That problem again : anti-alaising

Questions about Wine on Linux
cliffhanger
Level 2
Level 2

That problem again : anti-alaising

Post by cliffhanger »

Hi

I have been running Wine now on Linux for maybe 12 years and have been reasonably successful with anti-aliasing. This time it's a no go. Running Wine 1.9.23 and a couple of Windoze programs I can't antialiasing working no matter what. It is not functioning in Winecfg, Notepad or Regedit just for starters.

I have tried all the advice(or it seems that way)from Google lookups. They include the Winetricks advice i.e. fontsmooth=rgb etc and the addition to Regedit under X11 of :

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Wine\X11 Driver]

"ClientSideWithRender"="Y"

No go. Still have the same video card a Nvidia M425.

I am getting this error when running Winecfg: (winecfg.exe:8980): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_widget_get_style_context: assertion 'GTK_IS_WIDGET (widget)' failed, but only under this. Any help appreciated

Cliff
Bob Wya
Level 12
Level 12

Re: That problem again : anti-alaising

Post by Bob Wya »

@Cliff,
  • Are you using Wine Staging with the Gtk3 UX Theming support? Because that's known to be pretty broken ATM...
  • What Linux distribution are you using?
  • What version of the freetype and fontconfig system libraries have you got installed on your system?
Ta
Bob
cliffhanger
Level 2
Level 2

Post by cliffhanger »

Thanks Bob

1. Yes, I think I am running the Wine Staging ver for 1.9.., but this was to try and get over the already anti-alaising problem.

2. LFS, always have - latest ver.

3. Freetype-2.6.5 and fontconfig-2.12.1

Cliff
cliffhanger
Level 2
Level 2

Post by cliffhanger »

Yes definitely running staging but nothing enabled under Winecfg

Cliff
Bob Wya
Level 12
Level 12

Post by Bob Wya »

cliffhanger wrote:Thanks Bob

1. Yes, I think I am running the Wine Staging ver for 1.9.., but this was to try and get over the already anti-alaising problem.

2. LFS, always have - latest ver.