Milkshape3D and Orbiter

Questions about Wine on Linux
jkfloris
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 660
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: Milkshape3D and Orbiter

Post by jkfloris » Sat Nov 24, 2018 3:53 am

You can verify the installation with:

Code: Select all

$ winetricks list-installed

michaelblucher
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 7:30 pm

Re: Milkshape3D and Orbiter

Post by michaelblucher » Sat Nov 24, 2018 7:59 am

Hi
That came back with:
Using winetricks 20170101 - sha1sum: c844fda0cca25ac9ed0ed1b55cd138cab6a4af16 with wine-3.19-220-g5e0d1c89ed and WINEARCH=win32
mfc42
msvcirt
vcrun2008
vcrun6sp6
vcrun6
Michael B

jkfloris
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 660
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: Milkshape3D and Orbiter

Post by jkfloris » Sun Nov 25, 2018 5:02 am

I'm afraid you have to start over again.
- Create a new 32-bit Wineprefix set to WinXP
https://wiki.winehq.org/FAQ#Wineprefixes

- Update Winetricks and install mfc42 and vcrun6

- Install Milkshape

michaelblucher
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 7:30 pm

Re: Milkshape3D and Orbiter

Post by michaelblucher » Sun Nov 25, 2018 6:31 pm

I'm starting to get confused.

Is the following code what I need to run:-

Code: Select all

unset WINEPREFIX
WINEPREFIX=~/milkshape3d WINEARCH=win32 winetricks winxp
WINEPREFIX=~/milkshape3d winetricks msvcirt mfc42 vcrun6
Then reinstall MilkShape3D 1.8.4?

Question:
How does ~/milkshape3d relate back to the installed Milk Shape?

The folder for MilkShape3D 1.8.4 will end up being:
/home/knoppix/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/MilkShape 3D 1.8.4
or in Windows / DOS parlance:
"C:\Program Files\MilkShape 3D 1.8.4"

Is the ~/milkshape3d correct in the Wine Prefix?

Michael B.

jkfloris
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 660
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: Milkshape3D and Orbiter

Post by jkfloris » Mon Nov 26, 2018 3:04 am

How does ~/milkshape3d relate back to the installed Milk Shape?
The ~/milkshape3d folder will be an other "virtual Windows installation".
You will need to use WINEPREFIX=~/milkshape3d every time you use Milkshape.
The installation command will be sometime like:

Code: Select all

WINEPREFIX=~/milkshape3d wine ms3d184setup.exe
If you want to run Milkshape after the installation:

Code: Select all

WINEPREFIX=~/milkshape3d wine start /unix /home/knoppix/milkshape3d/drive_c/Program\ Files/MilkShape\ 3D\ 1.8.4\ms3d.exe
#or
WINEPREFIX=~/milkshape3d wine "C:\Program Files\MilkShape 3D 1.8.4\ms3d.exe"
#or
cd /home/knoppix/milkshape3d/drive_c/Program\ Files/MilkShape\ 3D\ 1.8.4
WINEPREFIX=~/milkshape3d wine ms3d.exe
Is the ~/milkshape3d correct in the Wine Prefix?
You can use almost every name for a Wineprefix.

michaelblucher
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 7:30 pm

Re: Milkshape3D and Orbiter

Post by michaelblucher » Mon Nov 26, 2018 8:27 pm

Hi

I'm not having any joy with this. I've tried all of the above suggestions and I get the same result each time.
There seems to be some sort of "disconnect" between the MilkShape 3D 1.8.4 software and the mfc42.dll file.

Michael B.
P.S. Are we certain the Milk Shape 3D works with wine?

User avatar
Bob Wya
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 2764
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm
Location: Cambridge
Contact:

Re: Milkshape3D and Orbiter

Post by Bob Wya » Tue Nov 27, 2018 7:57 am

@michaelblucher

I tested out the demo of the MikeShape 3D 1.8.5 beta 1 version... This appears to work OK for me.

Testing using a 32-bit WINEPREFIX, with either: Wine Stable 3.0.4 RC1 or Wine Staging 3.21...

Installation

Code: Select all

export WINEPREFIX="${HOME}/milkshape_3d_32"
WINEARCH=win32 wineboot -u
winetricks isolate_home
cd "${WINEPREFIX}/drive_c"
unzip ~/Downloads/ms3d185beta1.zip
winetricks vcrun6sp6
wine ms3d185setup.exe
Launching

Code: Select all

# note: to get the executable path - used below
strings "${WINEPREFIX}/drive_c/users/robert/Start Menu/Programs/MilkShape 3D 1.8.5/MilkShape 3D 1.8.5.lnk" | egrep '^C:\\'

export WINEPREFIX="${HOME}/milkshape_3d_32"
wine start 'C:\Program Files\MilkShape 3D 1.8.5\ms3d.exe'
Bob
MikeShape 3D 1.8.5 beta.jpg

michaelblucher
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 7:30 pm

Re: Milkshape3D and Orbiter

Post by michaelblucher » Thu Nov 29, 2018 3:04 am

Hi
I tried that. I get the same error about the missing file: mfc42.dll
Michael B.
P.S. Maybe its just a Knoppix thing?

User avatar
Bob Wya
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 2764
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm
Location: Cambridge
Contact:

Re: Milkshape3D and Orbiter

Post by Bob Wya » Thu Nov 29, 2018 4:42 am

@michaelblucher

You also need to update your outdated winetricks version.
See: Github: bobwya/winetricks README.
(Linking to my winetricks fork, as the pull-request for cleaning up the documentation has been approved yet.)

As for it being easier to compile Wine from source... Famous last words. :lol:
Till you find 50%(+) of your applications don't run...
It's generally better to use a packaged version of Wine (as long as it's not obsolete).

Bob

michaelblucher
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 7:30 pm

Re: Milkshape3D and Orbiter

Post by michaelblucher » Sat Dec 01, 2018 3:57 am

Hi

I've updated Winetricks to the latest version. I get exactly the same results as before.

Note:
Every piece of software I've installed on Knoppix has required a lot of work to get running.

I'm thinking this is no different. There will turn out to be something missing from Knoppix and I've just got to figure it out.

Michael B.

michaelblucher
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 7:30 pm

Re: Milkshape3D and Orbiter

Post by michaelblucher » Sun Dec 02, 2018 7:47 pm

Hi

Maybe this might be part of the problem.
Since updating winetricks, I get the following when installing vcrun6sp6.

Code: Select all


2018-12-03 11:45:25 (4.56 MB/s) - ‘Vs6sp6.exe’ saved [63799912/63799912]

Executing cd /home/knoppix
Executing cabextract -q /home/knoppix/.cache/winetricks/vcrun6sp6/Vs6sp6.exe -d /home/knoppix/.wine/dosdevices/c:/windows/temp/_vcrun6sp6 -F vcredist.exe
Executing cd /home/knoppix/.wine/dosdevices/c:/windows/temp/_vcrun6sp6
Executing rm -f /home/knoppix/.wine/dosdevices/c:/windows/system32/comcat.dll
Executing rm -f /home/knoppix/.wine/dosdevices/c:/windows/system32/msvcrt.dll
Executing rm -f /home/knoppix/.wine/dosdevices/c:/windows/system32/oleaut32.dll
Executing rm -f /home/knoppix/.wine/dosdevices/c:/windows/system32/olepro32.dll
Executing rm -f /home/knoppix/.wine/dosdevices/c:/windows/system32/stdole2.tlb
wine: Bad EXE format for C:\windows\temp\_vcrun6sp6\vcredist.exe.
------------------------------------------------------
vcrun6sp6 installation failed
------------------------------------------------------
Note the last few lines above.

Michael B.

User avatar
Bob Wya
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 2764
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm
Location: Cambridge
Contact:

Re: Milkshape3D and Orbiter

Post by Bob Wya » Sun Dec 02, 2018 9:38 pm

@michaelblucher

So you're not using your WINEPREFIX any more?

Code: Select all

WINEPREFIX=~/milkshape3d
winetricks is being run against your default WINEPREFIX here:

Code: Select all

Executing cabextract -q /home/knoppix/.cache/winetricks/vcrun6sp6/Vs6sp6.exe -d /home/knoppix/.wine/dosdevices/c:/windows/temp/_vcrun6sp6 -F vcredist.exe
As for the error message... Since all Windows installers are 32-bit (fun fact); it probably means your 32-bit Wine build is broken.

I'm still not clear what the motivation is for using Knoppix?? It's designed primarily for live DVD/USB usage.
It's like another Linux user, posting recently, that had installed an ancient version of Puppy Linux.
It's like swimming upstream through a raging torrent... :roll:

There are plenty of Debian-based respins that will work as normal Debian installations, have a working package manager and are meant to be installed.
E.g. the popular SparkyLinux, Deeplin or LMDE.

Bob

michaelblucher
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 7:30 pm

Re: Milkshape3D and Orbiter

Post by michaelblucher » Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:05 am

Hi

Gets the same result with or without the wine prefix.

How do I fix a broken 32 bit wine?

Choice of Linux distro?
I Trialed 12 different distros before settling on Knoppix and yes, even puppy was one or them.

Unfortunately I have 2 much time invested in getting stuff to work on Knoppix to attempt changing distros at this stage. I'd have to repeat many months of work.

If I can figure out what is different about Knoppix and correct it, I should be able to get it to work.
Of course, that is easier said than done.

Michael B.

Post Reply