Wine 4.0.1 Regression? I can't use the CUEcards properly

Questions about Wine on Linux
squiffy
Level 2
Level 2

Wine 4.0.1 Regression? I can't use the CUEcards properly

Post by squiffy »

Hi,

I have been using CUEcards since 2012 under Linux/Wine. So far I had no problems. I installed two DLL via Winetricks and CUEcards ran fine. Since the update to Linux Mint 19.1 and Wine 4.0.1 the program crashes reproducibly when I switch between a folder and a flashcard in the internal file browser. This is also true for CUEcards 2000 (freeware) and, not to the same extent, also for the CCReader, which is also free

(This is a copied post from the thread Wine 3.0.5 install)
jkfloris wrote:If there is a regression between two Wine versions that is a bug and should be know by the Wine developers.
Okay. I've never done this before, but I'll try it. Do I have to set up a new account? My forum account does not work for the Wine HQ Bugzilla forum.
jkfloris wrote: @squiffy
Is this the program that you mean?
Both versions seems to run fine with wine 4-12.1
If you are still experiencing problems, create a new forum post.
Yes, that's the program. Also the reader, which is also free. It doesn't crash so easily but it also causes problems. I have been using the programs under Wine since 2012 and they have always worked. You had to install two DLLs over Winetricks and then it ran without problems. The program still works, but if you switch back and forth between folders and flashcards it crashes reproducibly.
Can you tell me how to install wine 4-12.1 on my system? 4.12.1 is a development version. Do I have to uninstall 4.0.1 first? Sorry for the questions, but I've never had to do anything like this before.
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12

Re: Wine 4.0.1 Regression? I can't use the CUEcards properly

Post by jkfloris »

You could install Wine 4.12.1 with:

Code: Select all

sudo apt install --install-recommends wine-devel wine-devel-amd64 wine-devel-i386:i386