WineHQ
Wine Forums

Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help » Linux




 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 



 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 9:44 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:22 am
Posts: 14
So I created a 32 bit prefix- "prefix32" using
Code:
WINEPREFIX="$HOME/prefix32" WINEARCH=win32 wine wineboot

Then I deleted it after sometime.
Now whenever I open any game it starts to create the "prefix32" and then use that prefix to run the games. I don't want that. My default prefix is .wine, It has every components needed to run my games. I want this prefix to be used when launching the game from the desktop. I know we can run games via terminal using a definite prefix,but I need to run from desktop not from terminal.
I tried
Code:
WINEPREFIX=$HOME/.wine wine wineboot

It didn't work. What is the exact line of codes to do this?


Top 
 Post Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 6:46 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 12356
If you want to run your games from that wineprefix, you have to install them to it. As far as Windows apps know, the wineprefix is the computer and trying to run an app in one wineprefix from another one is like trying to run apps installed on a different computer. https://wiki.winehq.org/FAQ#How_can_I_r ... mputers.3F


Top 
 Post Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 6:54 am 
Offline
Level 5
Level 5

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am
Posts: 259
~/.wine is the default WINEPREFIX directory but you can override this.
Some common places to set the override are:
Code:
~/.bashrc
~/.bash_aliases

Check your system environment variables with:
Code:
env
set

Look for a line with "WINEPREFIX"

Also make sure the WINEPREFIX isn't set in your game .desktop shortcut.


Top 
 Post Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 6:56 am 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:22 am
Posts: 14
dimesio wrote:
If you want to run your games from that wineprefix, you have to install them to it. As far as Windows apps know, the wineprefix is the computer and trying to run an app in one wineprefix from another one is like trying to run apps installed on a different computer. https://wiki.winehq.org/FAQ#How_can_I_r ... mputers.3F

The games are installed in that wineprefix(.wine) only,I dont know why it is happening.


Top 
 Post Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 7:23 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 12356
As jkfloris says, check that you haven't set a new default wineprefix somewhere, or that any desktop links don't point to it. If that's not the case, post terminal output from running a game that exhibits this problem.


Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 




Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help » Linux


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: