starcraft and battle.net don't render properly.

Questions about Wine on Linux
Post Reply
zapper
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 7:58 pm

starcraft and battle.net don't render properly.

Post by zapper » Sun Apr 14, 2019 9:45 pm

For some reason, battle.net's app only shows a blue square and nothing else. Starcraft shows nothing but blackness.

Any ideas what could be behind this?

Using wine-staging 4.6. My os is a linux distrobution.

It is arch based, but uses debian packages and is a hybrid kind of. So ignore that part.

Wine-staging 4.5 had no issues for me, but wine-staging 4.6 has this issue as odd as that sounds.

I compiled it from source using this website/the github guides and then applied it to my os...

And again, wine-staging 4.6 has the issues not 4.5 wine-staging...

Cybermax
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:26 pm

Re: starcraft and battle.net don't render properly.

Post by Cybermax » Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:08 am

I don't have the same issue with Wine-Staging-4.6 and Battle.net, but was it not a "mono" update (.net implementation thingy) for 4.6?
mscoree: Update Wine Mono to 4.8.1.
mscoree: Check for mono runtime path in registry
From the patchlist for 4.6.

Perhaps some mono update gone wrong? (Cos i really think the Battle.net app needs a working Mono).

zapper
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 7:58 pm

Re: starcraft and battle.net don't render properly.

Post by zapper » Sat Apr 20, 2019 1:40 pm

Cybermax wrote:I don't have the same issue with Wine-Staging-4.6 and Battle.net, but was it not a "mono" update (.net implementation thingy) for 4.6?
mscoree: Update Wine Mono to 4.8.1.
mscoree: Check for mono runtime path in registry
From the patchlist for 4.6.

Perhaps some mono update gone wrong? (Cos i really think the Battle.net app needs a working Mono).
Okay, how does one install wine mono from source?

zapper
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 7:58 pm

Re: starcraft and battle.net don't render properly.

Post by zapper » Wed Apr 24, 2019 12:51 am

Hm... it appears I have found the solution: wine-staging + corefonts from winetricks. and now it works alot better. :)

Mark solved I will if I can.

User avatar
Bob Wya
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 2772
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm
Location: Cambridge
Contact:

Re: starcraft and battle.net don't render properly.

Post by Bob Wya » Wed Apr 24, 2019 4:01 am

zapper wrote:Mark solved I will if I can.
You can't - due to forum spam bots...
You also only get a 10-30 (?) minute editing window for forum posts...

Bob

zapper
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 7:58 pm

Re: starcraft and battle.net don't render properly.

Post by zapper » Mon Apr 29, 2019 4:28 pm

Bob Wya wrote:
zapper wrote:Mark solved I will if I can.
You can't - due to forum spam bots...
You also only get a 10-30 (?) minute editing window for forum posts...

Bob
Well, that's a shame, meh... 4.7 wine-staging works fine though. :)

corefonts helps a lot.

Cybermax
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:26 pm

Re: starcraft and battle.net don't render properly.

Post by Cybermax » Tue Apr 30, 2019 3:30 pm

zapper wrote:
Bob Wya wrote:
zapper wrote:Mark solved I will if I can.
You can't - due to forum spam bots...
You also only get a 10-30 (?) minute editing window for forum posts...

Bob
Well, that's a shame, meh... 4.7 wine-staging works fine though. :)

corefonts helps a lot.
Huh? Wine-staging-4.7 works fine with Battle.net? Self compiled, or from winehq.org?

Cos wine-staging-4.7 "release" is broken without https://github.com/wine-staging/wine-st ... bacd9cc36f for battle.net for a few ppl.

zapper
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 7:58 pm

Re: starcraft and battle.net don't render properly.

Post by zapper » Tue Apr 30, 2019 9:15 pm

corefonts helps a lot.[/quote]
Huh? Wine-staging-4.7 works fine with Battle.net? Self compiled, or from winehq.org?

Cos wine-staging-4.7 "release" is broken without https://github.com/wine-staging/wine-st ... bacd9cc36f for battle.net for a few ppl.[/quote]

Wine-devel + wine-staging via the github page. And yes, 4.6 broke for me, but when I compiled wine 4.7-staging, it worked well.

https://github.com/wine-staging/wine-staging + winehq's 4.7 devel and winetricks + corefonts. I use a distro called Hyperbola so I had to use sources, its not a rolling release distro but it is, Based on ARCH but with debian packages for stability and security. Hyperbola.info is the website.

User avatar
Bob Wya
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 2772
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm
Location: Cambridge
Contact:

Re: starcraft and battle.net don't render properly.

Post by Bob Wya » Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:57 pm

Cybermax wrote:...
Huh? Wine-staging-4.7 works fine with Battle.net? Self compiled, or from winehq.org?

Cos wine-staging-4.7 "release" is broken without https://github.com/wine-staging/wine-st ... bacd9cc36f for battle.net for a few ppl.
Surely that'll only be an issue if the end-user chooses to enable eventfd_synchronization (aka wine-esync) with:

Code: Select all

export WINEESYNC=1
This is not the default behaviour however...

Bob

Cybermax
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:26 pm

Re: starcraft and battle.net don't render properly.

Post by Cybermax » Thu May 02, 2019 2:44 pm

Bob Wya wrote: This is not the default behaviour however...

Bob
Aaah.. Its default OFF.. doh :)

Hehe.. guess a lot of ppl actually have no clue its even there, cos its not really "documented" that well for those that dont know/have never used.

Sveinar

User avatar
Bob Wya
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 2772
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm
Location: Cambridge
Contact:

Re: starcraft and battle.net don't render properly.

Post by Bob Wya » Thu May 02, 2019 3:41 pm

Cybermax wrote: Aaah.. Its default OFF.. doh :)

Hehe.. guess a lot of ppl actually have no clue its even there, cos its not really "documented" that well for those that dont know/have never used.

Sveinar
I've spent hours f****ing about rebasing the damn patchset for my Gentoo Wine ebuilds (do we really need 84 patches!)
So it's not entirely by choice that I'm somewhat familiar with it... 8)

In fact I'm still rebasing wine-esync for vanilla Wine. Dealing with additional breakages every week or so...
If I wasn't such a stickler for ensuring the rebased patches apply without fuzzing... :shock:

Bob

Cybermax
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:26 pm

Re: starcraft and battle.net don't render properly.

Post by Cybermax » Thu May 02, 2019 3:53 pm

Bob Wya wrote: If I wasn't such a stickler for ensuring the rebased patches apply without fuzzing... :shock:

Bob
Where is the thumbs up smily thing? :)

Post Reply