WineHQ
Wine Forums

Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help » Linux




 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 



 
Author Message
 Post subject: Capita SIMS
 Post Posted: Fri May 17, 2019 2:25 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 1:48 am
Posts: 3
I have been trying to get Capita SIMS working on openSUSE. This is ( unfortunately ) the default management system in schools and the client is only available for Windows. This I suspect is one of the main reasons schools ( at least in the UK ) shy away from GNU/Linux. Anyway I have it running and it looks ( apart from two things ) beautiful, actually better than it does in Windows. The two things are listed below and I have attached screen shots. If anyone can offer any suggestions I would greatly appreciate it

1. Login box is wrong. The username is mostly hidden under the title bar
2. Some text is out of align on screens

Ta

Mal


Attachments:
File comment: Some text is out of alignment
fontalign.png
fontalign.png [ 163.25 KiB | Viewed 229 times ]
File comment: Login box with hidden username
loginbox.png
loginbox.png [ 16.64 KiB | Viewed 229 times ]
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Capita SIMS
 Post Posted: Fri May 17, 2019 8:49 am 
Offline
Level 5
Level 5

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am
Posts: 464
How did you install the program? Did you use any winetricks?

Can you post a terminal output?
https://wiki.winehq.org/Wine_User's_Gui ... mmand_line


Top 
 Post subject: Re: Capita SIMS
 Post Posted: Fri May 17, 2019 9:01 am 
Offline
Level 12
Level 12
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm
Posts: 2637
Location: Cambridge
interele wrote:
...
  1. Login box is wrong. The username is mostly hidden under the title bar
  2. Some text is out of align on screens


It would also be helpful to have some screenshots, taken on a native Windows system, for the purposes of comparison (re: issue #2)...

It might also be helpfui to have a Wine terminal log, with the +font channel enabled:
Code:
export WINEDEBUG=+font
wine ...


Ta
Bob


Top 
 Post subject: Re: Capita SIMS
 Post Posted: Tue May 21, 2019 4:28 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 1:48 am
Posts: 3
Here is what it looks like on Windows
I will do the other stuff later today


Attachments:
File comment: Query screen on Windows 7
screenwin.png
screenwin.png [ 174.48 KiB | Viewed 166 times ]
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Capita SIMS
 Post Posted: Tue May 21, 2019 6:45 pm 
Offline
Level 12
Level 12
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm
Posts: 2637
Location: Cambridge
interele wrote:
Here is what it looks like on Windows
I will do the other stuff later today


Could you change the Wine debug channels to:
Code:
export WINEDEBUG=+font,+loaddll,+module
wine ...

So hopefully we can see what controls framework your application is trying to load...

Thanks
Bob


Top 
 Post subject: Re: Capita SIMS
 Post Posted: Thu May 30, 2019 3:18 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 1:48 am
Posts: 3
I haven't forgotten about this. I did something and now the app doesn't work at all !
As soon as I get it going again I'll come back

Ta

M


Top 
 Post subject: Re: Capita SIMS
 Post Posted: Thu May 30, 2019 7:49 am 
Offline
Level 7
Level 7
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 5:39 pm
Posts: 783
Does that program have a free download?


Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 




Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help » Linux


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 17 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: