown msg 1091 wp=ffffffff lp=0024ca20
002b:fixme:mpr:WNetGetUniversalNameW (L"C:\\Program Files (x86)\\World of Warcraft\\Data\\data", 0x00000001, 000000000024C674, 000000000024C670): stub
0030:fixme:winhttp:get_system_proxy_autoconfig_url no support on this platform
0030:fixme:winhttp:WinHttpDetectAutoProxyConfigUrl discovery via DHCP not supported
[.. uninteresting DXVK stuff ..]
002b:fixme:d3d9:D3DPERF_SetOptions (0x1) : stub
[.. DXVK stuff ..]
002b:fixme:msctf:ThreadMgr_ActivateEx Unimplemented flags 0x4
[.. DXVK stuff ..]
002b:err:seh:setup_exception stack overflow 1552 bytes in thread 002b eip 000000007bc70549 esp 0000000000151000 stack 0x150000-0x151000-0x250000

retkid
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 6:29 am

Re: WoW Classic installs but doesn't do anything on Play

Post by retkid » Sat Sep 07, 2019 11:21 am

I dont have much to Add but I have a similar problem launching overwatch, which a similar stack overflow and error. Seems to be a Blizzard thing.

Cybermax
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 206
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:26 pm

Re: WoW Classic installs but doesn't do anything on Play

Post by Cybermax » Sat Sep 07, 2019 3:22 pm

Well, WoW classic uses the same Battle.net launcher as retail, so there should be no reason this should not work. Atleast it works fine for me...

Maybe some little tidbit is missing? Have you checked the AppDB for any particular install stuff? When you are logged into your account with the Battle.net launcher, you select "Classic" from the dropdown at the bottom and press play (after installing ofc).

The Battle.net launcher uses d3d11, so you should atleast have a working setup of DXVK in the wineprefix, although it will work with WineD3D aswell (if you dont mind a slideshow when gaming).

WolleTD
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 4:00 pm

Re: WoW Classic installs but doesn't do anything on Play

Post by WolleTD » Tue Sep 10, 2019 3:34 pm

I created a clean 64-bit Wine prefix, installed dxvk, Battle.net and WoW the usual way and in that order and reproduced the exact same error.

Battle.net client works pretty much with some glitchy graphics.

I used to play retail about two years ago on the exact same machine in wine. I haven't tested that again because I'd need to download 60 GB only to see if it launches at all and my connection isn't that fast.

spoonfeddotz
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2019 9:59 pm

Re: WoW Classic installs but doesn't do anything on Play

Post by spoonfeddotz » Thu Dec 12, 2019 10:04 pm

I just did a clean installation of Ubuntu 19.10 with latest staging and am encountering this when attempting to start retail (8.2.5) from either the launcher itself or "wine Wow.exe". Has a solution or workaround been found?

Terminal output below:

Code: Select all

 wine Wow.exe
002c:fixme:kernelbase:AppPolicyGetThreadInitializationType FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFA, 0000000003D9FD80
002b:err:winediag:SECUR32_initNTLMSP ntlm_auth was not found or is outdated. Make sure that ntlm_auth >= 3.0.25 is in your path. Usually, you can find it in the winbind package of your distribution.
002b:err:listview:LISTVIEW_WindowProc unknown msg 109d wp=00000001 lp=00000000
002b:err:listview:LISTVIEW_WindowProc unknown msg 1091 wp=ffffffff lp=0022d0f0
002b:err:listview:LISTVIEW_WindowProc unknown msg 1091 wp=ffffffff lp=0022d0f0
002b:err:listview:LISTVIEW_WindowProc unknown msg 1091 wp=ffffffff lp=0022d0f0
002b:err:listview:LISTVIEW_WindowProc unknown msg 1091 wp=ffffffff lp=0022d0f0
002b:err:listview:LISTVIEW_WindowProc unknown msg 1091 wp=ffffffff lp=0022d0f0
002b:fixme:mpr:WNetGetUniversalNameW (L"C:\\Program Files (x86)\\World of Warcraft\\Data\\data", 0x00000001, 000000000022CD84, 000000000022CD80): stub
002b:fixme:ntdll:NtQuerySystemInformation info_class SYSTEM_PERFORMANCE_INFORMATION
002b:fixme:d3d11:d3d11_device_CheckFeatureSupport Returning fake threading support data.
002b:fixme:dxgi:dxgi_factory_CheckFeatureSupport iface 0x68361d0, feature 0, feature_data 0x22f620, data_size 4 stub!
fixme:d3d12_device_CheckFeatureSupport: Root signature version 1_1 not supported yet.
fixme:d3d12_device_CheckFeatureSupport: Unhandled feature 0x7.
fixme:d3d12_device_CheckFeatureSupport: Unhandled feature 0x7.
fixme:d3d12_device_CheckFeatureSupport: Unhandled feature 0x7.
fixme:d3d12_device_CheckFeatureSupport: Unhandled feature 0x7.
fixme:d3d12_device_CheckFeatureSupport: Unhandled feature 0x7.
fixme:d3d12_device_CheckFeatureSupport: Unhandled feature 0x7.
fixme:d3d12_device_CheckFeatureSupport: Unhandled feature 0x15.
fixme:vkd3d_serialize_root_signature: Ignoring error blob 0x22f670.
fixme:d3d12_root_signature_init: Ignoring root signature flags 0x1.
fixme:vkd3d_serialize_root_signature: Ignoring error blob 0x22f670.
fixme:d3d12_root_signature_init: Ignoring root signature flags 0x1.
002b:fixme:dxgi:d3d12_swapchain_init Ignoring swap effect 0x4.
002b:fixme:dxgi:wined3d_swapchain_desc_from_dxgi Ignoring alpha mode 0.
002b:fixme:msctf:ThreadMgr_ActivateEx Unimplemented flags 0x4
002b:fixme:dxgi:dxgi_adapter_QueryVideoMemoryInfo Returning fake video memory info.
fixme:d3d12_command_queue_GetPrivateData: iface 0x7eba32e0, guid {000000f0-0000-000d-e032-ba7e00000000}, data_size 0x22f7e8, data 0x22f7b0 stub!fixme:d3d12_command_queue_SetPrivateData: iface 0x7eba32e0, guid {000000f0-0000-000d-e032-ba7e00000000}, data_size 16, data 0x22f7b0 stub!
002b:err:seh:setup_exception stack overflow 1792 bytes in thread 002b eip 000000007bcc66e5 esp 0000000000130f10 stack 0x130000-0x131000-0x230000
Killed

spoonfeddotz
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2019 9:59 pm

Re: WoW Classic installs but doesn't do anything on Play

Post by spoonfeddotz » Fri Dec 13, 2019 10:10 pm

Don't see a way to edit my post but have an update. After reading a bit, noticed people with Ubuntu seem to be having a lot of issues. Switched to Manjaro and now the game starts but has various texture issues and lackluster framerate.

Specs in case it matters: AMD Phenom II X4 945, 8GB ram, Gigabyte RX 550 1GB, PNY SSD.

Cybermax
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 206
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:26 pm

Re: WoW Classic installs but doesn't do anything on Play

Post by Cybermax » Sat Dec 14, 2019 11:17 am

I see you are attempting to run with D3D12 (the default), and that will not work "out-of-the-box" with most distro's these days afaik. Ubuntu 19.10 got vkd3d_1.1 (not working), Manjaro is built on Arch, and default Arch also might have too old an libvkd3d.

So, you either need to get some updated libvkd3d git + additional patches AND additional wine patches (and build wine yourself) to get World of Warcraft to run with D3D12. (Yes.. really).

You CAN run World of Warcraft with wined3d d3d11 (using D3D11Legacy setting in WoW), but performance is.. uhm.. well.. Maybe to check your auction bot or something :)
Or, you could run World of Warcraft with D3D11, and use DXVK (not a wine package, and unsupported here).

Post Reply