Setting/overriding DOS File attributes

Questions about Wine on Linux
Atrax

Setting/overriding DOS File attributes

Post by Atrax »

Hi there. I'm new to Wine and to this forum so please excuse me if I make some brain-dead mistakes.

I have some very old Windows software I'm trying to run under Wine on Ubuntu, and the problem is that it requires a certain file to have specific file attributes.

The file in question is on a FAT32 formatted USB drive. It needs to have "Read-only", "System" and "Hidden" attributes set and the "Archive" attribute must NOT be set. On my Windows system, I can verify that this file has the correct attributes, both under Windows Explorer and by running "attrib" under a DOS box.

However, when I run the software under Wine it tells me the file has the wrong attributes. I ran cmd.exe under Wine and executed the DOS command "attrib" and it tells me the file is "Read-only" and "Archive". I tried to change the file attributes by using the attrib command, but this didn't change anything.

Now I can understand why this may be the case; The Unix file system doesn't have any concept of an "Archive" bit and the closest it comes to "System" and "Hidden" attributes is by using a dot prefix. So it seems to me that what I need is a way to either have Wine access the file attributes on the FAT32 volume directly (which presumably means bypassing the Linux file system) or at least to have some way of manually setting the attributes of a file within Wine. However, I have been unable to find any reference to this in the documentation or Wiki, so I assume that neither of these solutions has been implemented.

Am I missing something? Is there a known solution to this issue? Even an ugly kludge would be acceptable.
spoon0042
Level 6
Level 6

Re: Setting/overriding DOS File attributes

Post by spoon0042 »