Capita SIMS

Questions about Wine on Linux
Post Reply
interele
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 1:48 am

Capita SIMS

Post by interele » Fri May 17, 2019 2:25 am

I have been trying to get Capita SIMS working on openSUSE. This is ( unfortunately ) the default management system in schools and the client is only available for Windows. This I suspect is one of the main reasons schools ( at least in the UK ) shy away from GNU/Linux. Anyway I have it running and it looks ( apart from two things ) beautiful, actually better than it does in Windows. The two things are listed below and I have attached screen shots. If anyone can offer any suggestions I would greatly appreciate it

1. Login box is wrong. The username is mostly hidden under the title bar
2. Some text is out of align on screens

Ta

Mal
Attachments
fontalign.png
Some text is out of alignment
loginbox.png
Login box with hidden username
loginbox.png (16.64 KiB) Viewed 485 times

jkfloris
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 654
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: Capita SIMS

Post by jkfloris » Fri May 17, 2019 8:49 am

How did you install the program? Did you use any winetricks?

Can you post a terminal output?
https://wiki.winehq.org/Wine_User's_Gui ... mmand_line

User avatar
Bob Wya
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 2759
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm
Location: Cambridge
Contact:

Re: Capita SIMS

Post by Bob Wya » Fri May 17, 2019 9:01 am

interele wrote:...
  1. Login box is wrong. The username is mostly hidden under the title bar
  2. Some text is out of align on screens
It would also be helpful to have some screenshots, taken on a native Windows system, for the purposes of comparison (re: issue #2)...

It might also be helpfui to have a Wine terminal log, with the +font channel enabled:

Code: Select all

export WINEDEBUG=+font
wine ...
Ta
Bob

interele
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 1:48 am

Re: Capita SIMS

Post by interele » Tue May 21, 2019 4:28 am

Here is what it looks like on Windows
I will do the other stuff later today
Attachments
screenwin.png
Query screen on Windows 7

User avatar
Bob Wya
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 2759
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm
Location: Cambridge
Contact:

Re: Capita SIMS

Post by Bob Wya » Tue May 21, 2019 6:45 pm

interele wrote:Here is what it looks like on Windows
I will do the other stuff later today
Could you change the Wine debug channels to:

Code: Select all

export WINEDEBUG=+font,+loaddll,+module
wine ...
So hopefully we can see what controls framework your application is trying to load...

Thanks
Bob

interele
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 1:48 am

Re: Capita SIMS

Post by interele » Thu May 30, 2019 3:18 am

I haven't forgotten about this. I did something and now the app doesn't work at all !
As soon as I get it going again I'll come back

Ta

M

User avatar
DarkShadow44
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 910
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 5:39 pm

Re: Capita SIMS

Post by DarkShadow44 » Thu May 30, 2019 7:49 am

Does that program have a free download?

Post Reply