Need help with playing in-game videos

Questions about Wine on Linux
asporiri
Level 1
Level 1

Need help with playing in-game videos

Post by asporiri »

Hey there!

I'm pretty new to meddling with wine and getting non-native games work under Linux and on my very first attempt I have run into a problem. I cant get videos play properly. There are some *.mpg files which contain scenes that should be played during the game, but when it tries to it crashes. I cant seem to get past this.

Here some logs from the terminal : https://pastebin.com/0FXR0Lu9

Distro is ubuntu 16.04 with 4.4.0-104-generic kernel, 64 bit.

The only clue I have is what it says in the log: am I missing 32 bit gstreamer libraries? However, there seems to be other problems occuring earlier that this. I'm not sure if I can get 32 bit gstreamer working

Any thought, help would be much appreciated! Thanks in advance!
dimesio

Re: Need help with playing in-game videos

Post by dimesio »

Yes, the missing 32 bit gstreamer libraries are the problem, and I don't know if it's possible to install them in Ubuntu 16.04. Ask on the Ubuntu forum about that. If they can't be installed, the workaround is to disable winegstreamer. Depending on what you are trying to run, you may also need to install a Windows codec pack and possibly native quartz and devenum.

I also noticed this:

Code: Select all

0009:err:winediag:MIDIMAP_drvOpen No software synthesizer midi port found, Midi sound output probably won't work.
To get MIDI sound working, follow the instructions on https://wiki.winehq.org/MIDI.
asporiri
Level 1
Level 1

Post by asporiri »