FreeType fonts outdated?

Questions about Wine on Linux
Ikkarin

FreeType fonts outdated?

Post by Ikkarin »

Hello!

I was initiated to Linux very recently since my Windows partition blew up (I got it back, but I guess the charm of Ubuntu made me stay) and although I love it and am already getting comfortable with it, I'm an artist and Paint Tool SAI is an essential Windows painting software for me such that Krita can't replace it, so I need some help to get it running on Ubuntu.

My version of Ubuntu is Bionic Beaver (18.04.1 LTS) and the main issue is that, through the tutorials I've found scattered about the internet, I have tried to run Paint Tool SAI through PlayOnLinux with two Wine builds: 2.12-staging and 1.5.5-SAI, the patch made for the software. However, although Wine can launch it just fine with the first build, the program can't recognize pen pressure which is imperative for quality drawing. The build that allegedly should support pen pressure is the latter, which only seems to not launch the application at all just for me, since I couldn't find the following issue anywhere else. Standard versions of Wine not being able to emulate Wacom tablets' pen pressure seem to be a 5-year long standing problem so I believe it might be a better shot to try to get this patch to work.

This is the output of the debug.

Code: Select all

[12/08/18 22:01:42] - Running wine-1.5.5-SAI sai.exe (Working directory : /home/tatsuru/.PlayOnLinux/wineprefix/PaintToolSAI/drive_c/Program Files/PaintToolSAI)
Wine cannot find the FreeType font library.  To enable Wine to
use TrueType fonts please install a version of FreeType greater than
or equal to 2.0.5.
http://www.freetype.org
err:module:load_builtin_dll failed to load .so lib for builtin L"winex11.drv": libSM.so.6: não é possível abrir arquivo compartilhado: Arquivo ou diretório inexistente