Confused - A few Questions:

Questions about Wine on Linux
NewtSoup
Level 1
Level 1

Confused - A few Questions:

Post by NewtSoup »

Hi, I was wondering if I can get some help?

I have wine-staging installed and for the most part it works. I'm very new to Wine and don't entirely get how it works.

I installed wine using the command line and added the appropriate repository as the Ubuntu Software Centre installed a much older version than I wanted.

1) If I type wine at the command line I get "command not found" so I have to run everything using /opt/wine-staging/bin/wine .....

This works but I would rather be able to just type "wine <application>" and have it run. How do I fix this?

2) I have programs installed in the default drive_c and there are desktop shortcuts which work when I double click on them

How do I know whether they are running wine or wine64 ?
How would I set a default "wine"? or a default wine for an app.

3) I have downloaded winetricks to have a look at but when I run it I get "wineserver not found!" how can I fix this? Knowing that I do indeed have wine installed.

I'm sure it's just down to environment variables not being set correctly but as I say I'm new and still learning.
Bob Wya
Level 12
Level 12

Re: Confused - A few Questions:

Post by Bob Wya »

NewtSoup wrote:Hi, I was wondering if I can get some help?

I have wine-staging installed and for the most part it works. I'm very new to Wine and don't entirely get how it works.

I installed wine using the command line and added the appropriate repository as the Ubuntu Software Centre installed a much older version than I wanted.

1) If I type wine at the command line I get "command not found" so I have to run everything using /opt/wine-staging/bin/wine .....
You haven't followed the WineHQ: Ubuntu installation Wiki!

The winehq-staging, winehq-devel and winehq-stable all install compatibility symbolic links in: /usr/bin/
Note: the hq suffix!