WineHQ
Wine Forums

Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help » Linux




 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 



 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Wed May 01, 2019 9:43 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed May 01, 2019 9:32 pm
Posts: 4
Hello! I'm trying to get the game The Movies to work (Mint, Wine 4.7). I followed the instructions on the AppDB page to get WMP 10 and DirectX 9 via winetricks, that was all fine. But when I actually get to the installing part, it gets to "updating component registration" and spits out a fatal error, 1603. I managed to get past the multi disc issue by putting the files on my hard drive instead, but also used discs with wine eject as well, same result (error). I would like to get this working, so any help would be appreciated! Also tell me if there's any more information you need.


Top 
 Post Posted: Thu May 02, 2019 4:39 pm 
Offline
Level 5
Level 5

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am
Posts: 434
Set the Windows version to Windows XP with winecfg to get rid of the 1603 error.


Top 
 Post Posted: Thu May 02, 2019 11:42 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed May 01, 2019 9:32 pm
Posts: 4
jkfloris wrote:
Set the Windows version to Windows XP with winecfg to get rid of the 1603 error.

Unfortunately, I also tried that before. Tried again with Win98 set as well, no dice.


Top 
 Post Posted: Sat May 04, 2019 2:29 pm 
Offline
Level 5
Level 5

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am
Posts: 434
Do you also get the 1603 error in a clean 32 bit wineprefix set to Windows XP. And use "wine eject <drive:>" to switch between the CD's?


Top 
 Post Posted: Sat May 04, 2019 5:52 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed May 01, 2019 9:32 pm
Posts: 4
jkfloris wrote:
Do you also get the 1603 error in a clean 32 bit wineprefix set to Windows XP. And use "wine eject <drive:>" to switch between the CD's?

Tried the latter, same result. The wineprefix was pretty clean to begin with, but I made another without either of the extra winetricks things and tried again. 1603. Really not sure why it refuses to work.


Top 
 Post Posted: Sun May 05, 2019 4:34 am 
Offline
Level 5
Level 5

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am
Posts: 434
Can you post a terminal output, including the Wine command you use?


Top 
 Post Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 12:13 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed May 01, 2019 9:32 pm
Posts: 4
I figured it out! It wouldn't work with CDs at all, but by putting all the files in the same folder, not separated in any way (this is the key), I was able to get it to finish. I noticed terminal output was asking for a file that it couldn't find, so... Gameplay seems to be working as well, so I guess this is solved.


Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 




Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help » Linux


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: