Wine 3.0-rc1 wont start any setup

Questions about Wine on Linux
Locked
regression
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:34 am

Wine 3.0-rc1 wont start any setup

Post by regression »

Linux Distribution: Linux Mint 18.2 "Sonya"
wine-3.0-rc1, built from source

Code: Select all

./configure --enable-win64
make
sudo install make
With all the 64 Bit build dependencies were satisfied and no errors were reported as such during installation.

Commands such as the following work just fine:

Code: Select all

wine64 --version
winecfg
wine64 notepad
But running any program simply produces no effect:
https://pasteboard.co/GXHCRNm.png

Any Help would be appriciated so as to what's causing this or a fix.
User avatar
dimesio
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 13202
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm

Re: Wine 3.0-rc1 wont start any setup

Post by dimesio »

Pure 64 bit Wine won't run much of anything. You need to build both 32 and 64 bit Wine in a shared WoW64 setup. https://wiki.winehq.org/Building_Wine#Shared_WoW64

We have detailed instructions for Ubuntu, but I don't know how well they work on Mint. https://wiki.winehq.org/Building_Biarch_Wine_On_Ubuntu

FYI, WineHQ provides Ubuntu packages that should work on Mint. https://wiki.winehq.org/Ubuntu

Also, please do not post screenshots of terminal output. Copy the text and paste into your post, or if it's long, attach it as a plain text file.
wildtux
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 10:05 am

Re: Wine 3.0-rc1 wont start any setup

Post by wildtux »

try first debian package from WineHQ (https://dl.winehq.org/wine-builds/)

I'm on fedora 27, and I use an extracted version of wine 3.0-rc1, it work perfectly, including winecfg.
User avatar
Bob Wya
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3068
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm

Re: Wine 3.0-rc1 wont start any setup

Post by Bob Wya »

wildtux wrote:try first debian package from WineHQ (https://dl.winehq.org/wine-builds/)
...
Why??? That's silly advice. :roll:

There's pre-built packages for Ubuntu Trusty...
Op can just use the official WineHQ Ubuntu repository...

Bob
Cybermax
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:26 pm

Re: Wine 3.0-rc1 wont start any setup

Post by Cybermax »

To be able to only compile 64 bit source, and run anything useful, you are bound to 64 bit windows programs. (Like. wow-64.exe).

Unigine Superposition 1.0 is a 64-bit benchmark, so you can run that. Loads others too, but many "regular" things like. battle.net, or origin or such is 32-bit, even if they are "marketed" as 64-bit :) (Battle.net for instance, will launch the 64-bit world of warcraft .exe file, but battle.net in itself is not 64 bit)

C
fargodwe

Re: Wine 3.0-rc1 wont start any setup

Post by fargodwe »

I thing I noticed:

- it's not sudo install make, it's sudo make install


Try removing your rc1 and install the 3.0-rc3 of wine from winehq = if you search the net there is a page that shows how to install 3.0-rc3 for several versions of linux. No need to manually build from source.

Try removing your current winetricks and download the latest from winehq

In Mint, start synaptic package manager and select the wine-devel-i396:i386 for 32-bit support in rc3. For a pure 32-bit prefix you would need to:

WINEARCH=win32 winecfg as one line on the command line.

Mint is based on Ubuntu so anything that works in Ubuntu should work fine in Mint. The vast majority of repositories used by the package managers in Mint ARE Ubuntu's own repositories.

i can't promise anything but these were amongst the instructions user Bob Wya gave me in helping me get an app working in wine and they worked great.

EDITED to remove a "faulty" comment on my part! ;)
fargodwe

Re: Wine 3.0-rc1 wont start any setup

Post by fargodwe »

Also - the wine64 "stuff" is in the Mint package manager once you set up the 3.0-rc3 links. it is under wine64-development-whatever.
wildtux
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 10:05 am

Re: Wine 3.0-rc1 wont start any setup

Post by wildtux »

Why??? That's silly advice. :roll:
There's pre-built packages for Ubuntu Trusty...
yeees, I saw that recently.

In my time there was a Mint debian base version, that's why I thought to Deb at first :S
Locked