WineHQ
Wine Forums

Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help » Linux




 Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 



 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 7:22 am 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 11:04 pm
Posts: 25
Using Kubuntu 18.04.01 and Wine 3.18

I am trying to install a program in a wineprefix by running:
Code:
$ WINEPREFIX=~/.wine/program1 wine ~/Downloads/program/install/Setup.exe

however 2 error messages pop up:
1/ Insufficient free disk space.
2/ Cannot prepare main package. Probably incorrect TMP/TEMP variables or there is no execute permission for temporary folder.

There are TBs of free space
Code:
scott@scottubuntu:~$ df
Filesystem      1K-blocks      Used  Available Use% Mounted on
udev              8148724         0    8148724   0% /dev
tmpfs             1636644      3096    1633548   1% /run
/dev/sdc2      3844123664  17652788 3631129872   1% /
tmpfs             8183204     65012    8118192   1% /dev/shm
tmpfs                5120         4       5116   1% /run/lock
tmpfs             8183204         0    8183204   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
/dev/sdb1      1953512444 385893060 1567619384  20% /media/data3
/dev/sdd1      1953512444 297439896 1656072548  16% /media/data1
/dev/sda2           98304     30833      67471  32% /boot/efi
/dev/sde1      3907016700 642715108 3264301592  17% /media/data4
tmpfs             1636640        20    1636620   1% /run/user/1000
scott@scottubuntu:~$


I don't know what temp folder this message refers to so I have not checked permissions.

This program did install successfully on Kubuntu 17.10 and Wine 2 point something.

Anyone have any ideas?


Top 
 Post Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 7:35 am 
Offline
Level 12
Level 12
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm
Posts: 2337
Location: Cambridge
shag00 wrote:
Using Kubuntu 18.04.01 and Wine 3.18

I am trying to install a program in a Wineprefix by running:
Code:
$ WINEPREFIX=~/.wine/program1 wine ~/Downloads/program/install/Setup.exe


You'd want to use:
Code:
WINEPREFIX=~/.program1 wine start /unix ~/Downloads/program/install/Setup.exe

See: Wine User's Guide: 3 Using Wine.

You cannot nest WINEPREFIX's inside each other like that.
This is already the root of the default WINEPREFIX:
Code:
~/.wine

This works much the same way with MS Windows, in that you cannot install MS Windows within MS Windows (on bare metal)! :shock:

Bob


Top 
 Post Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 4:02 am 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 11:04 pm
Posts: 25
@Bob, thank you for your reply however please note I installed wine and then setup folders, each with it's own prefix, in the .wine directory for every program I run in wine. So the directory structure looks like:
Home>.wine>program1 (with a separate wine prefix and a single windows program)
>>>>>>>>>>program2 (with a separate wine prefix and a single windows program)
>>>>>>>>>>program3 (with a separate wine prefix and a single windows program)
>>>>>>>>>>program4 this is the one I am having problems with

The subject of this post is actually attempting to install the program in Home>.wine>program4. So that would suggest my directory structure is OK as I have 3 other programs which did install without issue and do work. It is not a case of just having a single prefix in (.wine) in my home directory.


Top 
 Post Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 5:54 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 12362
No, from what you just described, Bob is correct: you've created multiple wineprefixes within the default ~/.wine one. If it worked for some programs you got lucky, but that structure is not supported. What you need to create is
~/program1
~/program2
etc.


Top 
 Post Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 5:16 am 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 11:04 pm
Posts: 25
Alrighty, set up a new prefix outside of the existing prefix with the same result, ie $ WINEPREFIX=~/.winep1


Top 
 Post Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 5:25 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 12362
What is the program you're trying to install? If it's a very old program, try setting the Windows version to Windows 98. https://wiki.winehq.org/FAQ#My_installe ... disk_space


Top 
 Post Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 3:23 am 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 11:04 pm
Posts: 25
The program is wavelab 6 and yes it is old and the prefix is set to Windows XP which has worked in previous versions of wine.


Top 
 Post Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 5:40 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 12362
Is this your bug? https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=46013


Top 
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2018 11:01 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 11:04 pm
Posts: 25
Although some time has passed yes, it is my bug and I have finally found the root cause, that program will not install on a disk bigger than 2TB. It is an installer issue that causes the same problem when installed in a Windows system.


Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
 Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 




Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help » Linux


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: