Not enough disk space on Z:

Questions about Wine on Linux
Locked
QA_manager
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:15 pm

Not enough disk space on Z:

Post by QA_manager »

I use a very specialized Windows program from 2003 - ancient - but there are very, very few substitutes, so I would like to continue using this one. I have run it under Wine for at least seven years and had no problem. At some point it got broken; now everything works until it tries to write a temporary file. When it tries to write a temporary file it says "Not enough disk space on Z:". I tried telling it to write to Z:\home\(me)\temp and I tried C: with the same result. It sees the disk; I can navigate through the directories and open and view files - but I can't edit anything! My hard drive has 1.5 TB free, and I am trying to edit files up to perhaps 200 MB, so I have enough disk space by more then three orders of magnitude!

I don't know when it got broken, but within the last year - I was running Ubuntu 17.04 and it was working, but then one day I tried to use it and it wasn't. I assume that some update broke it, but can't say which one - I sometimes go months without using it.

I am now using Ubuntu 18.04.1 and wine-3.0 (Ubuntu 3.0-1ubuntu1); it is still broken.

There isn't any installation with this program; you copy it to the directory where you want to run it and it runs.

I have tried removing and re-installing Wine; that didn't work. How can I troubleshoot and fix this?
User avatar
dimesio
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 13207
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm

Re: Not enough disk space on Z:

Post by dimesio »

I can navigate through the directories and open and view files - but I can't edit anything!
That sounds like a permissions issue. Have you ever run Wine with sudo? That would mess up the permissions in the wineprefix.

Try a clean wineprefix first. If that doesn't help, try the latest development release using the WineHQ packages. https://wiki.winehq.org/Ubuntu
QA_manager
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:15 pm

Re: Not enough disk space on Z:

Post by QA_manager »

I uninstalled Wine, deleted .wine, reinstalled Wine; no change.

I then uninstalled Wine, deleted .wine, installed wine-dev (wine-3.6 (Ubuntu 3.6-1)); no change.

I then uninstalled Wine, deleted .wine, installed wine-dev from WineHQ (wine-3.13); no change.
User avatar
dimesio
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 13207
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm

Re: Not enough disk space on Z:

Post by dimesio »

QA_manager
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:15 pm

Re: Not enough disk space on Z:

Post by QA_manager »

Terminal output is only: 0009:fixme:font:get_outline_text_metrics failed to read full_nameW for font L"Ani"!, and log.txt is empty.

I ran debug logs, but even zipped they are 2.5 MB; how would you like me to get them to you? Do you want any channels other than relay, seh, and tid?
User avatar
Bob Wya
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3068
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm

Re: Not enough disk space on Z:

Post by Bob Wya »

QA_manager wrote:Terminal output is only: 0009:fixme:font:get_outline_text_metrics failed to read full_nameW for font L"Ani"!, and log.txt is empty.

I ran debug logs, but even zipped they are 2.5 MB; how would you like me to get them to you? Do you want any channels other than relay, seh, and tid?
@QA_manager

All we'd need actually, is:

Code: Select all

export WINEDEBUG=-font,+volume
wine ... &>~/wine_volume_log.txt
for starters...

Plus probably the output from:

Code: Select all

df -h --local
Please use the forum:

Code: Select all

[code]
[/code] tags - if you post any logs inline.

For longer logs (>1000 lines) - a pastebin-esque service, like a Github Gist, would be best.

Ta
Bob
QA_manager
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:15 pm

Re: Not enough disk space on Z:

Post by QA_manager »

df -h --local:
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
udev 3.9G 0 3.9G 0% /dev
tmpfs 798M 2.0M 796M 1% /run
/dev/sda1 1.8T 129G 1.6T 8% /
tmpfs 3.9G 46M 3.9G 2% /dev/shm
tmpfs 5.0M 4.0K 5.0M 1% /run/lock
tmpfs 3.9G 0 3.9G 0% /sys/fs/cgroup
tmpfs 798M 16K 798M 1% /run/user/123
tmpfs 798M 32K 798M 1% /run/user/1000
(plus some snaps that I deleted)

and the volume debug output:
0009:trace:volume:GetDiskFreeSpaceW L"Z:\\",0xa2fa44,0xa2fa40,0xa2fa3c,0xa2fa38
0009:trace:volume:GetDiskFreeSpaceW 0x000008, 0x000200, 0x191072e3, 0x1c87615f
User avatar
Bob Wya
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3068
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm

Re: Not enough disk space on Z:

Post by Bob Wya »

QA_manager wrote:

Code: Select all

df -h --local:
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
udev            3.9G     0  3.9G   0% /dev
tmpfs           798M  2.0M  796M   1% /run
/dev/sda1       1.8T  129G  1.6T   8% /
tmpfs           3.9G   46M  3.9G   2% /dev/shm
tmpfs           5.0M  4.0K  5.0M   1% /run/lock
tmpfs           3.9G     0  3.9G   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
tmpfs           798M   16K  798M   1% /run/user/123
tmpfs           798M   32K  798M   1% /run/user/1000
(plus some snaps that I deleted)

and the volume debug output:

Code: Select all

0009:trace:volume:GetDiskFreeSpaceW L"Z:\\",0xa2fa44,0xa2fa40,0xa2fa3c,0xa2fa38
0009:trace:volume:GetDiskFreeSpaceW 0x000008, 0x000200, 0x191072e3, 0x1c87615f
/rant
Please as requested, use the forum:

Code: Select all

Code
tags...

The Code button above the full reply edit box.

Or manual tags:

Code: Select all

[code] ... code ... 
[/code][/size]
/rant

Anyway, now I've got that off my chest... 8)

From the GetDiskFreeSpaceW() function return values (4096 bytes / cluster):
  • 1604.11 Gb available
  • 1825.85 Gb total
which concurs with the df information above.

I'd suggest running you application under Windows ME or Windows 98 compatibility.
That will limit the return value from the above function to 2 Gb - as your old Windows application probably can't handle big modern drive sizes.

Bob
QA_manager
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:15 pm

Re: Not enough disk space on Z:

Post by QA_manager »

Aha! That makes sense - in fact I thought of that today, but didn't know what to do about it. A little searching in the Wiki led me to

Code: Select all

export WINEPREFIX=~/{directory for the 32-bit configuration - I used '.wine32'}
wine ~/Programs/{program that you want to run in a 32-bit architecture mode}
That works; thank you very much for your help.
Locked