VT Transaction +

Questions about Wine on Linux
JohnB

VT Transaction +

Post by JohnB »

I'm new to Linux, and just at the start of learning about it. I'm using Mint 18.1 Cinnamon 64-bit, and installed Wine 1:1.6.2-Oubuntu14 using Software Manager.

I'm trying to install the UK accounting program VT Transaction +, but can't get it to work. I've tried to follow the entry in the App DB https://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager. ... &iId=14452, and the forum topic on VT Cashbook, that is a cut down free version of the software viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9059. Transaction + is the full paid for version, and is fully compatible with Cashbook.

Has anyone been successful in installing it since these posts were made, as they are old?

When installing, I found that the installation log reported that files had been copied to the system32 directory, but in fact they hadn't, so I copied them manually before reinstalling. I've also noticed that some of the filenames installed are in upper case, and some in lower case. This includes OLEAUT32.DLL, OLEPRO32.DLL and a few others, that already existed with lower case names, so there are now two versions installed. Is this OK, or could it be part of the problem?

When I try to run the program, I get an error message "The following error occurred attempting to update the list of recent file names: Object doesn't support this action". Clicking OK opens the program window, but with the error message "Run-time error '-2147221166 (80040152)' Automation error". Clicking OK closes the program.

Can anyone help?

John
dimesio

Re: VT Transaction +

Post by dimesio »

Start by upgrading Wine; 1.6.2 is over 3 years old. Use the WineHQ packages. https://wiki.winehq.org/Ubuntu

If it still doesn't work, post terminal output. https://wiki.winehq.org/FAQ#How_can_I_g ... tput.29.3F
Bob Wya
Level 12
Level 12

Post by Bob Wya »

JohnB wrote:...