Kindle can't connect...

Questions about Wine on Linux
quietforest

Kindle can't connect...

Post by quietforest » Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:55 pm

Total WINE newbie here, trying to get Kindle up and running. I just installed WINE 2.0.1 on a 2009 Macbook running Linux Mint 18.1 Serena 64-bit MATE. The installer download from Amazon (KindleForPC-installer-1.20.47037.exe) is a fail, unpacks and then just closes. I did get Kindle 1.8.1 up and running with Winetricks, but it won't log in with my account password, gives a can't connect error, but it's connecting to something, because Amazon sends me a temporary password to complete the registration process each time I try to log in. Account shows my new Kindle for PC, and the Recommended For You link works (Opera browser), but it can't connect and sync, gives a "cannot connect at this time" error message. I haven't a clue what I may have done wrong.

dimesio

Re: Kindle can't connect...

Post by dimesio » Mon Jul 03, 2017 9:59 am

You couldn't log in with Kindle 1.8.1 on Windows, either. Amazon regularly retires old Kindle versions; the oldest supported version is currently 1.17.1, which works on my system.

Recent versions of Kindle for PC are affected by https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=35041. Use taskset -c 0 to work around it.

tfhavel

Post by tfhavel » Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:12 pm

I am having this exact same problem, and the response above is not helpful.

First, like quietforest I found the Kindle-Installer downloaded from Amazon "unpacked" itself but then exited without actually doing the install. This makes it impossible to install the latest version directly, so winetricks was the only option even though it installs an older version.